We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Day out”
Review of AlgarExperience

AlgarExperience
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Based at Albufeira Marina, AlgarExperience offers a wide range of boat trips and activities, perfect for your holidays or free time in the Algarve. Caves and Coastline, Dolphin watching, Beach BBQs, Water Sports, Fishing and Boat Parties are some of the activities available. Experiences powered by emotion.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 31 October 2018

A great way to spend the day with very professional staff,everything went bang on time from the bus collecting us to bring us to the marina and the boat taking off spot on 10.30 am,then a great experience out at sea with a very knowledgeable guide and a view right in to d caves a quick swim in the sea and return to the marina all for just 26 euro,Quality day all round.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank farloT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sousa_pt, Gestor de Relações Públicas at AlgarExperience, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear farloT,
Thank you so much for your kind review and for your visit!
We're very pleased that you enjoyed the boat tour and the staff.
Best regards,
AlgarExperience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"top deck"
in 73 reviews
"algar experience"
in 28 reviews
"boat trip"
in 88 reviews
"sunset bbq"
in 11 reviews
"free bar"
in 9 reviews
"private beach"
in 26 reviews
"welcome drink"
in 14 reviews
"coastline tour"
in 17 reviews
"paddle boards"
in 14 reviews
"three hours"
in 10 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 11 reviews
"hour cruise"
in 10 reviews
"boat party"
in 9 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 14 reviews
"crisps"
in 11 reviews
"albufeira marina"
in 22 reviews
"glass bottom"
in 9 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

By far the best day of our holiday. Without doubt on a sunny day this has to be the best excursion in the area.

The trip lasts for more than 6 hours and has an open bar and refreshments included. It starts from the marina and takes you down the beautiful coastline almost as far as Portimão. The staff are very knowledgeable about the area and rock and cave formations, and explain everything with clear enjoyment and humour.

The BBQ is on a large beach within sight of Portimão, where you can either swim to the beach, or be taken on a smaller powered craft. You will get your feet wet. The food is surprisingly good and plentiful. Here you can sunbathe, play in the water on paddle boards. I suspect you are here for about an hour, I didn’t have a watch so cannot be precise.

Then it’s a relaxing cruise back along the same coastline chatting to the friends you have made during the day. You are on a boat so you need to take a little care, and supervise children, however on a fine day this is an excellent excursion. Don’t miss it.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sousa_pt, Gestor de Relações Públicas at AlgarExperience, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Alan,
Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review, and for your visit!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the boat experience and the BBQ meal.
Hope to see you again!
Best regards,
AlgarExperience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

We were extremely disappointed with this nasty trip. There were seven of us and as soon as we boarded we were handed the "Welcome drink" which was half a small glass of very cheap diluted orange squash. I would have rather we didn't get a drink! The boat had more than 50 passengers and was excruciatingly shaky during the whole journey, so much so you couldn't walk in a straight line. Consequently, almost half of the passengers on board were vomiting. My sister was so sick that she vomited more than 10 times during the 2.5 hr ordeal! We didn't stop to have a swim and it started to rain, which meant everyone had to come inside and there wasn't enough room to stand, let alone sit! Once inside the turbulence got even worse - people became very dizzy and were vomiting left, right and centre. The crew put a song on titled "everything is going to be alright" but it wasn't..it was an absolute nightmare! It was the worse cruise I have ever been on and we were all praying for the punishment to be over! The crew then had the audacity to demand a standing ovation and wanted tips to put us through the nightmare! THIS TRIP SHOULD HAVE BEEN POSTPONED DUE TO THE ROUGH WATERS! WE WENT ON THIS CRUISE TO HAVE FUN NOT TO BE PUNISHED! PLEASE AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Kez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sousa_pt, Gestor de Relações Públicas at AlgarExperience, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Kez M,
Firstly we would like to thank you for your comment that deserved our best attention.
We would like to inform you that what you described is not at all our standard service and we will proceed with an internal inquiry to understand what happened. In this situations all our customers are informed about the sea or weather conditions, however we are very sorry for what happened.
Thank you for sharing this!
Best regards,
AlgarExperience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Thought we were going out in a catamaran but ended up going in a small boat, which wasn’t comfortable when going at speed. Guide wasn’t very informative, only realised we weren’t going to see dolphins when we turned back into the marina. Wasn’t offered a rebook as it stated on the leaflet. Disappointed ☹️

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank SueDillon2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sousa_pt, Gestor de Relações Públicas at AlgarExperience, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear SueDillon2018,
Thank you for your review that deserved our best attention.
We would like to inform you that the change of the boat is present at the time of booking and our agents/ticket shops have been informed of it, because the catamaran that normally carries out the activity is in maintenance and can not operate at the moment. Where you bought the ticket may not have provided this information, so we apologize for the lack of communication.
We also inform you that dolphin watching is not guaranteed, as these are wild animals, however once you do not see dolphins, you can rebook the tour for another day, and this rule is intended to provide the best possible experience for our customers.
We are very sorry for the situation that leaded to the evaluation provided, however expect to see you in a next opportunity!
Best regards,
AlgarExperience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2018

What an experience!

This company really knows what they are doing, from organizing, booking, and transferring you to the Marina in Albufeira all the way to the end of the trip - I never felt the commitment falter for giving you the best experience in the Algarve.

We booked the Caves & Coastlines on a 10:00am departure. They punctually arrived at the stop closest to our resort which was about a 15 minute drive to the Marina.

Once arriving, we checked in and had spare time prior to our excursion. The AlgarExperience does have its own cafe on the boardwalk for people to hang out before they head out for the day. This is something I have never seen before.

During the excursion itself, the swells of the water were high but that didn't deter the crew from getting us the best views of the Benagil Cave. The captain definitely knew he was doing and pulled us in as close as possible to the shoreline which was amazing.

The crew were interactive, charismatic and could integrate with people from all over the world. I don't recall his name, however he would speak a series of different languages which was quite impressive.

Next time I return, I am definitely booking with AlgarExperience!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank BryyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sousa_pt, Gestor de Relações Públicas at AlgarExperience, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thank you for your kind and detailed review dear BryyB.
We're very pleased that you enjoyed the most of the experience and all the service and crew. It's a big pleasure to read reviews like this that motivate us to do more and better. Hope to meet you again soon!
Best regards,
AlgarExperience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AlgarExperience also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to AlgarExperience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing