We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing break”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed at the Alfgar for two weeks in a two bedroom apartment during early October.
Good points
The apartment was very clean, spacious and modern. The kitchen was well equipped (everything you need for self catering) but we went out to eat most nights (old town is best.) We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but the food looked OK and they appeared to have a weekly menu. We were on the first floor and had views over the garden and carpark at the side, this was fine as it was not noisey during the day. The balcony was massive - it had two sun loungers and a table and four chairs. The cleaners were brilliant and always came to clean (6 days a week) in the afternoon - I hate it when they come in the morning! The gardens were spectacular and the hotel pool was clean with plenty of sun loungers and slides for the kids. The beach by the hotel was OK (bit of a trek up the hill on the way back) but as we had a car and know the area we travelled to other beaches. We did enjoy cliff walks in this area though. It is a good idea to have a car as we had great days out in Lagos, Alvor (great reggae bar - you can't miss it by the way it is decorated outside!), the fort at Sagres and Silves - great day at the castle and town.
Minor gripes
*Having to pay a deposit for the t.v remote control - it is supposed to be a four star hotel?
* The beds were hard - personal taste I know but after two weeks everyone in the family was complaining of back pain.
* Walls were thin so was often noisey - especially when people were coming and leaving (suitcases)
* Daytime receptionists not very smiley (evening ones were and also very helpful) - not the end of the world but people are on holiday so they could make an effort.
*The pool where the bar is with free wireless is filthy - covered in bird poo, broken sun loungers and the toliet sinks were not connected properly so water came gushing out on our feet when we washed are hands. We called it the cat pool as there are load of stray kittens there. We did not go back as the hotel pool is much nicer - I don't think this pool is run by the hotel, but the Alfagar resort.

Despite these minor moans I would still go back and stay again as they were not significant enough to ruin our holiday.

Room Tip: Top floor would be best for the views - the hotel has a lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leoni_Shrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    324
    45
    16
    11
See reviews for
597
179
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We travelled as a family of 4, our boys are 9 & 12, staying for 10 days. We had an excellent time, our room was spotless & spacious, there were 2 beds in the lounge area for the boys to sleep on - which is a bonus as they hate to share a bed! Fantastic large balcony, with great sea views. Towels were changed every couple of days, but our bedding was only changed once & that was 2 days before we left!!?? Slightly odd we thought. Rooms cleaned every day. The rooms have a TV which I know others have complained on this site that it's 30 Euros for a remote, we didn't bother with a remote as the controls are on top of the telly so a remote is not required anyway!
Food was varied with something for everyone at every meal time. The dishes of food were not large & therefore re-stocked on a very regular basis & was always fresh, but not always very hot, however have learnt that most european's do not eat buring hot food as us brits! All the staff were helpful & friendly & went out of there way to make you feel welcome. I think most reviews mention Ricardo & his amazing cocktails - have to agree 100%! Entertainment was a bit ropey, but we weren't that bothered as we just enjoyed sitting on the terrace having a drink while the boys played with their many new friends.
Only a couple of downside's: The temperature of the pool, it was freezing. We normally spend half our hoiday in the pool with the boys, but could only manage about 10 minutes at a time before we could no longer feel our limbs! The boys didn't seem to mind though & just went to the bar for a hot chocolate! Also the beds were extremely hard. I like a hard bed, but after a few nights it was very uncomfortable & I ended up sleeping on one of the sofa beds!
The beach was beautiful but a bit tricky to get to, 2 sets of wooden steps that accessed the beach had been smashed by the waves following a storm & you had to scramble over the rocks & then jump down onto the beach. Fine for us but not an option for families with young children.
It was very quiet when we stayed due to it being the end of the season & some trips etc. were no longer running, but this didn't spoil our holiday. Would certainly return & recommend for others to visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dibble007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Having stayed mostly at a private rental in Taveira - we chose Albufeira and travelled out of season so the area was not inundated with peak season visitors. Alfargar Village lived up to
the reviews and was what we expected. On site entertainment was adequate, but a little under attended, However, my sister loved the Karaoke bar.
We ate at the A la Carte and the Buffet restaurants but much preferred to dine
out locally and enjoyed some local cuisine.
The rooms were very clean, roomy, tidy and well maintained - However the walls
were thin and we could hear revellers or next door.
The Beach was quite a walk from the hotel and when we ventured out the tide was in so we lazed by the pool instead.
The tours - were booked via the hotel with "Follow me" tours. Staff were very polite and friendly and the drivers drove with due care and attention along the long and winding roads.
Our trip to Seville was well worth the money, very interesting and historical sights and facts.

Our Room Overlooked the Beach and afforded good site from our Balcony.
All in All a good short break away and we enjoyed our daily walks - good exercise.

Needed a Cart to take the luggages - Maybe wise to hire a vehicle.
Thought paying for the TV remote control was a bit un-heard of.

Room Tip: Needed a Cart to take the luggages - Maybe wise to hire a vehicle. Thought paying for the TV remote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avrilreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We've just returned from a fantastic family holiday. The hotel was perfect in every way. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. They were spotlessly clean. The staff in all the bars and restaurant were lovely and friendly and went out of their way to make our children (7,3 and 1) feel at home. There was a great choice of food particularly lots of fresh fruit. The hotel was quiet as it was coming to the end of the season which suited us but it's a very spacious hotel so I can't imagine it getting too busy. The cocktail of the day was a must in the evening and Ricardo went out of his way to make sure the children had a special drink too. The local beach is one of the best I've been to and is only a host walk away.Would definitely go back to this place next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

the hotel is lovely, clean , big and modern. we couldnt believe how big the room was & it had the biggest balcony we have ever had.The breakfast was great with lots of choice the lunch & dinners were ok some nights & very good other nights think the trick is to be one early as the night we went for dinner about 730 it wasnt up to much.Beds very hard sore when got up & my friend never slept. The red bar is great & richardo is a star most of the staff are nice & helpful. We didnt take the tv remote as its 40 euro deposit we didnt watch much tv as the weather was great but when we did we just used the buttons on the tv. We went to zoo marina but found we didnt have enough time as bus picks you up at 4 but the parek doesnt close till 6 so we didnt get to see all the shows but we did see the dolphins and seals which were great. took taxis as there was 4 of us so it worked out cheaper to get taxi rather than 4 bus fair. all in all a good holiday nice hotel, pools & weather food ok entertainment not up to much.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aka57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed for a week all inclusive at Alfagar II Oct 13-20 in a 1 bedroomed apartment with a sea view. Lovely modern clean apartment with massive balcony and a lovely swimming pool to suit all ages. Plenty choice of food with themed nights, breakfast especially good with pancakes and omelettes even english sausages! Staff very friendly especially pool barman and Ricardo in Red bar. Not far to beach and worth going to, lovely peaceful holiday only negative-not much entertainment in the evenings. Would love to book for next year but sadly its going self catering.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAUREEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I just spent a wonderful week at the alfagar Village in an Ocean View apartment Oct 9-17 during the end of the local season . It was amazing period. Waking up to the lapping ocean waves along the coast was therapy in itself. Being able to cook our own meals was great (the real supermarket is only about 1 mile walk from the village so no need to spend 20-40% more in the tiny market in the village). There are a number of pools both for little kids and grown ups so you don't have to be bothered by screaming running kids if you don't have them or don't want to be around them :-). The beach was absolutely magical while we were there. The water was pa perfect temperature. just jump in to cool down and take a few laps before going back to either your own towel or the plenty of rentable chairs with or without umbrellas.

I created some videos that you can watch on gigstarz.com of the room and the beach.
Beach - http://www.gigstarz.com/PerformanceChat.aspx?sid=1381&g=32&sg=129
Hotel Room - 2/213 - http://www.gigstarz.com/PerformanceChat.aspx?sid=1380&g=32&sg=129

Room Tip: The apartment we had did not have internet. There were apartments (I think it was alfagar II) that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,006 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
861 reviews
1.3 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,875 reviews
1.6 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Property: Alfagar II Aparthotel
Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar II Aparthotel has an unbeatable location overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar village, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 90 modern, comfortable apartments in a modern 5-storey building. Alfagar II Aparthotel is ideal for families, with his wide range of facilities, such as a children’s pool with slides and splash area, and for all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing