We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern,excellent price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Areias Village Hotel Apartamento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Spent four days here on a long weekend..A stag trip,didnt expect to much,but was very surprised,excellent location just of main strip,rooms were very well kept,and seemingly very new,big balcony overlooking the pool..
anyone thinking of stopping here would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in June.
Arrived at the Areias and was quickly checked in and given our room key. The rooms were to a good standard and of a really good size and the facilities in the kitchen area were excellent, as we were only there a week we didn't use the kitchen to it's full potential but if I was there for 2 weeks i'm sure I would have. I did rent a toaster for 20€ which you get back once you return it. The pool area is lovely and plenty of loungers available to soak up the sun. I did find the pool bar slightly expensive but the fresh OJ and smoothies were lovely and worth the money. The hotel is in a good location if you fancy the beach, old town or the strip. Its all in walking distance. There's a lovely restaurant opposite that I would recommend for lunch or dinner, we ate their twice for lunch and twice for evening meal food was good and very reasonable. I would 100% recommend this hotel for exploring the albuferia.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just back from brilliant week in Areias Village.

Location: Brilliant location - 5 min walk to The Strip (lively, full of bars etc) 15 min walk to Old Town (far nice restaurants however bit dearer on average). Taxi to Old Town 5 min at €5. Beach only 5-10 min walk. In the middle of everything!

Hotel: Rooms are very spacious, always spotless and have everything you would expect for self catering. We hired a safe €10 deposit & €2.50 per day. No toaster however you can hire this too. We had room facing pool, which was great view, sun I'm morning and not in afternoon. We had to stay an extra night (cancelled flight) and changed to other side of hotel. Still fine but slightly noisier due to road being closer (nothing to complain about though!). Ignore anything about noise from Kiss nightclub - we didn't hear a thing and it was open.

Pool: Pool is quiet enough so bare this in mind if you are expecting entertainment etc, though we loved it. Easy to get sun loungers, and staff try and stop people reserving them for long periods. Only downfall the pool is in shade from 5pm or so but just move your sun lounger onto grass for sun. We had burgers at pool bar on last day, €5 each, nothing special, probably making your own stuff!

Overall a superb hotel, nothing to fault at all. Staff are so helpful and lovely. And brilliant for money too!! 10/10.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jc1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here with my husband for a week in early June and we had a fabulous time. We arrived mid-morning and were told we couldn't check in until 3pm, which we were aware of when we booked, however we were able to get changed in the downstairs shower area and leave our suitcases in a locked room next to reception. We did ask at 2pm if our room was ready only because we'd not had much sleep and were able to check in a bit earlier.

We had a pool view room on the second floor which was lovely. As mentioned in other reviews the only thing that really lets the hotel down are the beds which were a bit flimsy. Aside from that the room was great with a spacious living area and plenty of room in the bedroom with lots of wardrobe space. We were self catering and I see from previous reviews you can hire items i.e toaster/kettle but we didn't bother. It was so cheap to eat out all we used the kitchen for was to make cups of tea and our water cool in the fridge. We had aircon in the bedroom and living area and also a flat screen TV, there weren't many English channels but we only watched a bit of Sky News and put the music channel on in the evenings when we were getting ready to go out.

The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and this is not the sort of hotel where the cleaners are banging on the door first thing to get in! We did not hear anything from KISS nightclub across the road which had worried me when we'd first arrived. There is a small shop less than a minute's walk away and a supermarket a little further up the road. We never had any problem getting a sunbed by the pool at any time but I would say if you want a day at the pool then to get there early only because the pool area loses the sun about 6.00pm but you can move sunbeds on the grass area to get those last rays. Our balcony was shady but this was not a problem and we enjoyed being able to sit out and cool down after a long hot day at the beach. The water pressure was what I would expect when on holiday, not great but adequate and the temperature was fine. Our balcony window in the living area didn't have any safety stickers and we moved the coffee table in front of the window so we didn't accidentally walk into it. We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Now a bit about the location...... a short walk up to the Strip where there are lots of restaurants and bars. I would also recommend getting the tourist train to the Old Town, it costs 4 Euro each for a day rider and runs every 20 minutes, we used this the whole time during our stay and didn't catch a cab once. The Old Town Restaurants are of a much higher standard and it's worth exploring past the Square and up the hill for some hidden gems. The beach here is much nicer as well compared to Praia da Oura which was not that clean and full of seaweed and cigarette ends.

I was surprised by the number of Stag and Hen dos on the Strip but they weren't any trouble. The age range seemed to be late 20s upwards and while some were a bit loud they were civilised and behaved themselves. There was a police presence whilst we were there but I'm not sure if this is usual or because of the start of the World Cup.

I would recommend The Cottage for breakfast which was very reasonable with good service and also the Chinese restaurant called The Golden Garden which is the first one you reach on walking up from the hotel, there is a Chinese PR outside who was always entertaining! We ate there twice as the food was so good. We did a day excursion and got out tickets from the Ticket Shop, if you don't mind leaving it until the last minute and book the evening before you want to go there are some deals to be had. All in all we had a wonderful holiday in a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrincessPink75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband & I stayed here in April 2014 for 8 nights. We were very impressed with the standard of these apartments, very clean & modern. The kitchen area was quite large with open plan to the lounge area. The only gripe about kitchen equipment was that we had to hire a toaster from reception but it was a refundable deposit so cost nothing. We had a great view from the room, we were in on the 4th floor overlooking the pool with sea view. The balcony was a good size with nice furniture, it could easily accommodate 5/6 people. The pool area is very nice with decking. We had no problem at the time we visited in getting a sunbed but otherwise it is nice to spend some time on the beautiful beach which is just a few minutes walk down the road. Also from the beach walk it is only 20 minutes or so to Albufeira old town/beach. For nightlife and restaurants, the 'strip' is just five minutes walk up the road on the right. There are plenty of small supermarkets around but a larger INTERMARCHE can be found on Estrada de Santa Eulalia which is a little further along the top road & runs parallel to the strip

Room Tip: Pool view at front is nice but higher have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank topranking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here from 11th June for a week. Now I'll do a bit about the hotel but I'll also add in some other useful stuff we found from our week in Albufeira. Reading ahead on here really helped us so hopefully this will help you. It's quite long though!

First then the hotel...

A really nice, clean and very modern hotel. The apartments the same. You can hire a safe for €17 for the week plus €10 deposit which you get back at the end. We had a pool view room which was lovely and shaded in the afternoons. Our days were hot so this was welcome. The balcony is huge with table and two chairs and a clothes dryer.

The living/dining room was a good size with a kitchen at one end. The kitchen had everything you need if you're not looking to do much cooking - which we weren't. Apparently you can hire a toaster for €20 but we didn't. There is a kettle that boils on the hob available for an early morning brew but you can hire an electric one from reception.

The bathroom was nice. It has a large shower over the bath which for us, wasn't that powerful but adequate.

The bedroom was also nice. Both the living room and the bedroom have doors out onto the balcony and heavy duty curtains to keep the sun out. The ONLY thing that lets this apartment and hotel down is the beds. This is a 4 star hotel with 2 star beds. They were cheap, hard and light which meant they would move too easily. I expected better for a hotel of this quality.

We didn't use the restaurant or bar so have no comment there. The reception staff were all very helpful.

The hotel is not designed to be a 'resort' so there is no entertainment and aside from a children's pool there is no kids entertainment either. Worth bearing in mind if you want more.

We used the pool area once and the pool was refreshing - we were there when it was 35 degrees so grateful for it. Every time we walked past - at all times of the day - there were sun loungers available. Probably worth remembering that Portugal's Algarve is a big golf destination so you get groups of men (not twenty somethings) that are there for a golfing holiday. This may explain why sunbeds are available.

Now onto other stuff you may find useful.

KISS nightclub across the road. Never heard a thing so don't worry about it.

There is a Supermercado about 10 yards up the road from the hotel. It sells all the basics and prices are good. There is also a restaurant where we had lunch a couple of times opposite the hotel. Nice and cheap too.

A short walk to the top of the road on the way to the Strip is a larger Supermarket and another cafe that did a nice cheap breakfast.

The Strip is what it is - lots of bars and restaurants - all lower end stuff aimed at those on holiday for a good night every night. We did eat and drink there a few times during our week and here's a brief rundown of our experience on the Strip.

Chinese food - Golden Garden - hilarious man outside. AMAZING FOOD. We ate here twice.

Breakfast - The Cottage - half way up, a small place. We ate here three times. Full English breakfast is €3.50 and it is excellent. The best by far and we tried a few. Breakfast is generally very cheap everywhere.

Pubs/Bars - Generally the crowd is older than you'd get in Magaluf etc. Some stag and hen do's around, which again seem to be slightly older. Wild and Co is good if you can get a seat outside. The music we saw there was TERRIBLE but that is half the problem with these kind of resorts. It's all so dated. Happy Hours tend to be everywhere until 10:30/11pm but Lick It seemed to selling very cheap drinks later than anywhere else we found. Was reasonably quiet there too.

Restaurants - Avoid the mexican place O'Peoto - good food but rubbish service and be careful with Restaurant Ramos - terrible service and a breakfast that made us feel ill all day. Also, El Rancho seems really popular but we found it over priced for typically average holiday food. You can get the same level of quality (cheap meat and over boiled veg) elsewhere for less.

The Old Town has loads of really nice, traditional restaurants. The Square is surrounded by typically standard stuff but if you go into the streets around it you can find some real gems.

The train that goes from the Strip to the Old Town is excellent. We used it more or less every day. €4 each for an all day ticket. Cabs are €5/6 each way apparently so we didn't use them.

Day trips - there are a few 'Ticket Stop' places - one near the hotel and a couple of the Strip. Top tip - book right at the end of the day for the next day. They reduce all the trips. We booked a day trip to Portimao for €8 each.

BEACHES - the main one in Albufeira is Fisherman's Beach next to the Old Town. Really nice and clean. €15 for two sunbeds and parasol. Worth getting the train for. Other beaches are Oura near the hotel - dirty, lots of seaweed, €12 for two sun beds. The second best was the one others have mentioned. It's called Averios and there is a shortcut to get to it. Turn right out of the hotel and follow the road down to the Auramar Hotel which is at the end on the right just after Chilli Peppers bar. Ignore the sign for the beach and keep walking. You'll see a gate to the hotel car park and on the left of it is a very small path. This is the path to the beach. Follow it down and you're there. It's small and quite nice. €12 for two sunbeds and a parasol although no one came to collect our money so we got a day for free. We had lunch in the cafe there which was really nice.

Hopefully here are some useful tips here. We had a great time and were really pleased to come back to such a great hotel at the end of each day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and partner Stayed here early June for a week with our 2 yr old. It was excellent. The apartments are modern and clean, everything u need in there. Maids there every day. Staff where helpful and polite.

The grounds are big and well layed out 2 pools and bar wer perfect.
Location was great. Few mins from the strip or a 5er for taxi to old town.
Great little beach 5 min walk, bit of a struggle with a pram.
Cheap Supermarket 5 min walk away.
Night club opposite but we dint hear anything the whole trip.

Only down side was there's no entertainment of any kind in the hotel nothing for kids, the bar was dead by 11pm.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank pepermintBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#31 of 154 in Albufeira
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areias Village Hotel Apartamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areias Village Hotel Apartamento

Address: Rua Vasco da Gama | Praia dos Aveiros, Albufeira 8200-294, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: £43 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Areias Village Hotel Apartamento 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Areias Village Hotel Apartamento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areias Village Hotel-Apartamento Hotel Albufeira
Areias Village Hotel Apartamento Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing