We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the curate's egg - good in parts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #10 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We would not normally have chosen this type of apartment hotel but it fitted the bill for us as we wanted to spend some quality time with our grandchildren. Irish_Traveller085 makes some very valid points and I suspect the reason that this hotel is not maximising it's potential is down to money. Perhaps the finance director has been told to use every opportunity to claw back additional costs from guests so they charge for the in room safe, to call for a taxi,courtesy bus into town, wifi (25 euro per week!). In addition they have slashed overheads by changing bed linen only once per week and towels twice per week. The on site shop's prices are highly inflated as are those at the bar when compared to outside. Next door to Alfagar 2 is a half completed building and a forlorn tower crane which looks like Alfagar 3 has become victim of Portugal's economic woes. Our room was not ready on arrival, so we went for lunch and returned at 14.30. When we arrived back there was only one male member of staff on duty accompanied by a trainee who was trying hard to get things right bless her. Meanwhile, he was offering tour advice to a German woman so we waited, and we waited and we waited. We stood there like lemons for 15 minutes. Why on earth do they not have a separate tour desk away from the main check in? (Whilst on the subject of tours, you will need to pay in cash as they will not accept Visa. The nearest cashpoint is over a mile away). The buffet food is certainly not to everyone's taste and we lived on salads for much of the week. What I would say is that the restaurant and bar staff are terrific. Miguel, Carlos, Svetlana and Wanderley to name but a few work extremely hard and for them nothing is too much trouble. The complex is spotlessly clean both inside and out and rubbish bins are emptied regularly especially in the main pool area. The early morning sunbed grabbing fandango is alive and well in spite of the warnings that towels will be removed (which they are not as there are no pool boys). We were not told that pool towels are available for a small deposit and this fact does not feature on the information sheet, so if in doubt, take your own. In spite of these irritants, we enjoyed our time here as a family. The kids were never out of the pool. Finally, if you are allocated Room 212, don't go to floor 2 as it is on floor 1 - don't ask!

Room Tip: Rooms on Floor 1 above reception only have a limited view of the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BasilOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Just back today from 7 days in the Alfagar II aparthotel.

Apartment: Absolutely huge! Enormous rooms, living area and balcony. Really quiet, didn't hear the neighbours at all.

Complex: Massive! Loads of different spaces with different atmosphere in each. Main swimming pool area quite busy, but finding a lounger was never too difficult. There was no need to rush down to the pool first thing in the morning.

Bars & entertainment: the bar next to the reception was always very quiet with no atmosphere. The evening entertainment was to be found at the Burganvilia bar in the Alfagar village part of the complex. Also this is the main meeting place for kids with the park and play area plus a pool table and air hockey, but be prepared to dish out you Euros to keep your kids entertained.
The evening entertainment itself is quite poor - to give you an idea the best night was the karaoke night!

Atmosphere: staff were very friendly and helpful. It's perfect for families with children in fact I think that 99% of the guests must fall under this category. It feels safe and secure at all times from dawn to dusk for the whole family.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your honest feedback as your comment is important to the success of our organization.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Spent a week her and wish it was longer. Loved it! Got a complimentary upgrade to a corner sea view - was like a suite- huge with the most amazing views! Spotlessly clean - I've never seen so many cleaners in a hotel ever!! Facilities on site are excellent pools, waterslides, games, spa, gym, supermarket, tennis, football and indoor pool for the cooler months. Very busy but never a problem finding a lounger. We were half board. Food plentiful, lots of choice. Food in bar areas lovely and fresh and staff (Miguel) very efficient and friendly. Nothing a problem for reception staff though often queues. I lost my camera and Rita excelled by phoning various places I'd been to see if it had been handed in (sadly it wasn't). Couldn't fault the staff and customer service at all really. Quite an expensive cost but school summer holidays and we all know that prices go sky high then! Only negatives were WiFi was rubbish and you had to pay for it (I couldn't use beyond the reception area). Wired internet access in reception which was reasonably priced but slow. Went to the village bar twice but the entertainment was very poor! Air Hockey and pool table saved the evening! Balaia is a small place but reception will call a taxi for 50c - 5 mins to Albufeira Strip area (20 mins walk) and same other direction to Olhos Da Aqua which has bars, resaturants, shops and looked nice. Definitely recommend for families. No drunks or raucous groups. Just very relaxing! First time in Algarve - I'll be back! And weather was excellent!

Room Tip: Sea views best with sun most of day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a comment with regards to your stay with us
It encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at Alfagar for two weeks in July with my husband and six year old son. We all agree that we had a wonderful time and didn't want to go home. The apartments are spotless as is the entire complex. The staff are very friendly and most go out of their way to be helpful, whether it's letting you into the restaurant just after 10 am for breakfast when it finished at 10, or giving our little guy a free scoop of ice cream at lunch. The complex has terrific amenities - a large pool in the main complex, with smaller kiddie pool and another mini water park area for slightly older kids (which is really great and fun for adults too:). You can also use the other numerous pools around the complex. There is an outdoor football pitch which our boy loved and made lots of friends at, tennis courts and a great outdoor activity area with climbing tree. Also, there is an amazing beach accessed directly from the complex. The complex is a little outside town so if you go with younger kids you will need to get a taxi into town, but they are quite cheap and average €7 one way.

The room itself was perfect. Quite spacious with a large sea view balcony(which we requested), large dining room and good size bathroom.

All in all we definitely recommend this hotel! One of our best family holidays so far.

Room Tip: Request a sea view. It's worth it to eat Breakfast on your balcony and gaze out every morning. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire_WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review.
We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
We wish to welcome you back very soon in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is very good, but should be excellent!

The staff are mostly very friendly, genuine, and really helpful. It is modern, spotlessly clean, and very well laid out right across the complex. We had a 2 bed family apartment which could easily have slept six it was so big. Even the balcony was huge. It faced onto a building site, but it didn't take away from it at all. The beds were also reasonably soft and comfortable.

In terms of price they are not the cheapest apartments, but they do represent value for money!

However, the hotel falls down very badly in several areas; The first being their Food: We ate in all of the bars and the hotel restaurant, and the only way to describe the food is APPALLING! The quality is so bad, mainly it feels based on the ingredients used. Whether it was a snack from the bars, buffet dinner or breakfast (each with a very poor selection), everything was bland at best, but bordering closer to inedible. This is a 4* hotel, charging 4* prices for food one would expect from a 1/2* establishment! When you check in there is a dinner special offer, DON'T GET SUCKERED IN!!!!

The night time entertainment also leaves a lot to be desired. Glorified Karaoke at best. It wouldn't encourage you to relax for the evening in the hotel bar!

The annoying charges: Every room has a safe. If you want it for the week, there is a charge! If you want broadband in your apartment, there is a charge (but you can only use one device at a time!)! If you want a second room key (as most families do) there is a charge. Whilst the charges are not high, it is annoying that they are there because as stated earlier, the hotel is not the cheapest! Some things you just expects as a matter of course in a 4*.

No kids club! This is a family focused hotel, yet there is no kids club! So if you're hoping for a couple of hours away from the kids each day, forget it!


If the food was good and offered value, and if there was a bit more effort put into the night time entertainment, we would probably have hardly left the complex (and neither would many other guests I suspect). So whilst we will definitely go back to Portugal and this area, we will probably investigate other hotels first. Had Alfagar lived up to the potential it has, that would not be the case.

P.S. - If you have small kids, bear in mind that the walk into the strip with the restaurants is about 20 to 25 minutes each way.

Room Tip: From what I could see they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Irish_Traveller085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked a 2 bed apartment in the hotel. It was really spacious and the balcony was huge. Alot of people seem to have found the beds uncomfortable but we couldn't have slept any better. Even our 2 teenagers were happy with everything and as any of you parents out there know this is in itself a hard task to achieve!! We hope to go back again next year.

Room Tip: We had room 415, a two bed and it had an amazing view over both the sea and the pools which looked f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cliona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Alfagar.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Based on other reviews we chose a one bedroom apartment with sea view. This has a spacious bedroom with good storage. We found the beds firm but comfortable. The sitting room is large and well furnished. Both rooms had sliding doors leading to the huge balcony, this had 2 sun loungers and a liable and 4 chairs.
The kitchen was large, modern and very well equipped with everything most people would need. The hob, oven and appliances were new and worked well. The fridge was also new and clean
The bathroom was large, nicely tiled and well maintained
The complex is large and well landscaped. The small shop provides basic items and the bars have friendly staff - the burgers are excellent
Reception staff are helpful and friendly
Our only concern was that there is quite a lot of hard surface noise from other rooms when cleaners or guests drag furniture on the floors so soundproofing could be a lot better
Overall, a good choice

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank ChrisintheBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 152 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,070 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 152 in Albufeira
2,473 reviews
0.9 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 152 in Albufeira
3,446 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 152 in Albufeira
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £26 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar II Aparthotel has an unbeatable location overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar village, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 90 modern, comfortable apartments in a modern 5-storey building. Alfagar II Aparthotel is ideal for families, with his wide range of facilities, such as a children’s pool with slides and splash area, and for all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing