We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly an experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Areias Village Hotel Apartamento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Certainly an experience”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The Hotel was beautiful from the outside and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The view from the balcony was beautiful, and the apartments are very modern and spacious however the practicality of the apartments left a lot to be desired, not only were basics such as clean towels and bin bags missing from the room on occasion but for a couple of days we had to go without hot water as the staff claimed there was a plumbing problem and didn't actually get to speak to the manager at all as he "had no time" to speak to us. We were at one point dealt with by a hostile receptionist but when we finally were able to talk to someone else in charge (not the manager) she was very helpful and we were compensated with free cocktails. I would say the hotel would be best suited to short stay, up and go customers but 4 star... i'm not to sure about

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sterivo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    186
    33
    7
    5
See reviews for
162
261
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed here for one week beginning 29th April. We had booked two rooms; one for me, hubby and 2 year old and one for my parents. We arrived early and one of the rooms was not ready but reception was very helpful. We were offered a cot even though this wasn't needed and given plenty of information by Marta. The room was spacious with living area, kitchenette and separate bedroom. We were on the third floor overlooking the car park which was absolutely fine for us as we sat on the balcony and watched the sun set every night. The room was very modern and spotlessly clean and our maid came every day. The pool was lovely with a small pool for toddlers which the little one just loved. There was also a small slide and swing which kept him happy. The hotel is just a very short walk away from the strip where there are loads of restuarants and bars and a short walk from the beach. The other direction takes you into old town. This was a further walk - maybe 15/20 minutes - but pleasant in the sunshine. Or, you can take the tourist train.
Our kitchen was well equipped but you do have to ask reception for a toaster.
If I had one complaint it would be about the noise. We often heard others "clip clopping" up and down the corridors late at night. That can't be helped I suppose but the noise from the room above moving around furniture drove us mad. Then, we realised that we were probably doing the same to the room below! Hotel should perhaps consider sound proof pads under the chairs and tables.
We would definately stay at this hotel again due to the price and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room which have bigger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvergirlracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Down
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We have just returned from a couple of weeks in Albufeira staying at this hotel. It was just two of us and we booked a one bedroom apartment. We have previously stayed at the 4 star Pestana Alvor which was also self catering so I tend to compare it with that!

First the good points. The hotel is in a great location, just 5 minutes from the south end of the strip and about a 20 minute walk to the Old Town. There is also a really nice, quiet but small cove beach about 5 minutes away. If that's not your thing, the main Praia de Oura is only about 10 minute walk. The room itself was massive for the two of us. The room was also clean and well maintained, with cleaners coming in 6 days a week. There is a small grocery shop across the road and a supermarket at the end of the street so food is not a problem. The pool area with a poolside bar is also excellent and the bar snacks are actually pretty good too.

Now, the not so good. Perhaps I'm being fussy, but the bed was not a double bed, but 2 single beds pushed together with separate bedclothes. For me, having a double bed in a one bedroom apartment is standard. And the beds were not terribly comfortable. I questioned the receptionist about it and she said all the rooms were like that. I find that very strange, but it might not be a big deal for most people. Secondly, the kitchen is poorly stocked if you are looking to cook anything other than a Pot Noodle. There was a frying pan, saucepan, hob and microwave. No oven, not even a toaster. I found out on the last day that toasters are available on request, but none of the staff told me this. The hotel also has Wi - Fi, but this is only available in the lobby area and I found it very inconsistent. The hotel also charges for the use of the safe in the room, which came to 45euros for the 2 weeks (10euro returned when we checked out). I have never stayed in a 4 star hotel/ apartment and been charged for the use of the safe.

Overall, I would also have to say that the staff at reception are friendly, but not particularly useful. They told me the nearest supermarket was a 20minute walk away (luckily I found the one up the street), gave me incorrect directions to the Old Town and the postcards I sent from there about 2 weeks ago have still not arrived. I also just feel that the hotel doesn't provide some of the basic amenities that a four star hotel should (well stocked kitchen, safe etc). It may look pretty from the outside, but this is a hotel that thinks it's cleverer than it is. I would retun but only if I got a really good deal, as it's not worth paying 4 star prices.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave-Jen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frisbeetraveller
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Areias village is a great hotel for those on a budget. The rooms are very modern and clean with nice big balconies. We got a room at the back of the hotel and had no problem with noise from the Kiss nightclub. Our view wasn't very exciting but we got sun in the evenings from about 4pm which was perfect for us relaxing on the balcony before going out to eat after a busy day.

The pool never seemed to get too busy and there was always a sun lounger when we wanted one. A little disappointed by the depth of the pool (can touch the floor for the entire length of it), it was possible to swim but I would have preferred it to be deeper. But I guess this is necessary when there is no life guard.

Some things were missing from out room (toaster, wine glasses). When we asked for replacements the staff were smiley and helpful and promised the world but things didn't materialise. I was later told quite abruptly they just didn't have wine glasses (odd for a place with a restaurant and a list of things which should be in your room which stated wine glasses). My other half pursued the toaster, as there is no grill so no other way to make toast, luckily the male receptionist was much better and provided one! Other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frisbeetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

What a surprise when we arrived here we booked a cheapie hotel as this was a week we hadn't really been planning , it was gorgeous we couldnt believe it when we drove up the drive way , it had electric gates a lovely decking around a gorgeous pool a modern glassy reception area . wow.. we thought the driver took us to the wrong hotel. It is all clearly new..
The apartments are great too modern and well equipt.
We also had read the reviews that it was close to a busy nightclub called Kiss so this was a concern re noise however...NOTHING if you book this hotel don't let it be a worry the driveway goes back so far the sound doesn't carry..
We flew from Leeds with Jet 2 they were good and we got allocated seats which takes the worry out of being rushed and not getting together with having kiddies.
We booked a taxi transfer too called yellowfish transfers we had seen them recommended all over trip advisor so we knew they were ok .
Everything was better than we anticipated which meant we had a great time , the weather could of been a little better but you can't have it all.
Actually my greatest joy was the hotel exceeded my expectations and we plan to go again...

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kiernpetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Having never been to Albufeira we were not sure what to expect. We had seen the pictures on line but sometimes they can ben decieving.
We arrived at Areias and first impressions were good. Looked nice and clean. The receptionist was so helpful. There was 5 of us in the party and had booked 2 rooms one for 3 and one for 2. It seemed there had been an error as there was only 2 rooms available and they were expecting another party to arrive. So we had left our cases at reception and went to explore the facillities. Out side there was a pool area which had a bar. It would would have been rude not to take advantage of this so had some refreshments. Around 15 minutes later the receptionist came over and explianed that the mix up had been insted of putting us in seperate rooms that we were going to be all together in the "penthouse" Suite room 409/410.
The suite had massive bedroom with a 2 singlebeds, a sofa bed with a pull out bed underneath and also seating area to. There was also a livingroom which had another Sofa bed with the pull out bed underneath which joined onto the kitchen/dining area. Also there was 2 balconies aswell which had seating too.
The pool area was good aswell as the bar there was also the usual sun loungers around the side which if you are not down early can mean you are sunbathing on the grass. Although a member of the party did have a little incident when he was accused of throwing a towel onto the grass and "stealing a sun lounger". Despite the incident we found that majority of people at Areias were friendly and socialble even if our keeping the ball up skills in the pool where a little wayward at times.
The maid service was daily and clean towels left aswell. Although the maid kept trying to push the two single beds together. Now i like my mate but not that well.

The only thing to improve the hotel would be free WIFI but then again who goes on holiday to look at the internet.

Would defenitley go back there and recommend anyone going to albuferia to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I visited Areias Village just last week with 4 other friends, all of us 19 years old. The hotel is brilliant especially for the value, the rooms are highly modern and clean and tidy, cleaned every day with fresh towels replaced each day also. The apartments are spacious as are the balconies, with brilliant views or with poolside view which is still really attractive. The bathroom has a shower/bath and the shower is pretty good and not one of those feeble showers that just trickle water. Also with a good hair dryer in each bathroom, saving you room in your suitcase so you don't have to bring your own! :D

When we visited the hotel was filled with mainly families or older couples with a only a few teenage groups like us there which i personally found good as it was much more relaxing and not so rowdy! The other hotel occupants and staff were all really friendly and nice and happy to help when we needed extra towels and toilet roll. You can also ask for spare key cards for your room if you need them however there is a limit on the amount given per apartment. but 2 would be plenty for 4 people rooms. :) the hotel is located in a good location, its close to the strip for those who like shopping, clubbing, good cuisine as well as the crystal clear beaches. We didn't go to the beach much as it appears they had added broken sea shells to the beaches for some reason which were sore to walk on but other than this it was very nice. If eating out (if not cooking yourself, probably best as a few friends said the hotel food wasn't the best as the chicekn tasted rather rubbery and processed) i highly recommend the restaurant Paulu's on the way down to to the Praia de Oura beach and highly recommend the restaurant Wind Surf along the strip. The food there is amazing and the staff are amazingly nice and happy to help. After our second night eating out there, we were treated to a complimentary glass each of port wine and on our third night, we treated to a complimentary shot each of Portuguese vodka. lemon and sugar. Although i'm not a drinker i thought this was very nice of them and we made sure to get photos with some of the staff. Old town is within an easy distance on foot but make take about 20 mins walking, however you can take the albufeira road train which picks you up at the end of the strip, and drops you off at either old town or outside a large shopping market/small shopping centre. There also a number of things to do whilst in Algarve, a range of leaflets are available within the hotel (also with internet access) which can booked with transfer and discounts from companies who organise these advents along the strip.

There is underground parking but im not sure if this is an added cost or not.

All in all i would definitely love to visit Albufeira again and if so, i will most definitely be booking with Areias Village again!

Room Tip: pool view/ sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ATLfan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
3.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areias Village Hotel Apartamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areias Village Hotel Apartamento

Property: Areias Village Hotel Apartamento
Address: Rua Vasco da Gama | Praia dos Aveiros, Albufeira 8200-294, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Areias Village Hotel Apartamento 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Areias Village Hotel Apartamento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areias Village Hotel-Apartamento Hotel Albufeira
Areias Village Hotel Apartamento Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing