We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #11 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We have just returned from a week's holiday and without doubt the hotel room was one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. Bright, very spacious, modern and exceptionally clean. We were lucky enough to have beautiful views over the pool areas which were very clean and maintained to a high standard. We chose the self catering option which suited our needs as we went out in the evenings to Albuferia and Vilamoura where there are a vast number of restaurants and bars to choose from and the food was excellent. The nearby beaches were lovely and not crowded - although 10 euros for two beds each day was expensive. The only downside to the holiday was that the hotel was quite far out from the main resorts for eating and going for drinks. And although the restaurants which we dined in were very good, they were quite expensive - for both food and drinks. All in all though, Portugal is somewhere where we would go to again only this time we would choose somewhere closer to where we could walk to for night's out as we spent quite a bit of money taking taxis in the evenings. Beautiful hotel though and Ideal for families staying all-inclusive as there is abundance of facilities for children to keep them entertained throughout the day.

Room Tip: Request room with pool view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB13-Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

We were surprised to pay a deposit of 30 Euro for TV remote control and 30 Euro for save lock. We stayed in the old part of the Alfagar (not at main building). Rich nature with lots of pines and rocks. Very beautifil organized beach with not many people. But 10 Euro for 2 Beds and Parasol till 14-00 and the same price in the afternoon it is a little bit too much.
As alternative by bad weather... lots of swimming pools. Local supermarket provides fresh fruits and vegetables, milk, bread, ham, so on. Polite ukranian roommades, cleaning every day. Equipped kitchen. Free Internet at the bar was not working, we had to pay for internet an sit at reception.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ipolyakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Just spent a week at the Alfagar II with my husband and 2 year old daughter.
Hotel grounds are very clean and there's lots to do in regards to play areas, soccer pitch and pools.
We were self catering and to be frank I couldn't pay 17.50 for the buffet on offer. It was average fare to say the least. The one night we ate there, I found the restaurant area cramped and stifled and the meal of average to poor quality.

Each morning, we'd purchase a continental breakfast in the bar area (€10 for two), which was alongside a lovely play area so our daughter could run and play in safety and we could have a coffee.

The apartments were very well equipped with a mod cons . The cleaning staff arrived very late about 3pm Some members of staff were quite rude, one cleaning lady in particular was quite sharp with us when we made a request to change the bed linen.

The beds aren't comfortable unfortunately, very hard mattresses. The aircon blows hot air intermittently, which can be very irritating at times.

Another bugbear was a 50c call out charge for a taxi, seeing as you have to get taxis to the old town, shopping areas etc it is a bit excessive. We had avail of the taxi service every evening to go to dinner, saying that if you didn't have a small child and could walk yourself it would have been a lovely walk in the evenings

Regarding cleanliness, the floors are swept and the beds are made, not much else is done. It wouldn't have taken much for them to wipe down counters with disenfectant, I was glad I bought wipes but had to purchase cleaning products to clean kitchen properly. The floors were washed maybe once when we were there. Towels are supplied every three days, that's not enough either yet seems to be the norm.

10 euro deposit for an extra room card, you're only supplied with one per room. €30 deposit for a remote control, another deposit for the safe key. Be prepared for that with cash when you check in as they don't have an atm nearby (another taxi journey)

The bar snacks are pizzas etc, as mentioned maybe some pastries might have been more appealing. As we were self catering, we purchased our drinks 65c for a mineral as opposed to 1.50 for a cup of ice with a splash of 7up at the bar.

All in all it was a lovely week, the weather and sunshine was lovely and the resort was nice and had lots to entertain a toddler during the day. I wouldn't reccommend it however as it's too far out and the food and entertainment is limited in the resort.

Room Tip: if you pay the extra for a sea view, be prepared to have the sounds of terrible karaoke invade your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank majorette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I've just returned from a week all inclusive at the Alfgar II. I travelled as a large group (10 adults, 3 children, 2 babies). All five rooms that we booked were really nice with very large balcony's, the room definitely exceeded my expectations, the only issue we had was working the aircon, which randomly blew out hot air, although I'm sure the hotel would have sorted this if I had complained. The rooms all have an iron/ ironing board, microwave, fridge, kettle, hairdryer so no need to pack travel appliances. We also rented the safe in the room for 10 Euros for the week.

As per previous reviews I agree the hotel is extremely clean and the food choice is very good. There are a few comments regarding the snacks at the pool bar, I guess this could be improved with lighter snacks such as fruit or cakes. The hotel resturant staff and the red bar staff were extremely friendly (especially Carlos and Riccardo), they made you feel really welcomed and couldn't do enough for you, they really added to the enjoyment of our holiday.

The beach is a ~15minute walk down some wooden steps, but I think you can also walk along the road. A couple of days there was enough surf to bodyboard, which was good fun.
The pool area is also very clean with no issues to find a sunbed, there were always plenty free. There was also an indoor swimming pool and sauna, although I didn't use these.
The 'strip' is approx 20 mins walk from the hotel ~3.50 euros and the Old Town is approx 5 - 7 euros by taxi.

I took 3 of my nephews to the Zoomarine and booked at the hotel reception (25 euros adult, 16 euros child, free for under 5's) but there was an additional charge for transport (5euros adult, 2.50 child) the bus leaves at 10.25am and leaves the Zoomarine at 4pm. The children loved it and I’d definitely recommend it.

Would definitely re-visit, but only as all inclusive... the euro costs too much to stay self catering!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed here in early september and had a great time. Rooms are spotlessly clean and staff are very friendly. I agree with others that All inclusive guests are treated as second class citizens particularly at pool bar. Our daughter enjoyed the kids club and waterslides. Food was varied and plenty of choice. Evening entertainment was very poor and would have been better just with background music. Nothing else to do in the area without getting in a taxi and they are hard to find. Fine if you are on all inc but next year it will be self catering only. we would have gone back next year if all inc but not for self catering as the location isnt great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogt1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Just returned from a lovely week in the Alfagar. We were all inclusive and thought the choice of food was great. Every thing we tried was really tasty especially the meat balls!!! The food is really fresh with plenty of choice, especially in the evening. We were there with our 11month old son and he was made to feel so welcome by all the staff in the restaurant. The cocktails in the red bar are great too (as special every evening). I only have a few negatives, the choice of snacks for all inclusive guests at the pool bar is very poor, after all we have paid up front. The entertainment wasn’t great, but started late so if you wanted peace and quiet - it was great. Also, the bed are extremely Hard!!!
This is an amazingly clean hotel and we couldn’t believe how late some of the cleaners work and bless them they worked really hard keeping the place tidy. If you want a nice relaxing, quiet holiday this complex does all that. A thoroughly enjoyable holiday in a lovely complex, well recommend.

Room Tip: If you want morning sun on the Balcony, obvisouly you need to be east facing. These rooms (although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Myself and my partner have literally just returned from the holiday we stayed for a week all inc. I'll begin with the very few good points about this hotel. The apartments themselves are very nice. They are spacious with a living area, kitchen, bathroom and seperate bedroom. We also had a large balcony overlooking the sea and pool area. The other saving graces are the televisions in the apartment have english channels with sports and bbc and ITV, which believe me you will be grateful of. The last good point is they have san miguel on tap which they serve you in large chalices. And now for the rest. The food is absolutely appalling, it is recycled food day in day out. It is a very small buffet selection. Breakfast isn't too bad as they provide you with an omlette station which is freshly made. Lunch was vile! For example on one tuesday the theme was chinese of a chewy pork in a sweetcorn sauce which later made an appearance on the lunch menu on friday looking over stewed and with a layer of skin forming over it. The lunch consists of recycled uneaten crap from previos night and nuggets and chips and pizza. The dinners were themed every night with chinese, mexican, english etc etc one night they were serving tikka masala with yorkshire puddings!! And suprise suprise although we were in portugal they never served any portugese food!? If you like nuggets and chips for 7 nights a week you will be fine, but if like me and my partner you wanted to try some portugese food I strongly suggest you search elsewhere or go to a restuarant in the old town. The service at the Alfagar is disgraceful for some reason if you are all inc you are treated with a begrudging effort by all the staff like there being good to you by giving you a drink even though they seem to forget you paid £600 for this privilege! Not once did any of the staff make us feel welcome or engaged in any conversation with us or asked us if we was having a nice time. If you asked them for a drink they simply grunted at you and got you a drink.myself and my partner are a young couple in our 20's with no children, and I can say this doesn't bode well for any couples who are young with no children as the staff seem to treat the over 50's and the families with much more respect than us even though we all paid the same!!! I found this particularly rude and discriminative. The entertainment to sum up is sheer tragic, most nights there is nothing at all, no music in the background just the clanking of cutlery and kids crying. And when they do provide entertainment it is karaoke from a man or woman which again is poor. I highly recommend if you do decide to stay at this hotel that you go out and explore what little there is to explore. It costs roughlt 6 euro in a taxi to get to albuefuria and there are some decent restaurants and bars here. Unless your happy to sit round the pool all day, eat nuggets and chips and be bored by the drone of karaoke on the night do not go here.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Emily2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
1.3 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £30 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar II Aparthotel has an unbeatable location overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar village, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 90 modern, comfortable apartments in a modern 5-storey building. Alfagar II Aparthotel is ideal for families, with his wide range of facilities, such as a children’s pool with slides and splash area, and for all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing