We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a catch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ze do Peixe Assado

Ze do Peixe Assado
Ranked #196 of 769 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a catch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you like fish this restaurant is a must
The formula is simple - you pay a price for 2x people a sequence of fish is brought until you are unable to eat any more!
The quality of the fish is excellent and cooked to perfection
We have travelled all over the world and this has to be one of the best fish restaurants
The staff are lovely - efficient and friendly
The owner quite a character
All in all fantastic

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopsgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    113
    48
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Best value, best fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We come to this part of the Algarve and always return to this great value restaurant. As much freshly grilled fish as you care to eat served by a friendly team. Plenty of restaurants in the area but I can't believe there's better value food at the price for miles around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“For fresh fish lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were recommended this place by a taxi driver which is always a good start. There is a menu but most people choose the Rodizio which is a continuous offering of fish from the open grill. A plate of tomato salad and a bowl of garlic new potatoes arrives followed by the restaurant staff bringing round trays of fish as they are cooked from the grill. Expect Sea Bream, Sardine, Mackerel, Salmon and Sea Bass to appear during the course of your meal, the salad and potatoes are topped up as often as you wish and you eat until you can eat no more, all for around 15 euros. The fish is served on the bone however is easy to eat, they put a large plate in the middle of the table for the bits. Great value and the freshest fish around. Local wine is served by the jug. Easy to find it is in St Eulalia main street which runs parallel to the strip, all the taxi drivers know it (around 5 euros from Albufeira old town)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Try the fish "rodizio"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I've been here more than once but only ever had the mixed fish ("rodizio"). It's a great opportunity to try several kinds of fish. It's very simple and not prone to fancy stuff but the fish is very fresh.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybug_on_the_way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“No where near as good as the last time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Ordered the mixed fish, we felt very rushed as before we had finished the first fish the next was being put for us to eat and this is how it carried on. The service was awful compared to last time, we were not offered any refills of potatoes or tomato salad. The fish we were given all tasted similar and it put us off fish for the rest of our holiday. We did go early and think we should of gone later as they were just cooking for us. We will try it again as enjoyed our previous visit but will give it a miss when we visit in July.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 572mia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ze do Peixe Assado also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Ze do Peixe Assado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing