We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you wanted to, you could enjoy your vacation without even leaving the property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We just returned from a quick vacation to the Albufeira region and stayed at the Alfargar II Aparthotel. We were extremely please with our stay, from check in to check out! The rooms were very spacious, quiet, clean and well equipped. The property was very nicely landscaped and there were several pools (some salt water, some fresh) to choose from, and access to the beach too! There was a supermarket and several restaurants (we only ate at the outdoor cafe near the pool) and everything was surprisingly inexpensive and delicious! The breakfast buffet for 8E looked HUGE and very fresh, but we had brought our own breakfast with us. We have no complaints!! If anything, I wish either they had, or we had brought, a few kitchen towels or cloths for washing dishes, or perhaps some dish soap so we didn't have to buy any from the store for our 3 day stay!

Room Tip: We had Room 321 which overlooked the tennis courts and had a sea view. Very pretty!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivingtheGoodLife3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review.

We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guest's satisfaction is our main priority.

Just a small note, our swimming pools are all fresh water.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
There are newer reviews for Alfagar II Aparthotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Returned yesterday from 14 wonderful nights at the Alfagar. We were put in room 210 which was the same as last year-nice touch. Hotel once again spotless, the staff are just superb. Rooms are spacious and well-equipped.Special mention to Miguel. What a kind, funny, hardworking man. Nothing is too much trouble and he instantly recognised us from the moment we walked into the bar. It's people like Miguel that really make you want to book again. Ricardo and Reuben were also exceptional. We ate twice at the three Maria's which is a 10 min walk to the right of the hotel. Fabulous food. Portegese steak very good and waiters are superb. People have moaned about waiting for taxis but we never waited more than 5 mins, we found them so much more efficient than last year. Algos d' Agua is a must. Fratellie's restaurant is excellent. Small quiet resort but lovely restaurants and beach. I'd recommend slide and splash, great fun day out. We hired a car for 3 days and visited the Monchique Mountains, definitely worth a visit, incredible view at the top. Tavira is also a beautiful old town which is worth visiting. Old castle and churches plus lovely square and restaurants.

In summary, we had a wonderful holiday. The hotel and pool area are extremely well kept and it has a lovely relaxed feel to it.... even in August. My son of 9 thoroughly enjoyed the football pitch and made some good friends. My daughter of 6 loved it all and cried when we left. So, thank you Alfagar...we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a comment with regards to your stay with us.

I have shared your valuable feedback with my team members and can assure you that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service you have come to expect.

We are very delighted that our hotel is your favorite we are determined to keep it this way.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from our first stay with kids to Portugal. The whole experience was brilliant from the minute we stepped on to the plane and arrived at the hotel. At the hotel we were greeted warmly by a receptionist and advised we had been given a room upgrade to seaview. Our apartment was fantastic had everything you could want including iron and a tv that had a built in dvd player which was great for the kids in the evening. We had a corner room (no. 322) and the balcony was massive with a lovely view over the Alfagar village and the sea. We only ate at the pool bar (it was ok nothing special) but the bar staff are lovely we also ate at the Bouganvilla Bar (sorry spelt incorrectly) this is in the Alfagar village around 2 mins walk from the main hotel it had a lovely play area for the kids and the food was nice and great value. The kids pool at the main hotel is brilliant and is suitable for kids of all ages there is also another playground behind this. The lifeguard here was brilliant and helped our two boys coming down the big slides so that we were at the end to catch them safely. All the staff are fantastic although the reception staff could learn something from the rest of the staff - a smile here or there wouldnt go amiss! Also the hotel was spotless, constantly being cleaned. The only negative that i could see if that there should be more entertainment for the kids. They did have a bird show one night for the children which they all loved. It is around a 10 min taxi ride from the old town and costs approx 8euro. The hotel does provide a shuttle bus into the old town for 1euro but only does 3 trips throughout the day - 2 in the morning and 1 in the afternoon. But only does 2 return trips last one returning at 3pm. But dont let this put you off the hotel is in a fabulous area close to the beach with fantastic facilities. We are definitely returning next year!

Room Tip: If you have children be aware that there is music every night in the main bar in the hotel so if you...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katherina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor your feedback about your recently visit to Alfagar.

It is a thrill to read that you had a wonderful family holiday with us and your kind words about the apartments and facilities are highly appreciated. We are glad to know that we were able to exceed your expectations

We look forward to welcome you once again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just returned from our first stay in Portugal. On arrival at hotel we were warmly welcomed our room had a sea view and was lovely, very big, with a big balcony. The room was well equipped and very clean. The hotel had a number of pools which were very nice. The hotel was extremely clean and well kept. The only downside was that the town was a taxi ride away and would have been nice to have free wifi on the main complex.

Room Tip: Not to have a room by the bars
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a comment with regards to your stay with us
It encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 nights. Been home 2 weeks and still have holiday blues.
Beautiful hotel, very spacious rooms. So so clean always a cleaner cleaning something!! Staff very friendly nothing any trouble. We was self catering but did eat at hotel and food was very nice. Kids loved it and made lots of friends. Only bad point was could do with some childrens entertainment but hasn't put us off we will definitely be going back next year!! Can't wait!!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Serenabunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Dear guest, thank you for your review, your comments have been taken on board.

Glad to know our staff did their best to ensure your stay was as pleasant as possible.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Firstly the positives - the apartments at this hotel are fantastic, really spacious and clean and well equipped, and I said 'wow' when I walked into the room, I paid extra for a seaview, which I recommend, even though the sea is quite far off, our balcony had a lovely view. The rooms are also amazingly sound proofed and private.

The kids pool is great, though it is rather cold, we were here in August in temperatures of 30 degrees and yet my 5 year old could barely stay in for 15 minutes without getting cold (If you have little ones, bring one of those thermal wetsuit vests with you, particularly if you are coming in more temperate months). We also liked the low-key nature of this resort, it's quite quiet - even at night - and is good for people with young families as it doesn't have a rowdy drunken contingent and is also very cosmopolitan (lots of Dutch, German and French guests) which is great if you want to get away from 'Brits abroad' and feel like you've gone away from the UK.

We came on a self catering basis but we ate in the hotel 4 times and found the buffet great value, the kids loved the desserts and there was something for everyone. I am incredibly snobby about food and food hygiene and I can say that the food was really nice and none of us got any kind of upset tummy even though we ate salad, seafood etc and I really trusted the hygiene standards. As hotel buffets go, it's a really superior one.

The hotel has step access to a lovely beach, Santa Eulalia, and our kids really loved it there. There is also a fantastic restaurant called O Pescador on the beach which is amazing for a special meal in the evening. The steps aren't too steep and are ok except for people with mobility difficulties. Having a beach so close, is a real plus, and it's not that busy even in August.

Moving on to some of the negatives...I stayed in Alfagar I (the sister apartments in the same location) over 20 years ago and it was very easy to get a taxi into Albufeira. This is no longer the case. If you want to go into town during August, be prepared to wait up to an hour in the evening. It is also expensive to get into the Old Town (8 Euros each way). Albufeira old town is now as horrible as the Strip was 20 years ago and is not a place to take young children in the evening (they used to have fishing boats on the beach in the evening now all you can hear are the thump thump thump of the discos on the party boats). It has lost all of its character and has been developed to the point where it's actually unpleasant to walk around,. So, if you want a holiday that involves getting out of the hotel in the evening,and you have young children, then this may not be the place for you. Similarly, there is not much entertainment for young children in the hotel - except a couple of half hearted animal shows that involve someone putting a snake around people's necks then asking for you to buy the photos afterwards. In some ways, it's nice not to have kids club entertainment blaring out all the time (and unlike some people we actually want to spend time with our kids on holiday instead of dumping them at a kids club), but if would be really good if the hotel could put some events on for children in high season, or expand its very small games room area.

One other issue that did mar our enjoyment of our stay was the lack of sunbeds. For the first 4 days we were there the hotel did not enforce its 'no reservation of sunbeds' regulation and all the sunbeds were taken by 9am every day, often by people who did not return to their sunbed until the middle of the afternoon. On our 5th and 6th day someone did remove the towels from some of the beds and put notices on the sunbeds. However, I do think that in addition to doing this the hotel still needs to provide more sunbeds in peak season, as even when the lady was removing towels it was still hard to get a sunbed for our family of four. It made the holiday a bit stressful as we had to get up early if we wanted to be at the pool, in order to make sure we got our sunbeds. They have the space for more sunbeds on the grassy areas so they should buy some more.

I would recommend this hotel, it is fantastic, I would give it an excellent if it improved its facilities for children and its sunbed provision. As there are problems with taxis in the evening in the peak summer months I also think it should consider providing a minibus facility into Albufeira for those people who don't want to spend every evening in the hotel, or waste time waiting in the hotel for a taxi. Having said all that, if you want a quiet holiday near the pool and the beach, particularly off season then none of those negative points would apply. Despite some minor negative points, we would still consider going back, and our kids loved the pool, the beach and the restaurant. The hotel is very well managed and well run with friendly staff, and you will have a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seaview, you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Alfagar.

We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them as our guest’s satisfaction is our main priority.

With regards to the Sunbeds this is a general problem and we are no exception, people will not obey the rules displayed on boards, however, we have increased the number of sunbeds available and imposed a system that the towels will be removed if not in use for more than 1 hour.

We hope you will give us the opportunity of serving you in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

OUR 5th time back here and I have to say it gets better ever time.
travelled with my Husband 2 children 9 and 7 and family friend 20, OUR apartment had a sea view lovely to wake up and just look out as such beauty, SO quiet and peaceful on the grounds
Loads of families so lots of kids to play at the play ground or play football every night there was a match all kids gathered and just joined in no matter what language they spoke.
Right beside the beach small walk down steps to lovely long beach Food was great Apartment spotless, staff was so friendly great with the kids . shop on grounds and another 2 min down the road every thing you need in one place my kids don't like to leave the grounds everything the want and need is here . wont be asking where I am going next year love it

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank breege d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a comment with regards to your stay with us.

I have shared your valuable feedback with my team members and can assure you that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage them to maintain and improve on the service you have come to expect.

We are very delighted that our hotel is your favorite we are determined to keep it this way.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
994 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
233 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,774 reviews
1.6 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £42 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfagar II Aparthotel has an unbeatable location overlooking the sea. Together with the Alfagar village, set in a beautiful 11 ha property of gardens and cliff formations (a protected area of natural beauty), with spectacular views along the coastline. Situated in the center of the Algarve, in Balaia area just between the villages of Albufeira and Olhos de Água. Composed of 90 modern, comfortable apartments in a modern 5-storey building. Alfagar II Aparthotel is ideal for families, with his wide range of facilities, such as a children’s pool with slides and splash area, and for all those seeking a quality holiday in a quiet setting, while remaining within easy reach of shops and lively night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing