We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nicer than expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Praia da Ouro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Albufeira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Praia da Ouro
Ranked #92 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nicer than expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I had actually chosen their sister hotel Oura Praia which was 4 star but upon arrival I was informed (not very politely) that I had chosen this hotel even though I knew I hadn't but we didn't have much of a choice. It was a drop down to 3 star but we still had a lovely time and it was impressive. The apartment was basic but it was clean and exactly as described. It was cleaned everyday and the complex felt very safe. Our apartment had a large balcony and sea view which was an unexpected bonus - but I do think it's luck of the draw where you are in the complex. The entire complex is very modern and clean, right on the beach and the pool is large too. It's literally five minutes from the strip which isn't great but it's only a five minute taxi ride from the old town which is fabulous. There's a local supermarket very nearby. I would have given it 5 stars only for the fact that the reception staff are not very friendly or polite. In terms of directions, check in etc. however there usually tends to be just two behind the counter who are constantly stressed because they're overworked and understaffed so you can sympathise with them on that front. I did hear a lot of people complain about the fact that when they arrived their room wasn't ready but it says when you book that check in is five pm and it also says that all over the hotel so people should be aware of that before they arrive. It does what it says on the tin and it was surprisingly nicer than I expected!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 753jennym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    110
    59
    27
    20
See reviews for
80
144
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here for a week 25th march, the reception entrance is 4 star+ and very welcoming staff. The hotel has around 800 rooms scattered around the reception / pool and seafront, the porter carried our bags to our room and showed us the room facilities before leaving for us to unpack. The pool is great and plenty of sunbeds. 5 bars with happy hour at different times throughout the day. 5mins walk from the 'strip' with bars and restaurants from 1min away. 2mins from the beach too. A good walk from the old town which is accessable via road or beach.
Overall very good location for us as a young couple.

Room Tip: ask for pool or sea view rather than the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

good size appartments, clean with good sea views. excellent value for money and very well equipped for a self catering holiday. Some nice restaurants and bars in the hotel with entertainment every night and at happy hour a pint and wine cost 3 euro (spirits not included) The 100 euro deposit is an inconveince but a card is issued and can be used in the hotel and sister hotels to purchase drinks and food ( which we used and 30 euro was returned on check out as we had spent 70) However the resort at this time time of year is so well priced we ate out mosts night on our 6 day trip. The holiday is a 10 minute walk to the strip and a 25 minute walk to the old town of albufeira. some good supermarkets. so many eating places well priced u cant go far wrong however the cockerel country kitchen stood out and required booking on some nights ( average meal for 2 with bottle of wine 25 euro) The local staff at the hotel very friendly with the exception being the female receptionist in the indoor swimming pool. Overall for the price of 62 pounds for 6 nights was superb. would go back to this hotel tomorrow.

Room Tip: four bars at the resort with numerous happy hours at different times so study the form. nice room vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at the club from 20th. - 28th. March 13 which was arranged on our behalf by "AVIOS" after saving for 10 years or more. We were disappointed ! Our accomodation was in a separate block ( Sunflower ) 200mtrs. down the road from the main complex. Whilst the apartment itself was spacious and clean, it was lacking in good cooking facilities, any sort of view, peace and quiet. The cooking facilities consisted of a two ring halogen hob, combination microwave oven that took three days to master, a kettle and toaster which was friendly with the smoke alarm unit. The view from the balcony, or should I say "Shelf" was towards trees. As for peace and quiet which reception staff said was a bonus with being there, it was non existant. There was the constant barking of 3 or 4 dogs ranging from a yap to a very loud woof. I don't mean once or twice, but ALL day, evening and sometimes in the night. We complained to reception and they offered to call the police - for what ? Our bedroom was on the roadside and the window exactly 3 mtrs from the roadside, which was to say the least, very busy. One way and the feed round for the whole resort. Not to forget the homing route for the happy holidaymakers returning well into the night. I can't imagine anyone having the windows open to keep cool in the summer, in view of that. To reach the main complex one had to walk down a hill and then up an incline, and using the road itself as the pavements were somewhat uneven for a walking impared person. We have stayed in the area previously, but at different accomodations which we now think were much better located. We did have a hire car and managed to park it near our apartment most of the time, but it was an ordeal getting a space. There is an option of paying extra for parking in a car park nearby. I should imagine this is the only option in the summer months when it gets really busy there. Now, don't get me wrong, there were a number of positives. A nice beach just down the road, two or three nice cafes overlooking the beach and two small supermarkets. To sum up... if your young, have children, don't hire a car, have plenty of money for drinks outside happy hour, don't mind noise, then this could be the place for you. If you like peace and quiet, have a walking or hearing disability go elsewhere. Ps. There is an experimental restaurant takaway / delivery service which we found to be very good and at reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Ensure you know exactly what room / apartment you are booking into as it is a massive complex with d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Ok, this is a rather late review as we stayed back in 2007! Overall the apartment was fine, didnt have any air conditioning though, so it got quite warm. When we arrived we had fruit and wine in the apartment, which was a nice jesture. The beach area beside the complex was fine, where watersports were available. Only really spent time at the kiddie pools as we were there with a family with children. Complex close to bars and restraunts which we found were good the places we went to. We travelled in October and the weather was still really nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L22tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungloe Co.Donegal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just returned from pre easter 8 day holiday with 14 family members. Everything o.k about the accomodation only the appartments were very very well worn(horsed) as my hubby described them. They suitable if you have kids as pleanty of entertainment and free kids club for most of the day. Lots of elderly people staying there for the winter. Sheets not changed but did get sheets when i offered the cleaner to change them my self which i did . Other members of family did not have them changed. We received clean towels every 3rd day. There is apartment renovations going on(long overdue) but it looks like it will take forever as only a few being done up. Will not be staying there again unless we return with grandchildren and only for the kids club.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erin723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 day break in december and first impressions were good . However on check in we were asked for a£100 deposit for breakages luckily i had my credit card otherwise half our holiday money was gone. The room we were given was very spacious and was spotlessly clean tho was quite a walk from reception as we were self catering we went out to look for restaurants and pubs and in december there wasn t much open but places we did find were good and cheap .the beach to the hotel is really nice and quite picturesque overall i would say that we went out of season and got what we paid for so can t complain would go back in the summer months as its in a cracking spot

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craig a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#62 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach
Golden Beach
#1 of 163 in Albufeira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oura Praia Hotel
Oura Praia Hotel
#79 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#70 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Borda D'Agua Apartments
Club Borda D'Agua Apartments
#54 of 122 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Praia da Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Praia da Ouro

Property: Club Praia da Ouro
Address: Apartada 827, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Number of rooms: 564
Also Known As:
Club Praia Da Ouro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing