We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Areias Village Hotel Apartamento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2011

My husband & I stayed 2 weeks half board at this hotel in April 2011. It is very modern and well presented. Rooms were huge - with plenty of living and kitchen space. The balconies were very large - plenty of room to sit outside and also an area to dry washing.

Staff were on the whole very friendly and helpful although they did give us bad advice on 1 occasion at reception. The restuarant staff were quite laid back, but always seemed to keep themselves very busy.

Cleaning was not great at this hotel - 1st week we had our room cleaned regularly, but by the 2nd week, we only had our towels changed once & never got given any new shower condiments. Would expect to have these from a 4 star hotel.

Food was cooked to a high quality & although limited in choice was a pleasant dining experience. If you are vegetarian or dont like anything on the Al La Carte menu it was never too much trouble for them to prepare a salad or omelette instead.
Pool area was nice & not too busy. Water was a bit too cold to stay in for long however.

The hotel is in an excellent location - 3 mins from the strip, 20 min walk to the old town & 5 mins to local beaches. Oura beach was the best & can be accessed via a road opposite the strip.
We'd come here again but probably only for 1 week, as there's not really enough to keep busy for 2 weeks & if it rains you're restricted to eating & drinking in the local bars & restaurants as there aren't really any 'bad weather' attractions.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families however - as there is no entertainment on at the hotel and the strip & area in general is full of stag & hen parties.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElusiveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

Echoing some of the previous reviews, this is a nice, modern hotel in a central location by the strip. The apartments are a good size and reasonably clean, however we did experience a few issues trying to seep during our stay due to the noisy corridors and uncomfortable beds. The noise of guests walking along the tiled corridor echoes is extremely disruptive when trying to sleep, particularly when people are wearing high heels or children running up and down. This can easily be resolved by the hotel with a strip of carpet to dampen the noise. The beds are also the hardest and noisiest I have ever experienced. The plastic covering on the mattress makes a noise each time you move a muscle, and when I asked reception if housekeeping could place blankets on the mattress to make them more comfortable, I was handed 2 to do this myself - for a 4* hotel I would expect housekeeping to do this.

The customer service at the hotel was very indifferent and they did not seem to know any basic information about the local area, including bus times/routes to the old town. We were also incorrectly informed that the tourist train does pickups from the restaurant around the corner. They also took no action and didn't seem to care when we told them that the skype headset for the computer was broken.

For a 4* hotel I would also expect better kitchen amenities (large kitchen with microwave, but no toaster, electric kettle or wooden spoon) and towels to be changed every other day not just twice a week.

All in all I would recommend this hotel, but suggest you take some ear plugs with you for the noisy corridors. Also, thanks to another reviewer for pointing out that not all rooms get the sun, I suggest you check this when checking-in as we did (when asked we were moved from a room that wouldn’t get the sun until late in the evening).

Room Tip: Ask for a room which gets the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prit02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Just got back from staying in these apartments over the easter holidays. The apartments was presented in a modern contemporary design, we had a poolside view that gets the sun on the balcony until around 3pm. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The location is ideal if you have teenage children that enjoy the strip. Only downside was that ITV goes off air at 7pm every evening and there is no oven (although there is a microwave).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqui543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Greeted by a very friendly receptionist, bar staff good and couldn't fault the maid service!
Rooms were bright (although lighting in bathroom not great), airy and well equipped (only thing, there was no oven!) not that I wanted to cook in but if you did you can't!!
Like the location of the hotel, far enough away that you weren't on the strip but close enough if you wanted to go there. About 15-20 min walk into the old town.
Kiss nightclub is opposite but if you shut your doors at night, you don't hear it!
Would definately use this hotel again and would recommend. Can't wait to book again for next year!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool, but these face onto n/club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank btnorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Really clean and airy place, the location is good, it is walkable to the old town (20 mins) - very attractive, the beach (5 mins) and the strip (cheap and cheerful - 5 mins).

The hotel is really good, there were no significant issues at all. The receptionist was really helpful and other than that had little to do with the staff. We were there for one week in total for self catering.

The apartment itself is excellent, we were there as a couple and we had a decent sized bedroom and a really large kitchen diner approx 3m by 4m. The bed wasn't brilliant, but it was OK. The space in the apartment was the main selling point though. Excellent. The only gripe is the lighting in the bathroom which is LED lighting and very dim.

They had TV which showed BBC1, 2 and Sky news. We had a pool view and these rooms were the best they were the rooms numbered 1-10 on each floor, so 101 -110 etc.

The main selling point for this place was the price though, I have never had such a good deal for an apartment in Europe at least. We stayed over the peak time of the Easter weekend and we only paid £23 per apartment per night, we had a week in a great place in a great location, including flights from Manchester for less than £225 each (all booked independently - we used alpharooms - but I am sure other websites do the similar deals).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teacherman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

As previous reviews have stated this aparthotel is very placed for what ever you want your break to be. Unlike one person we love our beds to very firm as well as the pilows although this may not suit everyone. I personally can't stand soft mattresses' that you sink into! We had a great room on the top floor overlooking the gardens and the sea.
I only gave sleep quality a 4 because the walls are very thin and could the children next door a couple of times although not enough to spoil our break. We went down at various times for breakfast and there was always plenty to choose from the continental breakfast however saying that more fresh fruit would have been nice and cooked breakfast was limited still it nice having it made, the staff couldn't have been more helpful.
Having visited Albufeira on 4 other occasions I would certainly recommend this hotel for a nice relaxing break. Also it was nice to see that there is some bars also opened up for those who have grown out of the or just want a change from the "strip" . Although we always made for rumours because the beer was cold and food good. The beer is still good sadly the food is not what is used to be be.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciaransmum08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This hotel is absolutely brilliant - clean, modern, bright, airy....the staff are all professional and basically leave you to get on with your holiday - unless you need something and then they are incredibly helpful.

Pool is great and hotel is only 10 mins walk to the beach. Plus you can also walk into the Old Town in 15 mins which is definitely worth a walk for a change of scene and brilliant restaurants.

The hotel is close to 'The Strip' (5 mins walk) without being too close (so you won't hear all the noise at night!) - 'Kiss' Nightclub is across the road, but it only opened once while we were there and only between 1am and 6am...hardly any bother at all.

I would recommend asking for a top (4th) floor room as we were on the 3rd floor and the noise of people upstairs dragging their furniture round the room does slightly get annoying!

The hotel is absolutely brilliant and I would recommend anybody stay here - families, couples, groups etc - you will have a lovely holiday!

And if you want a good food at a good price (compared to 'The Strip') try 'Hot Spot' Cafe at the top of the street - very good!

Room Tip: Use cushions instead of pillows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KoruPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#26 of 154 in Albufeira
481 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#11 of 154 in Albufeira
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#85 of 154 in Albufeira
3,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areias Village Hotel Apartamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areias Village Hotel Apartamento

Address: Rua Vasco da Gama | Praia dos Aveiros, Albufeira 8200-294, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: £42 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Areias Village Hotel Apartamento 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Areias Village Hotel Apartamento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areias Village Hotel-Apartamento Hotel Albufeira
Areias Village Hotel Apartamento Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing