We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time had by all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We travelled as a family of 4, our boys are 9 & 12, staying for 10 days. We had an excellent time, our room was spotless & spacious, there were 2 beds in the lounge area for the boys to sleep on - which is a bonus as they hate to share a bed! Fantastic large balcony, with great sea views. Towels were changed every couple of days, but our bedding was only changed once & that was 2 days before we left!!?? Slightly odd we thought. Rooms cleaned every day. The rooms have a TV which I know others have complained on this site that it's 30 Euros for a remote, we didn't bother with a remote as the controls are on top of the telly so a remote is not required anyway!
Food was varied with something for everyone at every meal time. The dishes of food were not large & therefore re-stocked on a very regular basis & was always fresh, but not always very hot, however have learnt that most european's do not eat buring hot food as us brits! All the staff were helpful & friendly & went out of there way to make you feel welcome. I think most reviews mention Ricardo & his amazing cocktails - have to agree 100%! Entertainment was a bit ropey, but we weren't that bothered as we just enjoyed sitting on the terrace having a drink while the boys played with their many new friends.
Only a couple of downside's: The temperature of the pool, it was freezing. We normally spend half our hoiday in the pool with the boys, but could only manage about 10 minutes at a time before we could no longer feel our limbs! The boys didn't seem to mind though & just went to the bar for a hot chocolate! Also the beds were extremely hard. I like a hard bed, but after a few nights it was very uncomfortable & I ended up sleeping on one of the sofa beds!
The beach was beautiful but a bit tricky to get to, 2 sets of wooden steps that accessed the beach had been smashed by the waves following a storm & you had to scramble over the rocks & then jump down onto the beach. Fine for us but not an option for families with young children.
It was very quiet when we stayed due to it being the end of the season & some trips etc. were no longer running, but this didn't spoil our holiday. Would certainly return & recommend for others to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dibble007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Having stayed mostly at a private rental in Taveira - we chose Albufeira and travelled out of season so the area was not inundated with peak season visitors. Alfargar Village lived up to
the reviews and was what we expected. On site entertainment was adequate, but a little under attended, However, my sister loved the Karaoke bar.
We ate at the A la Carte and the Buffet restaurants but much preferred to dine
out locally and enjoyed some local cuisine.
The rooms were very clean, roomy, tidy and well maintained - However the walls
were thin and we could hear revellers or next door.
The Beach was quite a walk from the hotel and when we ventured out the tide was in so we lazed by the pool instead.
The tours - were booked via the hotel with "Follow me" tours. Staff were very polite and friendly and the drivers drove with due care and attention along the long and winding roads.
Our trip to Seville was well worth the money, very interesting and historical sights and facts.

Our Room Overlooked the Beach and afforded good site from our Balcony.
All in All a good short break away and we enjoyed our daily walks - good exercise.

Needed a Cart to take the luggages - Maybe wise to hire a vehicle.
Thought paying for the TV remote control was a bit un-heard of.

Room Tip: Needed a Cart to take the luggages - Maybe wise to hire a vehicle. Thought paying for the TV remote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avrilreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We've just returned from a fantastic family holiday. The hotel was perfect in every way. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. They were spotlessly clean. The staff in all the bars and restaurant were lovely and friendly and went out of their way to make our children (7,3 and 1) feel at home. There was a great choice of food particularly lots of fresh fruit. The hotel was quiet as it was coming to the end of the season which suited us but it's a very spacious hotel so I can't imagine it getting too busy. The cocktail of the day was a must in the evening and Ricardo went out of his way to make sure the children had a special drink too. The local beach is one of the best I've been to and is only a host walk away.Would definitely go back to this place next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

the hotel is lovely, clean , big and modern. we couldnt believe how big the room was & it had the biggest balcony we have ever had.The breakfast was great with lots of choice the lunch & dinners were ok some nights & very good other nights think the trick is to be one early as the night we went for dinner about 730 it wasnt up to much.Beds very hard sore when got up & my friend never slept. The red bar is great & richardo is a star most of the staff are nice & helpful. We didnt take the tv remote as its 40 euro deposit we didnt watch much tv as the weather was great but when we did we just used the buttons on the tv. We went to zoo marina but found we didnt have enough time as bus picks you up at 4 but the parek doesnt close till 6 so we didnt get to see all the shows but we did see the dolphins and seals which were great. took taxis as there was 4 of us so it worked out cheaper to get taxi rather than 4 bus fair. all in all a good holiday nice hotel, pools & weather food ok entertainment not up to much.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aka57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed for a week all inclusive at Alfagar II Oct 13-20 in a 1 bedroomed apartment with a sea view. Lovely modern clean apartment with massive balcony and a lovely swimming pool to suit all ages. Plenty choice of food with themed nights, breakfast especially good with pancakes and omelettes even english sausages! Staff very friendly especially pool barman and Ricardo in Red bar. Not far to beach and worth going to, lovely peaceful holiday only negative-not much entertainment in the evenings. Would love to book for next year but sadly its going self catering.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAUREEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I just spent a wonderful week at the alfagar Village in an Ocean View apartment Oct 9-17 during the end of the local season . It was amazing period. Waking up to the lapping ocean waves along the coast was therapy in itself. Being able to cook our own meals was great (the real supermarket is only about 1 mile walk from the village so no need to spend 20-40% more in the tiny market in the village). There are a number of pools both for little kids and grown ups so you don't have to be bothered by screaming running kids if you don't have them or don't want to be around them :-). The beach was absolutely magical while we were there. The water was pa perfect temperature. just jump in to cool down and take a few laps before going back to either your own towel or the plenty of rentable chairs with or without umbrellas.

I created some videos that you can watch on gigstarz.com of the room and the beach.
Beach - http://www.gigstarz.com/PerformanceChat.aspx?sid=1381&g=32&sg=129
Hotel Room - 2/213 - http://www.gigstarz.com/PerformanceChat.aspx?sid=1380&g=32&sg=129

Room Tip: The apartment we had did not have internet. There were apartments (I think it was alfagar II) that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Beautiful apartment, clean and spacious with a lovely big balcony. The food was really good and there was an excellent selection at every meal. It was a lovely restful holiday and was very family friendly. We traveled with our 1 year old and he was really well looked after (and tolerated!) by the staff and other guests. Within the hotel complex there are a selection of pools, including an indoor heated one, tennis courts and a couple of playgrounds. Two beaches are about 15 minutes walk by road (we had buggy with us) but closer if you are able to do the steps. Both beaches were lovely and not too busy (in October). We also took the hotel bus to the old town (80 cents each way) which was a good day out. There was entertainment every night but this was easily avoided.

This is not the place for you if you want to be out partying every night as the main strip of restaurants and bars is a 20 minute walk away. It's also not the holiday for you if you want a child free break. If however you are after a lovely relaxing break with family in a beautiful location with spotlessly clean accommodation and really friendly staff - then you can't do much better than the Alfagar II.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and a sea view. Our room had a concrete balcony wall but some others had glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muddy_Lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
1.3 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £19 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar II Aparthotel has an unbeatable location overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar village, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 90 modern, comfortable apartments in a modern 5-storey building. Alfagar II Aparthotel is ideal for families, with his wide range of facilities, such as a children’s pool with slides and splash area, and for all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing