We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went back twice!”
Review of Taverna Pegasus - CLOSED

Taverna Pegasus
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So good we went back twice!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We visited this lovely friendly restaurant in April 2013 while staying at a nearby hotel. Having had an early flight we decided to find somewhere for lunch while we waited for our room to be ready. We came across the Pegasus and were welcomed / talked in to eating there by the owner. He was really lovely and very friendly and was delighted when he found out we had come to him first! We both ordered the Salmon special at the owners suggestion which was amazing. I have never seen such a big salmon steak and it was cooked to perfection! Nothing was too much trouble and the owner and staff checked several times that we were happy and had everything we needed, but it was still lovely and relaxed - what a great way to start a holiday!

We also popped in two other times during our stay for a drink or some lunch, each time we found the staff and food just as wonderful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    18
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly proprietors and good food”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Have visited a few times in recent years just for a drink. Tried my favourite clams dish last week and they were excellent. Spoke to Debbie + Albert who were most welcoming and friendly. Went back on our last night with the intention of a couple of drinks before going elsewhere to eat. Got talked in to staying and trying black pork Espatada - so glad - it was superb. All in all a brilliant evening and will definitely return. Mick + Trish - Bridlington

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best afternoon in a long time”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I visited Taverna Pegasus with 12 other people last Saturday 27th April for a cocktail making lesson. It was a brilliant experience, Albert was a great host who made us all very welcome. The visit was part of a Hen Weekend and we all agreed it was one of the highlights of the weekend. I would defintly recommend Taverna Pegasus as a place to relax and enjoy good food and hospitality.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very easy to feel comfortable here!”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I came across this place by accident but would return anytime as it is a very hassle free zone, great to just chill out and read the paper etc, got plenty of reading material for rainy days and interesting staff to pass the time with, you can actually relax here without someone getting up your backside to order more food/ drinks etc. The place is clean without feeling clinical, the toilets are ok with good soap etc and there is plenty of space etc. The staff actually bend over backwards for you and I really like it here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank powerhousesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cocktails”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Only had cocktails here during the day. They was delicious and the waiter can not of been more helpful. Free wifi and papers :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie5664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Pegasus also viewed

Ferreiras, Albufeira
Ferreiras, Albufeira
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing