We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alfagar II Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed for a week all inclusive at Alfagar II Oct 13-20 in a 1 bedroomed apartment with a sea view. Lovely modern clean apartment with massive balcony and a lovely swimming pool to suit all ages. Plenty choice of food with themed nights, breakfast especially good with pancakes and omelettes even english sausages! Staff very friendly especially pool barman and Ricardo in Red bar. Not far to beach and worth going to, lovely peaceful holiday only negative-not much entertainment in the evenings. Would love to book for next year but sadly its going self catering.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAUREEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    293
    44
    14
    9
See reviews for
539
170
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I just spent a wonderful week at the alfagar Village in an Ocean View apartment Oct 9-17 during the end of the local season . It was amazing period. Waking up to the lapping ocean waves along the coast was therapy in itself. Being able to cook our own meals was great (the real supermarket is only about 1 mile walk from the village so no need to spend 20-40% more in the tiny market in the village). There are a number of pools both for little kids and grown ups so you don't have to be bothered by screaming running kids if you don't have them or don't want to be around them :-). The beach was absolutely magical while we were there. The water was pa perfect temperature. just jump in to cool down and take a few laps before going back to either your own towel or the plenty of rentable chairs with or without umbrellas.

I created some videos that you can watch on gigstarz.com of the room and the beach.
Beach - http://www.gigstarz.com/PerformanceChat.aspx?sid=1381&g=32&sg=129
Hotel Room - 2/213 - http://www.gigstarz.com/PerformanceChat.aspx?sid=1380&g=32&sg=129

Room Tip: The apartment we had did not have internet. There were apartments (I think it was alfagar II) that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Beautiful apartment, clean and spacious with a lovely big balcony. The food was really good and there was an excellent selection at every meal. It was a lovely restful holiday and was very family friendly. We traveled with our 1 year old and he was really well looked after (and tolerated!) by the staff and other guests. Within the hotel complex there are a selection of pools, including an indoor heated one, tennis courts and a couple of playgrounds. Two beaches are about 15 minutes walk by road (we had buggy with us) but closer if you are able to do the steps. Both beaches were lovely and not too busy (in October). We also took the hotel bus to the old town (80 cents each way) which was a good day out. There was entertainment every night but this was easily avoided.

This is not the place for you if you want to be out partying every night as the main strip of restaurants and bars is a 20 minute walk away. It's also not the holiday for you if you want a child free break. If however you are after a lovely relaxing break with family in a beautiful location with spotlessly clean accommodation and really friendly staff - then you can't do much better than the Alfagar II.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and a sea view. Our room had a concrete balcony wall but some others had glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muddy_Lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We atyed for a week. Gorgeous weather - 26-30 every day. Loved the hotel and apartment - spotlessly clean. Staff friendly - special mention to Ricardo who made our cocktails every night. Loved the breakfasts and made to order omelettes and pancakes. Always plenty to eat and a good selection. My fussy teenagers found something to eat at every meal. The beds were not comfortable unfortunately - we had singles pushed together and the sofa bed for the girls wasnt the best but we managed. We loved the large balcony that came with our apartment. Enjoyed the low cost bus trip to Albufeira, swimming in the ocean (Santa Eulalia beach is gorgeous but accessed via steps although this wasnt a problem for us). Loved the Zoomarine day trip but the Lake Guadiana cruise was expensive and we didnt enjoy it. The cruise itself was fine but you arrive at a dead village (this was how it was described by the rep!) nothing there but a purpose built restaurant. Lots of flies unfortunately. And bizarre singing and dancing between every course. The older folk enjoyed it but it was all a bit much for me. Overall we loved our holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSmith_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Returned yesterday and felt compelled for the first time ever to write a review! After reading lots of reviews about the Alfagar we were expecting a good hotel and a great holiday but our expectations were exceeded. This is the cleanest and most welcoming hotel we've ever stayed in. The room we had was very large and well equipped. We had an enormous balcony with 3 sets of patio doors, table with 4 chairs and 2 sun loungers, and being on the 4th floor we had a sumptuous sea view and of the pool area and astro pitch.
The food was always of a good standard and pretty varied, always replenished by the hard working friendly staff. Lots of choice of meats, veg and fantastic fruit (not just chicken nuggets and pizza as some numpties have whinged!). The waitresses and bar staff were always pleasant and were brilliant with our 5yr old daughter, esp Isabella and Joao.
The pools are fantastic for all ages and the indoor one is pleasant if you fancy warmer water.
The kids club is brilliant and was the only distraction our daughter would leave the pool for, the girls Lauren, Sarah and Kelly made sure they had loads of fun and the party nights were good value at €5.
The beach is a 5 min walk away but there are lots of steps to negotiate, however it is well worth the effort.
We went all inc and will definately return next year even though the hotel wont be doing all inc again.

Room Tip: choose 3rd floor or higher for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSFWOLVES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed here with my husband & 2 teenage children in the beginning of October. The hotel generally cannot be faulted. Accommodation was great. Pools and pool bar excellent. Paid extra for sea view. Great if you had binoculars! Now the food.. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Lunch, ok. Dinner was awful. Very little choice, struggled to put a meal together. Most of staff not that friendly with the exception of Ricardo in the Red Bar, who went out of his way every day to make everyone feel welcome expecially my daughter Mollie who thought he was great. She has now even named her new pet lizard after him!! Local beach 2 minute walk and beautiful. Needs to be more shops close by as the one on site is very expensive and again limited choice. Self catering next year will be a very expensive option. If it was staying all inclusive and the food improved we would return.

Room Tip: Sea view charges not worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THETHOMPSONS199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for the third week in September and we will be going back, hopefully, next year for two weeks. The apartments were spotless and the maids were polite and friendly. We usually ate lunch in the bar, the food was lovely and the prices were good. The staff are in a complete league of their own, they are the most accommodating, friendly, nicest hotel and bar staff I have ever come across! The beach is two minutes away and it costs around 5euro to get into the strip by taxi. The night entertainment bt the complex is a bit of crack! Perfect holiday, perfect location, perfect apartments and perfect staff!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rhianna25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.8 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Property: Alfagar II Aparthotel
Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing