We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing room - not quite the 5 star hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Salgados Dunas Suites
Ranked #21 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Things got off to a bad start when I was taken to a small, cramped ground floor room in block 2 - it was so small that you couldn't open the wardrobe doors properly and overlooked a grassy bank. When I complained and said that I had booked a sea-view room I was told that they only had a note of a standard room and this was the only one available unless I wanted to pay another 100 euros. I got the distinct impression that I wasn't the first person to complain about this room as when I mentioned the wardrobe doors they offered to come and remove the bed side table so that they could open properly - they also said all standard rooms were exactly the same size which I later found out wasn't in fact the case (the other rooms I was later moved to had wardrobes in the hall not in the main room). Fair enough it was Jet 2's fault as they had not confirmed this on their booking with the hotel and it took me a day and a half to sort it out however it would have been nice if the hotel could have taken my word for it and moved us to a better room right away - especially as the trip was an early birthday present for my 75 year old mother. When I refused to stay in the ground floor room (even if I had only booked a normal standard room I wouldn't have been happy with this room) they eventually moved us to a slightly larger standard room overlooking the road which we had to stay in for one night before eventually being moved to a sea-view room (the road was surprisingly noisy for such a quiet resort) . It might sound minor but when you are only on a four night break little things matter. The rest of the hotel is nice although very basic and minimal in design (more like a city travel-lodge than a luxury hotel) - there is a great choice of food for breakfast but similar to other reviewers the hot food was never actually hot and the grill for toast took forever to actually brown the bread. The showers were great (though would have been nice to have a bath too). The grounds and swimming pools were lovely and the beach (reached by a wooden walkway) was fantastic. Not many nearby places to eat if you don't want to stay in the hotel (many are 20 minutes walk away which is fine for most people but not great for elderly or less mobile travellers). Also no local bus service into nearby towns (apart from the sight seeing tourist bus which costs the same as a taxi). Didn't eat dinner in the hotel apart from snacks and thought the nightly buffets were a bit expensive at 25 euros per person - all in all I think it is the location and the outdoor areas of this hotel which really sell it - the staff were also very helpful

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms and ask for one overlooking the rear of the hotel rather than the road at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyhoundgirlGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Really pleased with the comfort, size of the rooms. Fabulous sea view. Hotel decor bland, beige and brown. I didn't realize how much colour affected your mood until daughters age 11 and 16 said they preffered swimming in a blue pool all nine pools brown. Beatiful beach 10 Euros for parasol and two beds.Recommend half hour de-stress massage on the beach cost 25 euros. Buffet breakfast and staff excellent. No evening music or entertainment at the hotel. Evening meals where a bit of a let down we travelled out most days to Albuferia or the marina at Villamoura. Last night found a great local italian Prima Pasta - would highly recommend. Hire Car definitely required if you visit this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hannah4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I visited wanted relaxing week following my recent heart attack and we got just the job. Starting with the cons - well that's done there were none. Now for the positives. From the moment we arrived until we left Pedro the front of office manager and all the staff in reception, restaurant, bar and domestic treated us with kindness and total professionalism at all times. They clearly take a pride in the service they provide and take a genuine interest in ensuring everyone has a positive experience from their stay. The facilities were spotless and range of meals provided varied and should have suited everyone's needs.
Outside the 9 pools gave loads of room for everyone and towels were provided daily for use around the pool or at the beach, a mere stroll away. We had some lovely walks along and around the beach and around the Gale village area.
overall one of the best hotels we have stayed at for comfort and relaxation. if you want an upbeat holiday this may not be the one for you but then everyone's taste is different.
Thanks again Pedro for looking after us so well and hope to visit again soon.

Jim and jane

Room Tip: We had a suite facing the road but unlike many hotels passing noise was non existent even for a ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThomasH1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel in May 2014, just after Easter so it was relatively quiet and we had a fantastic time. We travelled as 2 adults with a 3 year old and a baby. We stayed in one of the junior suites which is of excellent size and well proportioned. Also perfect with a baby if you don't want too much time in the sun. Personally we requested a ground or first floor room as we felt the 4th floor was too high. The staff were fantastic, pools were clean (although not heated) and the beach was a 5 minute walk, very quiet and clean so fantastic for children. Our only gripes were the pool bar which was not in operation as it was deemed out of season and wifi was sporadic in the room but did work. The food could be better. All things considered we will return to this hotel at some stage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 141Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I loved this hotel. The staff were wonderful, could not be more helpful. From the very beginning, they arranged for us to be picked up at the airport by a lovely and very helpful driver, then we were upgraded to a huge suite when we arrived. The pools are stunning and as it was a short break we spent most of the time in the hotel and surrounding beach. Breakfast was great, huge selection. We had lunch and drinks at the hotel and went to a nearby beach restaurant in the evenings for dinner. The hotel is spotless, the staff are so attentive and I really would recommend this hotel, especially if you are looking to chill out for a few days.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BonnieHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A highlight of our trip to Spain and Portugal. This magnificent resort allowed us to spread out (a family of 5 with adult children) in our 3 bedroom/3 bath suite. Great views and elaborate breakfast included in the rate. Highly recommended!!

Would return to Portugal if only to spend more time here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sstefenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from an excellent week at the CS Salgados Dunas Suites! We stayed in a two bedroom suite, 2 adults 1 12 year old boy. All the staff were very attentive at all times making sure we were relaxed as possible. Arjen was a credit to the staff very attentive at breakfast or at the pool bar.
We have been to this part of the Algarve over 50 times and have stayed in all types of accommodation but the last 3 years we have taken to the CS range of Hotels. I don't think we will be returning to self catering villas or apartments.

Room Tip: top floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#18 of 154 in Albufeira
1,026 reviews
8.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,170 reviews
7.6 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salgados Palace
Salgados Palace
#30 of 154 in Albufeira
912 reviews
8.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salgados Dunas Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Dunas Suites

Address: Herdade dos Salgados | Rua Boca da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £78 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Salgados Dunas Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a unique location on the dunes at Salgados beach, close to Albufeira, Salgados Dunas Suites offers guests an authentic oasis atmosphere in lush, extensive gardens, with nine attractive swimming pools nestling amid palm and olive trees. The hotel comprises six adjoining buildings located on the dunes and offering magnificent views over one of the region’s most beautiful beaches from the privacy of your suite’s spacious balcony. Here, you can truly relax and enjoy the wonderful sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Salgados Dunas Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Salgados Dunas Hotel Albufeira
Salgados Dunas Suites Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing