We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, friendly staff, very family friendly!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Beautiful apartment, clean and spacious with a lovely big balcony. The food was really good and there was an excellent selection at every meal. It was a lovely restful holiday and was very family friendly. We traveled with our 1 year old and he was really well looked after (and tolerated!) by the staff and other guests. Within the hotel complex there are a selection of pools, including an indoor heated one, tennis courts and a couple of playgrounds. Two beaches are about 15 minutes walk by road (we had buggy with us) but closer if you are able to do the steps. Both beaches were lovely and not too busy (in October). We also took the hotel bus to the old town (80 cents each way) which was a good day out. There was entertainment every night but this was easily avoided.

This is not the place for you if you want to be out partying every night as the main strip of restaurants and bars is a 20 minute walk away. It's also not the holiday for you if you want a child free break. If however you are after a lovely relaxing break with family in a beautiful location with spotlessly clean accommodation and really friendly staff - then you can't do much better than the Alfagar II.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and a sea view. Our room had a concrete balcony wall but some others had glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muddy_Lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

We atyed for a week. Gorgeous weather - 26-30 every day. Loved the hotel and apartment - spotlessly clean. Staff friendly - special mention to Ricardo who made our cocktails every night. Loved the breakfasts and made to order omelettes and pancakes. Always plenty to eat and a good selection. My fussy teenagers found something to eat at every meal. The beds were not comfortable unfortunately - we had singles pushed together and the sofa bed for the girls wasnt the best but we managed. We loved the large balcony that came with our apartment. Enjoyed the low cost bus trip to Albufeira, swimming in the ocean (Santa Eulalia beach is gorgeous but accessed via steps although this wasnt a problem for us). Loved the Zoomarine day trip but the Lake Guadiana cruise was expensive and we didnt enjoy it. The cruise itself was fine but you arrive at a dead village (this was how it was described by the rep!) nothing there but a purpose built restaurant. Lots of flies unfortunately. And bizarre singing and dancing between every course. The older folk enjoyed it but it was all a bit much for me. Overall we loved our holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamSmith_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Returned yesterday and felt compelled for the first time ever to write a review! After reading lots of reviews about the Alfagar we were expecting a good hotel and a great holiday but our expectations were exceeded. This is the cleanest and most welcoming hotel we've ever stayed in. The room we had was very large and well equipped. We had an enormous balcony with 3 sets of patio doors, table with 4 chairs and 2 sun loungers, and being on the 4th floor we had a sumptuous sea view and of the pool area and astro pitch.
The food was always of a good standard and pretty varied, always replenished by the hard working friendly staff. Lots of choice of meats, veg and fantastic fruit (not just chicken nuggets and pizza as some numpties have whinged!). The waitresses and bar staff were always pleasant and were brilliant with our 5yr old daughter, esp Isabella and Joao.
The pools are fantastic for all ages and the indoor one is pleasant if you fancy warmer water.
The kids club is brilliant and was the only distraction our daughter would leave the pool for, the girls Lauren, Sarah and Kelly made sure they had loads of fun and the party nights were good value at €5.
The beach is a 5 min walk away but there are lots of steps to negotiate, however it is well worth the effort.
We went all inc and will definately return next year even though the hotel wont be doing all inc again.

Room Tip: choose 3rd floor or higher for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSFWOLVES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed here with my husband & 2 teenage children in the beginning of October. The hotel generally cannot be faulted. Accommodation was great. Pools and pool bar excellent. Paid extra for sea view. Great if you had binoculars! Now the food.. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Lunch, ok. Dinner was awful. Very little choice, struggled to put a meal together. Most of staff not that friendly with the exception of Ricardo in the Red Bar, who went out of his way every day to make everyone feel welcome expecially my daughter Mollie who thought he was great. She has now even named her new pet lizard after him!! Local beach 2 minute walk and beautiful. Needs to be more shops close by as the one on site is very expensive and again limited choice. Self catering next year will be a very expensive option. If it was staying all inclusive and the food improved we would return.

Room Tip: Sea view charges not worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THETHOMPSONS199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for the third week in September and we will be going back, hopefully, next year for two weeks. The apartments were spotless and the maids were polite and friendly. We usually ate lunch in the bar, the food was lovely and the prices were good. The staff are in a complete league of their own, they are the most accommodating, friendly, nicest hotel and bar staff I have ever come across! The beach is two minutes away and it costs around 5euro to get into the strip by taxi. The night entertainment bt the complex is a bit of crack! Perfect holiday, perfect location, perfect apartments and perfect staff!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rhianna25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Loved this hotel so much nothing to fault.
Cleanliness was tip top staff were very friendly and helpfull.
Great for kids i traveled with a 15month so was to young for 'kids club' but there's so much else to do. Beaches are very close. Food is great for adults and kids. Shame its turning self catering next year other wise i would be going back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aimee23xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

A very clean and spacious apartment with all you could wish for.Including iron and board.
The whole complex is very clean and the staff are more than willing to help .Riccardo in the main bar and Carlos in the resturant are very good at ther jobs and are allways very friendly and helpfull' The pools are very clean as is the pool bar area.The kids pool is very good not to deep with slides for the children and a life guard in attendace all day.The food is ok with a different theme every evening. Only one thing that let it down was the entertainment which was not that good but you cant have everything . A shame it ill not be all inclusive next year as we would have no hesitation in going back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christian10Worksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,028 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
244 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,798 reviews
1.6 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £32 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar II Aparthotel has an unbeatable location overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar village, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 90 modern, comfortable apartments in a modern 5-storey building. Alfagar II Aparthotel is ideal for families, with his wide range of facilities, such as a children’s pool with slides and splash area, and for all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing