We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, not excellent food but!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
northern ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, not excellent food but!!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed last week of June 2012, 3 adults and 2 kids. Originally had booked two 1 bed apts self catering, hotel was busy so at check in was offered 1 x 2 bed room apt and upgrade to half board. After looking at the apt decided to accept.

The apartment was v v v big , being quite sad i estimated (by stepping it out) it must have been about 600/700 sq ft including balcony. . I cant fault the apartment whatsoever for size. It was cleaned three times in the week we stayed and new towels etc left as well.

The food. The breakfast was ok, nice buffet and no complants at all. The evening meal was not nice at all, food was in my opinion worse than school diners and we only ate twice deciding to eat out on all other occasions. This is my only fault with the hotel but as we got a 'freebie' it didnt matter.

Location. 15 mins walk to the 'bumble bee' at the bottom of the strip and 20 mins walk to OLhas de agua the other way. As long as you dont mind a walk its ok. As we had kids we needed taxis. Some nights taxis arrived in 5 some nights 25 mins just pot luck.

We mainly went to Olhas at night time and spent our time in Aqua bar and fratellis resturant , both excellent and both worth a visit.

The pools at the hotels again excellent, the slides kept our kids happy and if they are happy as parents will know everyone else is happy. One point of note only one lifeguard.

There was no kids club when we stayed (it was advertised when we booked) i think it must only operate at peak times.

The bar in Alfagar1 is where the evening entertainment is on, the 'entertainment'is the usual holiday type so dont expect any major shows. There is a nice kids play area beside the bar and you can chill out with a pint and still watch kids

All in all i would highly reccommend these apts but not the food. I am bookng for next year asap and for me that is very unusual. So cant wait till next year and another week of bliss

Room Tip: If walking to Olhas de agua turn right at petrol station and walk past club med along beach, this kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dino27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    311
    45
    16
    11
See reviews for
572
179
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Our 2 week holiday at Alfagar II was excellent - the hotel is superb quality and the apartment was very spacious with a huge balcony, offering panormaic views over the resort to the Atlantic. Pools and play areas were a hit with the kids, and everything is very clean and tidy. Beaches were lovely with crystal water and golden sand. Great value daily minibus service into Albufeira for just 80c. Breakfast was brilliant, although the food offering in the buffet dinners could have been better. Carlos, the Restaurant Manager was fantastic and a credit to their team. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a holiday on the Algarve.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MarcoJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have just had our honeymoon at the Alfagar 2 and had a lovely time,the rooms were lovely,kept spotless ,staff are fantastic and very helpful,cleaners were awsome.Only downside was the buffet food, it was really awful and on one occassion i had raw pork which i was unable to eat, waste of money but we had some lovely meals away from the hotel and also in the old bar, the pool was also way too cold but plenty of sun loungers with a great snack bar and the entertainment was pretty poor but the room made up for it with a lovely sea view from floor 4 and a lovely huge balcony....would also say the western wonders tour was so lovely ,we went on the v.i.p one ,well worth the extra

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louise_7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Apartments were lovely, plenty of room, balcony had table and 4 chairs plus 2 loungers, everything you would need in the kitchen, so clean, maids never stop, contstantly cleaning every inch of the place. Staff very friendly, Great view from 4th floor balcony. The beach is down some steps at the back of Alfagar 1, worth a trip down, loads of water activities. Security walks around at night so its keeps the place nice and peaceful. If staying in either 1 or 2 you can use all the pools. The only fault we would have had was we did not like the food in the hotel restaurant, buffet style and not great €17.50 pp. Would definitely recommend The Alfagar, staying in either the hotel building or the apartments.

Room Tip: we were on 4th floor(top) no noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank nah21nah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed one week last june in the New apartaments and enjoyed very much. Large room and well equiped kitchen, big varanda, cleaning everyday and changing towells each two days. Well maintained gardens and very cleaning pools. A minimarket in the resort and a bar serving meals . A lot of stairs to the beatiful beach . The worst was the dinner in main restaurant poor and few options and the lack of animation team( starts in July). Yuo'll need a taxi or bus to nearest town of Albufeira. Overall a very relaxing week

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariarloucao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

On arrival the aparthotel looked modern and spacious with a friendly feel.

Reception team were helpful, check in is not until 2pm, however as we were on a morning flight were allowed into our room at 12pm, helpful with a tired 3 year old.

Room was on the 1st floor, beautiful and spacious, well equiped too. Balcony was massive. One point to make the beds are so hard, put a duvet on top of the matress to soften the blow!!! The walls are paper thin too, we were in Portugal during the world cup so lot's of noise!

Swimming pools fantastic.

Beach is 10 mins away and lovely. Don't take a buggy with you as there are too many steps but it's all very safe and when you reach the sand you won't be disapointed.

Restaurant is nice and airy however the food was just very plain, there was no variety and the childrens choice was even worse. Old town have some nice restaurants, try the ones on the beach front or the authentic italian, lovely. Shame the food in the restaurant isn't better.

Thomson rep was awful, tried to recommend a restaurant in the old town that had in it's words 'sexy dancers' not so good as a family with a toddler!!! We hardly saw her but thankfully we didn't need her!

The entertainment was non existent, this was such a shame as our 3 year old loves a disco, I was under the impression when booking that there would be something to do for small children. There are so many children the alfagar should accomodate more for them.

Parks were lovely, really clean and something for 2-10 year olds i'd say.

We had a lovely break but wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a corner room as they are bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anouska1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed here in the first week of june 2012, we had a 20 mth old boy and a five year. The apartment was big and fully equipped with a large balcony. We met 3 couples who were all returning as the hotel is perfectly equipped for kids and the kids swimming pool is excellent. If l had to pick a fault it would be that no pools were suitable for a 2-3 year old. This hotel is of a very high standard is highly recommended.

One final tip, try "Martins Restaurant" about a couple of hundred yards up the road towards Balia. Fresh food, good pizza's an excellent chef who entertained the children and cooks on a bbq in front of you. The appearance outside is very decieving l just wish we had found it earlier in the week.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank purepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.3 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Property: Alfagar II Aparthotel
Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar II Aparthotel has an unbeatable location overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar village, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 90 modern, comfortable apartments in a modern 5-storey building. Alfagar II Aparthotel is ideal for families, with his wide range of facilities, such as a children’s pool with slides and splash area, and for all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing