We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“August 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #10 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“August 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just returned from our first stay in Portugal. On arrival at hotel we were warmly welcomed our room had a sea view and was lovely, very big, with a big balcony. The room was well equipped and very clean. The hotel had a number of pools which were very nice. The hotel was extremely clean and well kept. The only downside was that the town was a taxi ride away and would have been nice to have free wifi on the main complex.

Room Tip: Not to have a room by the bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a comment with regards to your stay with us
It encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    302
    44
    16
    10
See reviews for
557
175
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crayford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 nights. Been home 2 weeks and still have holiday blues.
Beautiful hotel, very spacious rooms. So so clean always a cleaner cleaning something!! Staff very friendly nothing any trouble. We was self catering but did eat at hotel and food was very nice. Kids loved it and made lots of friends. Only bad point was could do with some childrens entertainment but hasn't put us off we will definitely be going back next year!! Can't wait!!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Serenabunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Dear guest, thank you for your review, your comments have been taken on board.

Glad to know our staff did their best to ensure your stay was as pleasant as possible.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Firstly the positives - the apartments at this hotel are fantastic, really spacious and clean and well equipped, and I said 'wow' when I walked into the room, I paid extra for a seaview, which I recommend, even though the sea is quite far off, our balcony had a lovely view. The rooms are also amazingly sound proofed and private.

The kids pool is great, though it is rather cold, we were here in August in temperatures of 30 degrees and yet my 5 year old could barely stay in for 15 minutes without getting cold (If you have little ones, bring one of those thermal wetsuit vests with you, particularly if you are coming in more temperate months). We also liked the low-key nature of this resort, it's quite quiet - even at night - and is good for people with young families as it doesn't have a rowdy drunken contingent and is also very cosmopolitan (lots of Dutch, German and French guests) which is great if you want to get away from 'Brits abroad' and feel like you've gone away from the UK.

We came on a self catering basis but we ate in the hotel 4 times and found the buffet great value, the kids loved the desserts and there was something for everyone. I am incredibly snobby about food and food hygiene and I can say that the food was really nice and none of us got any kind of upset tummy even though we ate salad, seafood etc and I really trusted the hygiene standards. As hotel buffets go, it's a really superior one.

The hotel has step access to a lovely beach, Santa Eulalia, and our kids really loved it there. There is also a fantastic restaurant called O Pescador on the beach which is amazing for a special meal in the evening. The steps aren't too steep and are ok except for people with mobility difficulties. Having a beach so close, is a real plus, and it's not that busy even in August.

Moving on to some of the negatives...I stayed in Alfagar I (the sister apartments in the same location) over 20 years ago and it was very easy to get a taxi into Albufeira. This is no longer the case. If you want to go into town during August, be prepared to wait up to an hour in the evening. It is also expensive to get into the Old Town (8 Euros each way). Albufeira old town is now as horrible as the Strip was 20 years ago and is not a place to take young children in the evening (they used to have fishing boats on the beach in the evening now all you can hear are the thump thump thump of the discos on the party boats). It has lost all of its character and has been developed to the point where it's actually unpleasant to walk around,. So, if you want a holiday that involves getting out of the hotel in the evening,and you have young children, then this may not be the place for you. Similarly, there is not much entertainment for young children in the hotel - except a couple of half hearted animal shows that involve someone putting a snake around people's necks then asking for you to buy the photos afterwards. In some ways, it's nice not to have kids club entertainment blaring out all the time (and unlike some people we actually want to spend time with our kids on holiday instead of dumping them at a kids club), but if would be really good if the hotel could put some events on for children in high season, or expand its very small games room area.

One other issue that did mar our enjoyment of our stay was the lack of sunbeds. For the first 4 days we were there the hotel did not enforce its 'no reservation of sunbeds' regulation and all the sunbeds were taken by 9am every day, often by people who did not return to their sunbed until the middle of the afternoon. On our 5th and 6th day someone did remove the towels from some of the beds and put notices on the sunbeds. However, I do think that in addition to doing this the hotel still needs to provide more sunbeds in peak season, as even when the lady was removing towels it was still hard to get a sunbed for our family of four. It made the holiday a bit stressful as we had to get up early if we wanted to be at the pool, in order to make sure we got our sunbeds. They have the space for more sunbeds on the grassy areas so they should buy some more.

I would recommend this hotel, it is fantastic, I would give it an excellent if it improved its facilities for children and its sunbed provision. As there are problems with taxis in the evening in the peak summer months I also think it should consider providing a minibus facility into Albufeira for those people who don't want to spend every evening in the hotel, or waste time waiting in the hotel for a taxi. Having said all that, if you want a quiet holiday near the pool and the beach, particularly off season then none of those negative points would apply. Despite some minor negative points, we would still consider going back, and our kids loved the pool, the beach and the restaurant. The hotel is very well managed and well run with friendly staff, and you will have a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seaview, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Alfagar.

We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them as our guest’s satisfaction is our main priority.

With regards to the Sunbeds this is a general problem and we are no exception, people will not obey the rules displayed on boards, however, we have increased the number of sunbeds available and imposed a system that the towels will be removed if not in use for more than 1 hour.

We hope you will give us the opportunity of serving you in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co.roscommon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

OUR 5th time back here and I have to say it gets better ever time.
travelled with my Husband 2 children 9 and 7 and family friend 20, OUR apartment had a sea view lovely to wake up and just look out as such beauty, SO quiet and peaceful on the grounds
Loads of families so lots of kids to play at the play ground or play football every night there was a match all kids gathered and just joined in no matter what language they spoke.
Right beside the beach small walk down steps to lovely long beach Food was great Apartment spotless, staff was so friendly great with the kids . shop on grounds and another 2 min down the road every thing you need in one place my kids don't like to leave the grounds everything the want and need is here . wont be asking where I am going next year love it

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank breege d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a comment with regards to your stay with us.

I have shared your valuable feedback with my team members and can assure you that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service you have come to expect.

We are very delighted that our hotel is your favorite we are determined to keep it this way.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a 10 night stay at Alfagar returning home on 4th August and we are already planning our visit next year. The apartment was very spacious, comfortable and extremely clean. The facilities were great for our kids aged 11 and 8, the location was also perfect with a 25-30 min walk into the strip or a 5 minute taxi ride to the old town for 5 euro's. We ate at the pool bar a few times which was fine, my son has coeliac disease and they were accommodating with his gluten free diet. The restaurant 5 mins from the hotel Martins was also really nice, we ate there twice during our stay. This was our 4th time coming to The Algarve and this aparthotel has been the best so far.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a comment with regards to your stay with us
It encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests.
We are very delighted that our hotel is your favorite we are determined to keep it this way.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We wanted a special holiday this year as i had just turned 40, so booked a holiday at the alfagar 11 apartments in the algarve, so pleased i did it was great. Everything about it was spot on, food cleanliness, staff, facilities. We stayed in room 509 which had a GREAT pool and sea view. So pleased with the beach nearby which was a beautiful stroll down some steps, not quite so enjoyable walking back up in the heat though!!! Me hubby and our two boys would love to go back there again sometime soon!!!

Room Tip: Room 509 has great pool and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dionne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review and honest feedback regarding your stay at Alfagar.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and remark the location of the hotel.
Our aim is to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service and the best possible accommodation always.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed in room 403, huge 2 bed apartment with large balcony but due to an uncompleted building opposite it was not quite the best sea view. The accommodation was immaculate and perfect for our family of four, only recommendation would be to perhaps offer more than the basic utensils and dishwasher!
The whole complex is very well maintained with several large pools, smaller kid friendly areas and a few bars dotted around, we never sampled the restaurants but the bar food was basic burger type fare, best to head down the road where there are plenty option.
The beach is really beautiful, small but clean with soft sand and nearby activities on hand.
We had friends staying in Alfagar 1 which actually has more character in my opinion, we found the two main pools here to be quieter than those at A11, it's also nearer to the wifi bar.
Big bonus for us is the football pitch which was always in use either for footie or as a hangout area for the boys, regular games with the Dutch who were the main contingent when we stayed.
We payed the small charge for additional key which allowed ourselves and two kids 12 & 9 a wee bit more freedom without worrying about losing a key.
The cleaning and bar staff were fantastic throughout the resort and helped make a memorable holiday.My recommendation would be for a teenage area with wifi and music
Final word goes to the management, I lost my wallet which they found and then arranged delivery to my home for 19 euros, what a service!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craigivar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind and informative review. Your comments have been taken onboard as part of our continuing efforts to improve the service to our guests
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.9 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.9 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.0 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Property: Alfagar II Aparthotel
Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing