We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't want to come home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed at the alfagar ll in September with my Mum and sister. We arrived after a horrendously uncomfortable flight and a hot, delayed coach journey and stepped into the cool and beautifully clean reception area of the hotel. The reception staff were fantastic - so friendly and professional with superb English. We had to wait until the room had been fully cleaned which was a little bit annoying as we were tired and ratty after our journey, but the receptionists were so lovely we couldn't be cross especially as we were given our all inclusive bands which meant we could go and explore and get a drink to cool ourselves down. We left our cases in a specially assigned room and wandered down to the fantastic pool area, where we sat in the fabulous Portuguese sunshine and people watched until our room was ready - BLISS! Back up to reception and collected our cases and key then up in the lift to our room. Upon opening the door we were all bowled over by the size of the apartment, the highest level of cleanliness and the SPACE! It was a truly magnificent. It had one big bedroom with a huge wardrobe, a big double bed and side tables, a gorgeous armchair and the best thing of all, sliding doors opening out on to a stupendous balcony complete with sunloungers, an airer fixed to the wall so you could dry your cossies and towels, and a table and chairs.In the second room, was a sofa bed, which was very comfortable according to my Mum. There was a tv and a comfy armchair, but we didn't spend much time in the apartment as we were all inclusive, although if you were self-catering, the kitchen was beautiful and well equipped.There is a great little supermarket on the complex, and a little one over the road from the hotel which was not as good. The view from our balcony was just beautiful. We had an amazing view of the pool and complex and the sea. I could cry thinking about it again actually, I loved it so much!
Because we were all inclusive, we were entitled to 3 meals a day, in the restaurant downstairs, and also unlimited drinks - alcoholic and soft drinks and pool snacks. We thought the food was lovely although it did get a bit monotonous by the end of the week, but that is because there was only one restaurant. I have been on other all inclusive holidays where you have several restaurants serving different cuisines from other countries. My favourite meal was breakfast, fruit and juices, cereals, cooked breakfasts ( try the omlettes, they are delicious! ) lovely soft bread rolls, danish pastries, yoghurts, you name it, it was there. If you tire of the food at the hotel, you have Albufeira town 5 mins away in a taxi or on the shuttle bus. We visited it, but I wasn't impressed with the new bit of town. It was full of horrible English sports bars with noisy English football fans getting lagered up - horrible. In fairness, people told us that the old town was prettier, but my sister was unable to walk very far, so we headed back to our lovely Alfagar ll, and enjoyed our gorgeous surroundings.
The pool was so pretty, big and very clean, but be warned, it is the COLDEST pool I have swum in! It went through to your bones brrrr! But, after basking in that lovely sunshine, even the biggest of cowards ( me! ) got in,however, there is also an indoor pool, which you can get to by the steps up into the main reception area. This is a lovely temperature, and you can emerge from this one without frostbite!The pool bar was just the right size and served snacks ( hot and cold ) and drinks and icecreams, and also had 2 very clean toilets behind it. There is also an amazing children's pool next to the pool bar with slides, water fountain and other water toys. In the week we were there, we never saw one badly behaved child, which was incredible but wonderful! I am a nursery nurse so don't want to spend my precious holiday being annoyed by naughty kids, but the children there were brilliant.
The top reasons why you should visit Alfagar ll are:1. The gorgeous staff, from cleaners to bar and restaurant staff, receptionists and chefs were all so approachable and polite.2. The cleanliness of the entire place, was absolutely immaculate. You always saw one of the lovely cleaning ladies in their smart canary coloured uniforms sweeping, washing or polishing - fantastic.3. The food was good, but if you like your puddings, make sure you get to the restaurant early or they all go pretty fast. 4. The pool and the rest of the complex was really fantastic, with the foliage round the pool well tended.There were always plenty of sunbeds, which were hosed down, as was the paving around the pool every morning.5. Another aspect of the hotel we liked, was that the bar was not open past about 12.30, so you didn't get drunks making a nuisance of themselves into the early hours. It was a real family hotel with a good range of ages and nationalities, mainly Brits and Dutch. 6. The beach is close by. Apparently, there are steps down to it from some point in the complex, but my sister could not have managed the steps. We walked there once, about a 10 minute walk. Beautiful beach, big crashing waves, and lovely sand, very breezy but exhilerating - fabulous!
There are only a couple of minor gripes about the hotel being: 1. The evening entertainment was dire usually. It would be much better to play some nice chill out music, and let people enjoy their drinks and chat rather than have a couple of men parading some parrots and snakes around for 10 minutes and then charge the parents for one of their photos! The karaoke lady was quite good, even though most people didn't want to get up and sing! Bring on the cafe del mar music and enjoy the fantastic starlit sky with the beautifully lit pool complete with its changing coloured lights as the backdrop..... magical! 2. The only other gripe we had was that the all inclusive people like us, got served really inferior alcohol. Watery non- branded spirits and horrible cheap vino. I am assuming this is because some people have abused it in the past and have been greedy and drank all day. Again, we never saw that happen, even with the Brits who were there!
I loved every minute of our time at Alfagar ll, and wouldn't hesitate to go back. We were so sad that we had to leave, and I thank all the lovely staff there for making it one of the best holidays I have been on.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor and pay extra for the sea view - worth every penny!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank salbar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
There are newer reviews for Alfagar II Aparthotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

i have gone to this complex the last 2 years and i have no complaints. it is super clean and a lovely comfortable resort 5 star it shud be. i will be going back again next year me and my partner love it and this year we brought our baby and he seemed to like it as well

Room Tip: just book it you have to see it to beleive it
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

2 adults and 2 boys 9 + 11yr old.
stayed School Easter holidays 2011 and liked it so much going back 2012.

Not very many people around as it was quite early in the year, There were renovations being carried out but we weren't disturbed.
Hopefully we will get a refurbished room next year. Although our room was quite old/ tired looking this didn't really make much difference.
Care needs to be taken on the steps down to the beach, which would be a problem if you had very young children or grandparents.
We walked in to albufeira most nights and got a taxi back.

I would recommend this holiday

Room Tip: see view preferred
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hershambee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We went in late 2010 when the hotel had just opened. We expected a room, we actually had an apartment. The service was excellent, the food pretty good considering everything seemed new. the facilities and the pools were truly brilliant, and the shuttle bus to ALBUFEIRA was well used. We had half board but I undersatnd it is now all inclusive which has pushed the price up. Well worth it thought if you want to be spoilt

Room Tip: Go for the rooms facing the sea and the pools
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BrambleCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Alfagar II for one week on an all-inclusive basis in June, 2011.
Check-in was very quick and easy, we were quickly given our all-inclusive bands and room keys, and were given a map and information about the hotel and it's grounds. After this we were directed to our room.

Upon entry to our room, we were shocked at the size, cleanliness and general layout of the room. First of all, we went to the balcony which was massive, and had two sun loungers and a table with 4 chairs. The view was lovely and definitely worth the upgrade. We also had a full kitchen, with all appliances, which wasn't needed as we were all inclusive but it was nice to know that it was there. The bedroom was fairly big and the beds were two larger than single beds, pushed together. We also had a full dining table, and living area with large couch and television (which also showed british channels).

The buffet was excellent with varying dishes every night, that were always fresh and being replenished often. The snack bar at the pool was excellent and provided snacks inbetween the three buffet meals of the day: burgers, toasties, chips, ice cream, etc. The staff in the restaurant were also very friendly and would do anything to make your stay better.

We had access to all Alfagar facilities, including two other pools from Alfagar I which were quieter than the main pool. All pools were very clean and always had free sunloungers.

The only downside to the hotel was it's location. It is a 5 minute taxi ride to the old town which cost around 6/7 euros. To walk would have taken around 45 minutes. This may not be a problem for families who are based in the hotel as there was entertainment every night.

Room Tip: Ocean view upgrade is definitely worth the money.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marklgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed at the Alfgar for two weeks in a two bedroom apartment during early October.
Good points
The apartment was very clean, spacious and modern. The kitchen was well equipped (everything you need for self catering) but we went out to eat most nights (old town is best.) We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but the food looked OK and they appeared to have a weekly menu. We were on the first floor and had views over the garden and carpark at the side, this was fine as it was not noisey during the day. The balcony was massive - it had two sun loungers and a table and four chairs. The cleaners were brilliant and always came to clean (6 days a week) in the afternoon - I hate it when they come in the morning! The gardens were spectacular and the hotel pool was clean with plenty of sun loungers and slides for the kids. The beach by the hotel was OK (bit of a trek up the hill on the way back) but as we had a car and know the area we travelled to other beaches. We did enjoy cliff walks in this area though. It is a good idea to have a car as we had great days out in Lagos, Alvor (great reggae bar - you can't miss it by the way it is decorated outside!), the fort at Sagres and Silves - great day at the castle and town.
Minor gripes
*Having to pay a deposit for the t.v remote control - it is supposed to be a four star hotel?
* The beds were hard - personal taste I know but after two weeks everyone in the family was complaining of back pain.
* Walls were thin so was often noisey - especially when people were coming and leaving (suitcases)
* Daytime receptionists not very smiley (evening ones were and also very helpful) - not the end of the world but people are on holiday so they could make an effort.
*The pool where the bar is with free wireless is filthy - covered in bird poo, broken sun loungers and the toliet sinks were not connected properly so water came gushing out on our feet when we washed are hands. We called it the cat pool as there are load of stray kittens there. We did not go back as the hotel pool is much nicer - I don't think this pool is run by the hotel, but the Alfagar resort.

Despite these minor moans I would still go back and stay again as they were not significant enough to ruin our holiday.

Room Tip: Top floor would be best for the views - the hotel has a lift!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leoni_Shrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We travelled as a family of 4, our boys are 9 & 12, staying for 10 days. We had an excellent time, our room was spotless & spacious, there were 2 beds in the lounge area for the boys to sleep on - which is a bonus as they hate to share a bed! Fantastic large balcony, with great sea views. Towels were changed every couple of days, but our bedding was only changed once & that was 2 days before we left!!?? Slightly odd we thought. Rooms cleaned every day. The rooms have a TV which I know others have complained on this site that it's 30 Euros for a remote, we didn't bother with a remote as the controls are on top of the telly so a remote is not required anyway!
Food was varied with something for everyone at every meal time. The dishes of food were not large & therefore re-stocked on a very regular basis & was always fresh, but not always very hot, however have learnt that most european's do not eat buring hot food as us brits! All the staff were helpful & friendly & went out of there way to make you feel welcome. I think most reviews mention Ricardo & his amazing cocktails - have to agree 100%! Entertainment was a bit ropey, but we weren't that bothered as we just enjoyed sitting on the terrace having a drink while the boys played with their many new friends.
Only a couple of downside's: The temperature of the pool, it was freezing. We normally spend half our hoiday in the pool with the boys, but could only manage about 10 minutes at a time before we could no longer feel our limbs! The boys didn't seem to mind though & just went to the bar for a hot chocolate! Also the beds were extremely hard. I like a hard bed, but after a few nights it was very uncomfortable & I ended up sleeping on one of the sofa beds!
The beach was beautiful but a bit tricky to get to, 2 sets of wooden steps that accessed the beach had been smashed by the waves following a storm & you had to scramble over the rocks & then jump down onto the beach. Fine for us but not an option for families with young children.
It was very quiet when we stayed due to it being the end of the season & some trips etc. were no longer running, but this didn't spoil our holiday. Would certainly return & recommend for others to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dibble007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
993 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,774 reviews
1.6 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £42 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar II Aparthotel has an unbeatable location overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar village, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 90 modern, comfortable apartments in a modern 5-storey building. Alfagar II Aparthotel is ideal for families, with his wide range of facilities, such as a children’s pool with slides and splash area, and for all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing