We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whats happened to Johnny Hoopers !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro

Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro
Ranked #8 of 769 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: British, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Visit our Facebook page: Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro. Jazz and Blues themed restaurant. Johnny Hooper's live saxophone shows with fun music quiz, party atmosphere and dancing are on Tuesday and Friday nights. Chill-out Sunday afternoons take place on the garden terrace with cool local musicians providing the laid-back vibe. Gluten-free menu options. Great place for celebrations! Open March - October. Seasonal closure: November - February
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Whats happened to Johnny Hoopers !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Been twice before and had a reasonable evening despite mediocre food, but after visiting last Tuesday 15th April have to say the food has now deteriorated massively, and at the prices they charge has become a complete rip off ! I thought I would play safe by having the "classic" burger with chips and salad, but they somehow managed to murder it ! Its without doubt the worst burger I have ever had . The eating experience ruined our evening so we left early before 10pm, and felt 180 euros for what we'd had was extortionate. Not recommended !!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank KCP28243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    166
    44
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dordrecht
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

If you are in Albufeira you shouldn't miss this evening out! GREAT ATMOSPHERE! Johnny is a fantastic host, plays the Saxophone like no-one else, has a great sense of humor. We had a superb soup and great salade, and the desserts are also very good! You meet people from other countries, later there's a Music-quiz, (you can win a bottle of Port) And great 60's - 70's music. We've been many times at Johnny's Bistro, it's always FANTASTIC. We also love the Sunday-lunches with a Roast while there's live-music at the beautiful terrace. And by the way very sympathetic waitresses. We really recommend this evening out!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SjenDordrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Shocking, terrible, overpriced, over-rated...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The worst food we've had all week in the Algarve. If you come on holiday to Portugal to have all-day breakfast with a pint of beer then this place could be for you. If you come to Portugal to experience the local food at local prices then keep your distance from this place. It is simply awful, the food is very overpriced, the entertainment is something similar to what you'd find in a very bad bar on Blackpool seafront, the waitresses were actually wearing kiss-me-quick style hats. It was the most shocking restaurant experience I've had for many years and so extremely expensive. Let me take you through what I ordered. For starter I had bruchetta, which in their unique style was a beef burger bap with tomatoes on it, no garlic, no olive oil, no herbs, not even warmed up. For my main I ordered their seafood spaghetti caribbean style. My jaw dropped when it turned up. There was one scallop which smelt to high heaven, I left most of it. My wife (who admits she is not a very good cook) said she could have done far better.

Do yourself a favour a stay as far away from this place as you can.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank JC32370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

the food was awful i know the entertainment is meant to be good but playing disney songs (jungle books songs) that is poor!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank BenCookRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

met by Johnny on entering and showed to table.Meals were delicious.Chicken served with mashed potatoes nice change in Portugal.Apple crumble was also delicious.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ISOBEL942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro also viewed

 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing