We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Amazing Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Areias Village Hotel Apartamento
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Amazing Value for Money”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We are on a tight budget when it comes accommodation, and were amazed at what we got for our money with this hotel! It is literally the best hotel we have stayed in! The rooms are brand new and modern and very nicely decorated. It does feel like a four star.

We had a great holiday here, it's only a 5 minute walk to a lovely beach and some great bars and restaurants on 'the strip'! Piri-piri chicken is a must! It is easy to get other parts of the island too, including the old town and larger beaches.

We didn't stay in the hotel to eat so can't comment on this or the bar facilities, but I think it would be good for families as the hotel is securely fenced off so that only customers and staff can get in - definitely makes you feel safe! We did order room service as a lazy/quick snack before we went out, which was fine, portions could have been bigger however!

The only things that could have made the hotel even better would be to warm up the pool, it was a bit chilly, and to add more items to the self-catering kitchens - we had to eat cereal out of a salad bowl and saucepan as there were no dishes/bowls provided!

In conclusion: it has everything you need for a great holiday, and you really will NOT get a better hotel for the money!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faalaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    181
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
158
248
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

These apartments are spacious, clean and modern. Although the maid did get a little lazy with the cleaning and towel changing. Other than that these apaerments are ideal for anyone wishing to walk to the strip or the beach. 5 mins at most to either. To go to the old town its around 4 euros in a taxi or around a 25 mins. We didnt eat or drink anything in the hotel so cannot comment on that, although twice we did eat at the restaurant to the right of the apartments, coming out of the gates and walk right The Cineasta caffe. The food here is great and very reasonably priced (25-30 euros for us both a main meal with wine and starter) both my partner and I were astonished at how much we had and what it cost. All in all Albufeira is reasonable for food and wine, however the drinks on the strip do get expensive for spirits and mixers.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozza020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

just back from a fantastic 12 day hols at areias village.the staff are great nothings to much trouble ,our room 201 on the second floor was modern and and nicely laid out.we had one of the smaller balconies overlooking the pool but this was fine,the bed was the most comfy ive slept on abroad.the kids slept on the sofa and a pull out bed which has legs so you can make it the same height as the sofa,the led lights in the bedroom wernt great to put make up on etc but no great problem.hairdryer provided in bathroom.never ate in the restaurant but snacks were nice,chips 3 euro burger4.50 toasties 4.50.large super bock 2.50 but 2 euro in happy hour,the swimming pool was really to sunbathe and was actually quite warm when you get under!never known a pool so uncold in portugal! there was never a problem getting a sunbed (i counted 60 beds.yes i am sad!!)there were families couples a couple of stag groups and a hen group staying at the 2 weekends we were there ,they were no trouble at all.heard noise from kiss nightclub 1 morning at about 7am.kicking out time i suppose but we did have bedroom windows open,no need though air conditioning provided free of charge.at night we walked up to the montechoro top end of the strip for a drink,our favourites were acordian bar,nice for a quite drink outside people watching,also 60s bar for a bit of kareoke with your host blane,great laugh to be had there!!theres a great chinese buffet in the square next to the 60s bar 9.95 euros all you can eat,wild and co steak house at the bottom more lively end of the strip was another of our favourites,great mixed grill looking out to sea,the best restaurant though imo is martinique back at the top of strip quite expensive but worth every cent,garlic prawn starter,and chef steak are absolutely superb,splash out youll love it!!this was our 5th holiday to albufeira and defo the best,areias village is a great hotel and were already planning returning next year,stay hear believe me you wont regret it!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 499502Monkey1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, South Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

My husband & I stayed 2 weeks half board at this hotel in April 2011. It is very modern and well presented. Rooms were huge - with plenty of living and kitchen space. The balconies were very large - plenty of room to sit outside and also an area to dry washing.

Staff were on the whole very friendly and helpful although they did give us bad advice on 1 occasion at reception. The restuarant staff were quite laid back, but always seemed to keep themselves very busy.

Cleaning was not great at this hotel - 1st week we had our room cleaned regularly, but by the 2nd week, we only had our towels changed once & never got given any new shower condiments. Would expect to have these from a 4 star hotel.

Food was cooked to a high quality & although limited in choice was a pleasant dining experience. If you are vegetarian or dont like anything on the Al La Carte menu it was never too much trouble for them to prepare a salad or omelette instead.
Pool area was nice & not too busy. Water was a bit too cold to stay in for long however.

The hotel is in an excellent location - 3 mins from the strip, 20 min walk to the old town & 5 mins to local beaches. Oura beach was the best & can be accessed via a road opposite the strip.
We'd come here again but probably only for 1 week, as there's not really enough to keep busy for 2 weeks & if it rains you're restricted to eating & drinking in the local bars & restaurants as there aren't really any 'bad weather' attractions.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families however - as there is no entertainment on at the hotel and the strip & area in general is full of stag & hen parties.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElusiveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Echoing some of the previous reviews, this is a nice, modern hotel in a central location by the strip. The apartments are a good size and reasonably clean, however we did experience a few issues trying to seep during our stay due to the noisy corridors and uncomfortable beds. The noise of guests walking along the tiled corridor echoes is extremely disruptive when trying to sleep, particularly when people are wearing high heels or children running up and down. This can easily be resolved by the hotel with a strip of carpet to dampen the noise. The beds are also the hardest and noisiest I have ever experienced. The plastic covering on the mattress makes a noise each time you move a muscle, and when I asked reception if housekeeping could place blankets on the mattress to make them more comfortable, I was handed 2 to do this myself - for a 4* hotel I would expect housekeeping to do this.

The customer service at the hotel was very indifferent and they did not seem to know any basic information about the local area, including bus times/routes to the old town. We were also incorrectly informed that the tourist train does pickups from the restaurant around the corner. They also took no action and didn't seem to care when we told them that the skype headset for the computer was broken.

For a 4* hotel I would also expect better kitchen amenities (large kitchen with microwave, but no toaster, electric kettle or wooden spoon) and towels to be changed every other day not just twice a week.

All in all I would recommend this hotel, but suggest you take some ear plugs with you for the noisy corridors. Also, thanks to another reviewer for pointing out that not all rooms get the sun, I suggest you check this when checking-in as we did (when asked we were moved from a room that wouldn’t get the sun until late in the evening).

Room Tip: Ask for a room which gets the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prit02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Just got back from staying in these apartments over the easter holidays. The apartments was presented in a modern contemporary design, we had a poolside view that gets the sun on the balcony until around 3pm. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The location is ideal if you have teenage children that enjoy the strip. Only downside was that ITV goes off air at 7pm every evening and there is no oven (although there is a microwave).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Greeted by a very friendly receptionist, bar staff good and couldn't fault the maid service!
Rooms were bright (although lighting in bathroom not great), airy and well equipped (only thing, there was no oven!) not that I wanted to cook in but if you did you can't!!
Like the location of the hotel, far enough away that you weren't on the strip but close enough if you wanted to go there. About 15-20 min walk into the old town.
Kiss nightclub is opposite but if you shut your doors at night, you don't hear it!
Would definately use this hotel again and would recommend. Can't wait to book again for next year!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool, but these face onto n/club
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btnorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Golden Beach
Golden Beach
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
2.6 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
3.1 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areias Village Hotel Apartamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areias Village Hotel Apartamento

Property: Areias Village Hotel Apartamento
Address: Rua Vasco da Gama | Praia dos Aveiros, Albufeira 8200-294, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Areias Village Hotel Apartamento 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Areias Village Hotel Apartamento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areias Village Hotel-Apartamento Hotel Albufeira
Areias Village Hotel Apartamento Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing