We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms. Great kids pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #10 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice rooms. Great kids pool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

We recommend this hotel.
My wife, our almost 5 year old daughter and I spent 4 nights at the Alfagar II Aparthotel in early June. We had a nice room on the 2nd floor. All rooms face the ocean. The building is further away from the water than the original Alfagar I, which are more like villa-style apartments. They appear to be renovating those. We could still catch a glimpse of the ocean from the balcony, which was nice and big with a bistro table for breakfast and two lounge chairs (where my daughter and I slept one night just for the fun of it).
The hotel caters to all-inclusive one week + guests (meals and drinks). However, we booked just the room. We still had access to all the amenities. The pools were great, especially the kid's pool. There are different levels of water slides, which our daughter loved.
The hotel was clean and well-cared for. We ate one night at the hotel buffet restaurant. We don't recommend it unless you are going as part of the all-inclusive. For the price, you are better off walking the 15-20 minutes in either direction to eat in town.
The cab ride to Albufeira (to the west) and to Vilamoura (to the east) was about 15-20 minutes. Albufeira is larger and has more to do. They have a great beach as well. There are closer beaches to the hotel: Praia Santa Eulalia and Praia Ouro. Santa Eulalia was a nice beach. We did not go to Ouro, but we heard it is a nice too.
Vilamoura is not as historic, but we really enjoyed walking around the marina, and we had a great meal at Cais'i.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoAnyPlace70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    302
    44
    16
    10
See reviews for
557
175
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Now where do i start!
I travelled with a friend and my 6yr old son. We have previously stayed at the Holiday Village Viva in Majorca, but decided to give this a go following the reviews on trip Advisor, and what a mistake we made!

The hotel is new, fresh and very clean. The rooms are a fantastic size with great facilities. We paid for a Seaview, but without Binoculars it was very difficult to see!! If you get a sea View request the 4th Floor and away from the bar area. The entertainment is outside and very loud until 11.30pm followed by the cleaning up process! The only downside to the rooms are the beds! Very uncomfortable, worse than any other hotel beds! Most parents ended up on the sofa (More comfortable) and the kids in the beds!

The dining area is far too small for this hotel. Inside are very few tables, but the majority of dining is outside, which is lovely when the weather is good. We had a couple of poor days and it was a disaster.
The buffet area is very very small, with only one coffee machine and one toaster. The queues are ridiculous, and it is impossible to move.
Breakfast is lovely, but the rest of the food is not. Poor choice, nothing plain (chicken, fish) everything in a stew!! They do not replenish food very often and you have to constantly ask for items.
The pool bar serves snacks, but you are treated as a second class citizen if you are All inclusive. If you order a burger and are paying for it, you get a burger on a bun with a plastic plate. If you are paying, it is served with salad on a normal plate and delivered to your table! Cheese toasties have no cheese on All inclusive, but plenty if you are paying!

Evening entertainment is very poor, in particular for children. Some evenings there is no entertainment. The best whilst we were there are the Magician and the parrot show.

Kids Club....... The girls are really nice, but the whole set up is a disaster. My son is six and his session was 3pm to 5pm five days a week. On three occassions i had to pay an additional 5 euros for these sessions. So without paying, there was really no kids club included!! The evening sessions that were on 7pm to 9pm are all 5 euros as well, which seems to be standard.
I may have been spolied by the kids facilites on offer at the Villages!

Alfagar 1 are allowed to use all facilites at this hotel, incuding breakfast etc, so do not be fooled like i was to think, book a smaller hotel, just 90 rooms!

Do not be fooled by the brochure "First Choice UK Exclusive"
First Choice control 50 rooms out of the 90 in the hotel. If you travel from the ROI, you are self catering, UK All Inclusive and various other countries Bed & Breakfast or self catering. You can book this hotel direct on a self catering basis.

Would i return.......No, not at all value for money.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GillandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed here during the easter holidays and had a fantastic time, we have two young girls 3 and 5 and this hotel suited all our needs. The hotel was spotless, the apartment was huge and well furnished, the pools were brilliant, if a little chilly (but it was early in the season, they also have a indoor pool which we used as it was warmer) The hotel is set in lovely grounds and it is great to be able to walk down to the gorgeous beach ( Santa Eulalia) but be careful not to be cut off at high tide ( there is an alternative route back on the road ) We used the hotel bus into Albuferia a couple of time as it is good value. We were half board, the breakfast was good quality, plentiful and there was a good choice, the evening meals were mixed, some nights brilliant others a bit dodgy (fish good, chicken bad) The staff were great, very accomadating and great with the girls.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahlovesIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Just arrived back from a weeks stay with my husband and two boys 3 and 5 years old. Hotel is lovely and new and very clean.
Room - we were allocated in room 416 and this overlooked the pool and had a sea view. We stayed in a 1 bed apartment and could not fault it at all. There was a full size kitchen with more or less everything you could want for a self-catering apartment. There was a flat screen TV with English channels. The children slept in the living area which was ideal for them and the extra bed pulled out from under the sofa. We slept in the separate bedroom and the only negative I would say is that the beds are two singles pushed together, however they are large so that was good. Plenty of clothes space and a patio door leading out onto the very large terrace with sun beds. This is also another set of patio doors from the living room which leads out to the terrace and there is table and chairs for al fresco dining.

Pool - fantastic, kids loved the splash pool but the other pools are great too. Little cold but this is expected in June. There is a heated indoor pool which is an alternative. The main thing for me was the fact that no matter what time you went down to the pool there was no reserving sun beds and always plenty to go round - excellent as I find nothing worse than sad people who want to sit in the same place everyday!

Location - this was the only downside but if you are aware of this before you book then there is no surprise. It was actually a lovely location albeit a taxi ride out to the local towns of an evening. We went to Olas D'agua twice during our stay (approx 4 euro in a taxi) and although very small there is a lovely relaxed atmosphere here with a good selection of restaurants. We also went to the Old Town (approx 6 euro each way in a taxi). We loved the old town really nice restaurants and lovely square with plenty going on. The Strip is not our cup of tea and I wouldn't recommend.

Day Trips - Zoomarine - really good - highly recommend and only 20 mins on a bus.

Outside - There is a supermarket on site in the village however there is a cheaper supermarket just outside the hotel. If you turn right it is approx 150 meters on your left. We bought fresh bread from the bakery in there everyday.

Beach - we didn't try the steps route from the hotel, instead we turned left outside of the hotel follow the road down to Santa Eulalia Beach, the beach was lovely, two restaurants there on in the Santa Eulalia Hotel which was lovely for fresh sandwiches etc. Bit of an uphill walk back but worked up an appetite for the evening.

Hotel Food - we didn't eat in the hotel but the food did look ok. Some people who were all inclusive did moan about the choice being limited but they all said it was nice just a little boring.

Please feel free to email me if you want any further info.

Room Tip: Just request sea view/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Holidayaholic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Have just returned from a week's all inclusive and the hotel was great. Exceptionally clean throughout the whole complex, our room for a family of four was large and spacious and a huge balcony which fits in sun loungers and table and chairs, also has kitchen area, fridge coffee machine, kettle.

There are several pools, a very shallow baby pool, main pool, pool with kids slides and various water sprays and then there is an indooor heated pool with a spa like feel. Very happy kids!

Food we found to be plentiful, fresh pancakes / omelettes at breakfast, plently of hot / cold selection and good choice of fruit and puddings, breakfast seems to be a lot busier than any other time, I think most of the UK guests are on all inclusive, other guests seem to be on bed and breakfast, so hence the greater numbers. Lunch and Dinner, drinks are brought to your table no queing up for drinks.

Used the kids clubs once or twice, the reps are very good who run it and my children had a fun time.

Entertainment is pretty low key in the evening, but very pleasant sitting outside with other holiday makers. It costs approx £6 to take a taxi from the hotel into the old town at Albuferia, so you always have the option of going out if you want more night life.

Last but not least, the staff were all very helpful from the reception, dining area, bar etc, they work long hours, but are always there to help you.

Overall a very pleasurable holiday experieince.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MollyMoo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Just returned from a weeks all inclusive stay with my 6 year old son. I have to say that I would not return to this aparthotel for many reasons.I will start with the negatives...of which there are quite a few! The first thing that needs to be changed is the dining/food area, everything is squashed into a very small area which makes it impossible to move! There is one coffee machine and one toaster to serve at least 250 guests for breakfast. The food is VERY limited but what we did have was OK. They stop putting fresh food out at around 8.20pm which is just not acceptable. The evening entertainment is very poor. The pool snack bar should serve food until 5.30pm but would often close early. A small child asked for a slice of pizza at 14.55 and was told stand and wait until 15.00 when she would be serving food- ridiculous. All the guests staying over at Alfagar I come over and use the facilities also, be warned! The kids club opened for 2 hours a day and some of the sessions we had to pay an extra 5 euros. The kids pool water features were turned off well before the pools closed so you couldnt use the slides etc....?? My friend paid extra for a sea view room - be sure to pack your binoculars.
Now for the good stuff, my room was very spacious, the two of us had a 2 bed apt! The tv channels are good - BBC1, ITV 1,2,3,4, channel 4 and 5 etc. Balconies are well equipped with nice furniture. The hotel is clean. The pool area is lovely and the indoor pool is a bonus. Carlos the waiter deserves a special mention as he is pleasant and very helpful and a credit to the hotel. The kids club reps were also very nice. A few people raised their concerns over the hotels problems and the rep did listen and change a few things for the better which was good. All in all I would not return as the dining experience was just too bad.

Room Tip: rooms over the bar area are VERY noisy until 11.30
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sharon4101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We've just returned from our first family holiday abroad and although we were sceptical about the whole thing, we needn't have been. Alfagar 2 is a wonderful place for a family holiday. It is spotlessly clean (apart from a few unsavouries in the swimming pools on a number of occasions!?!) and the cleaners are visable throughout the day. There's a good variety of food and the waiting staff are very attentive (esp Carlos, what a lovely chap!). The apartments are excellent and the balcony really makes it! I would definitely pay extra for a sea room and ask for one on the top floor. Road noise meant we had to keep the patio doors closed at night, which was a shame - but there's air conditioning if you need it. The best thing about this hotel was the families that went there - we met some lovely people (you know who you are!). It was so lovely sitting on the decking in the evening, watching the kids run around with each other. Thank you for sharing it with us. Might even return next year!! Oh and the rose wine isn't bad either..... :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank adelepearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.9 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.9 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.0 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Property: Alfagar II Aparthotel
Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing