We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Unexpected Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O Zuca

O Zuca
Ranked #116 of 770 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Bottom of the steps and I know it doesn't look much.........but we looked in, stopped had a bite to eat enjoyed it that much went back a few times..... great food, nice atmosphere very welcoming and very busy lunchtimes get in early. Food in the evenings again very good and the prices were the cheapest around. Go look you just never know what your missing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ExiledDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    63
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Twice was enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We ate here on our first night, we shared clams for starters and sardines with beer and wine and if I was reviewing just on that meal it would have been excellent. We were really looking forward to eating here again but our second visit would have gained a terrible review. We ordered clams again and when they arrived they were cooked to nothing we called the waitress over but she would not admit anything was wrong. My partner had a chicken curry he thought bland and tasteless and I had sole fillets that were watery inside the batter like something from Iceland, the best part of this meal was the sardine pate with the starter. Very disappointed and did not eat here again

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“local food - great quality and price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Went here yesterday - group of six for a late lunch.
It was totally excellent with a good choice of fish and non-fish dishes. Very cosy and filled with locals. Sardines excellent, sea bass great, house pudding awesome. Drinks - get the half bottle of wine for a couple of Euros or Sangria 50cl for 5 Euros. Service is excellent too and because it's cosy, you inevitably end up chatting with other restaurant guests.
Atmosphere - charming - very local, not for a romantic meal but with friends or family it's perfect.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank a_londoner_20121027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place, good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This little place is a gem - as the other reviewers have said, it is always busy and seems very popular with locals. There is nothing grand about the place - but it is pleasant and has a nice atmosphere, slightly cramped perhaps - but I'm nit picking now. The food is very good, the service relaxed and friendly and the wine inexpensive (less than half the price of similar bars/restaurants). I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anwen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Local Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Food at this restaurant is great value. Make sure that you are hungry as the portions are enormous, delicious & very good quality. The jugs of red house wine are cheap & very good, didn't try the white. Leave some room for the creamy house desert not to be missed. Lovely atmosphere as it is small & cosy & frequented by locals. The staff are friendly & efficient. Our first choice if returning to Albufeira.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AME34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Zuca also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to O Zuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing