We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You pay for what you get. :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Praia da Ouro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Albufeira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Praia da Ouro
Ranked #91 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You pay for what you get. :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Hotel complex is huge. There are all sorts of flats, studios, and hotel rooms. Equipment range from jacuzzi and air condition to shower and a fan in the first floor studios. The hotel has great beaches very close by. Supermarkets within 200 meters, an onsite nice restaurant reasonably priced and good food. Staff helpful. Pool area good but for the size of the complex which is large could do with an additional pool area. It would also be helpful if one reconsidered the volume setting of the "pool party between 16:30 and 18:00 every day. I reccomend picking an Apartment facing away from the pool, unless Miley Curys' wrecking ball is something you want to have ringing in Your ears. Hotel provides a shutlle to the other hotels in the MGM Group (gym available at a resonable price, pools With more Space and piece).

Room Tip: Hotel rooms facing the sea in the 100-series. (up to 117). View probably better in the 200 seri...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank JoarSaether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    110
    59
    27
    20
See reviews for
80
144
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We planned to stay here 4 nights, but left already after 1 night. The reason was the bed in the studio - the only bed - a horrible sofa-bed. Probably OK for 1 person, but for 2 it was really horrible.
The rest of the studio was really OK, with very fresh and well equipped both kitchenett and bathroom.
Pool area: Far too few sunbeds made the impression unwelcoming if you dont want to put on the alarmclock at 7 am to run out and reserve a sunbed. We didnt enjoy the too loud music around the pool during "pool party" a couple of hours every (?) afternoon. Every type of conversation was impossible and when asking the management if this very high level was really necessary we received the answer that it used to be even louder and the surrounding glass used to vibrate a house away. I wounder - do anyone really enjoy this? The music selection was good though :-)

Location was good, close to the Beach.

Room Tip: Avoid sofa-bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A_Waldemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Risskov, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Pros:
Great location - the closest it can be to the beach in Albufeira.
Friendly staff - didn't charge for a scooter parking even though it was written they do.
Clean, spacious room.
Extras they organize - saxophonist, biggest tv screen for watching football, 24/7 reception with free wi-fi.
Overall very cosy place to stay for a couple:)

Cons:
We tried breakfast once, but the price does not worth the quality and variety of food you get.
Bar prices are considerably high in comparison to bars in a city center.
Sleep quality really depends on the floor and location of your room. Ours was considerably noisy (close to kids pool) and walking area. Plus, the two air cons are very noisy..

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms should be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdgarasRacinskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have left it for almost two months before writing this review to give the management of this hotel an opportunity to respond to our written complaint but they have not. This is an indicator of the poor quality of the management of the Group that own this hotel.
When we arrived at the hotel our room (G 9th floor) was only 20 metres from the army of noisy, dusty work that was going on. In communication with the hotel before going to Portugal we were assured that the building work was due to finish in February. Not a hope! The refurbishment will be going on without any shadow of a doubt until 2015. This is not isolated building work It is everywhere.
We complained and were offered another room that was an insult . It was at the back of the hotel in a room that was small, dark, and right next to the public pavement. We refused and were offred a room at their other resort (Oura View Beach Club). This is a relatively new proerty and was considerably better than CBDO. I suppose because we had been shifted from the down market CBDO we were offered a room in 'the pit' 6th floor with a patio that had a blank wall in front of the room so that there was no view whatsoever (only the upward view of the sky).
We can only say to fellow travellers the following:
1. Do not stay at CBDO. Read the other reviews that talk about the building work and the rowdy groups. They are all true.
2. Do not stay in a MGM (MG Muthu Group) hotel. They have no sense of honesty toward their customers (any reputable hotel group would have at least made their customers honestly aware in advance of what was going on and given the chance of cancelation or change to a standard room (not sub standard as we were). It is self evident what type of Group are MTM because they have not responded to (us after our written complaint) or any of the Trip Advisor reviews here. They also advertise that Trip Advisor have given them a certificate of excellence. Trip advisor, this cannot be genuine ??
Enough said!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travellerjunorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Well will begin with the Positives.
The Hotel will be lovely when its finished and has great beaches very close by.
Nice restaurant reasonably priced and good food.
Staff helpful.
Pool area good but for the size of the complex which is large could do with an additional pool area.
Some areas are reserved for Infiniti Members .

Negatives (Downhill from here)
Our Studio room was ok but they don,t have Air Con just a small noisy wall fan I didn,t see anything stating there was no Air Con when I booked it so perhaps i should have checked but in this day and age expected it ( my 1988 Honda had air Con ), for the first 3 days the temp was touching 36 Degrees and room was in the sun from Midday until very late evening and was like an oven, couldn,t sleep and there was no way you would cook anything in the room.
The view from the room was of the Dumping ground 30-40 yards away full of cardboard , large bin bags, old beds and baths and toilets etc not a pretty site.
Loads of noise when they where Tipping or removing stuff in the early hours of the morning at about 8am ( once at 1.30 am a large crash of breaking glass woke our next door nieghbours up ) they told us it was a wagon dropping off the Glass Bins we where still out so missed that .
We tried on a couple of occasions to get a move but was told there was no rooms available so gave up.
Overall this will be a nice complex when work is finished but they should not be using these rooms whilst the Dumping Ground is opposite and it appears pot luck as to which part of the complex you are allocated to, some parts are lovely.Will give this place a wide berth for a few years. There 3 other hotels where much nicer and they had a free bus going every 15 mins so that was good if you wanted to get a sunbed somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mckevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just returned from a week at Club Praia da Ouro, we were lucky enough to be in a refurbed apartment, a few teething probs that were reported on more than one occasion before they were sorted. We were also informed that C block was finished (wrong) still lots of noise during the day but, as we don't go on holiday to sit in the room it was not too bad, it just started early in the morning so made us get up & out first thing, it was a bit of a pain in the evening trying to have a drink on the balcony before dinner as it was noisy & dusty & work didnt stop until 8.00pm. The Infiniti only areas were very welcomed, its nice to be recognised. It will be spectacular when its finished but, it will be on going for some time. We found everyone very helpful & polite even the workmen were apologetic for being there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0l117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Been here several times. Great location for beach and 'the strip' but not that close that noise is a problem. Had studio apartment which was very spacious and well equipped with regular maid service. Staff help and friendly. Facilities for children but we didn't use these. Only down side this visit is lots of refurbishment going on so noisy in some parts of complex. Would definitely go again as long as the upgrade doesn't price us out.

Room Tip: Return in pool area at present so better further away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arlettymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#68 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach
Golden Beach
#1 of 163 in Albufeira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oura Praia Hotel
Oura Praia Hotel
#78 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#71 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Borda D'Agua Apartments
Club Borda D'Agua Apartments
#54 of 122 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Praia da Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Praia da Ouro

Property: Club Praia da Ouro
Address: Apartada 827, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Number of rooms: 564
Also Known As:
Club Praia Da Ouro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing