We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Salgados Dunas Suites
Ranked #20 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel ”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at Salgados Dunas Suites. The rooms are modern and are spacious and comfortable. The showers were particularly excellent with a "rain" shower head. The rooms were cleaned daily and were immaculate. The quality of the duvets was again, top notch.

The resort has excellent facilities - a choice of 9 different pools meant things were never too packed. The boardwalk to the beach was also lovely for walks. The main beach is a spotlessly clean wide beach, again, never too packed.

The staff old not have been nicer. I received a lovely surprise from the staff on my birthday - A really generous and friendly touch.

We enjoyed the breakfast every morning as it was well presented, fresh and nicely varied.

I would recommend a rental car if you want access to Albufeira. Equally if you want to be on holidays for pubs and clubs then I would suggest somewhere closer to Albufeira. If you like great facilities, friendly staff, a relaxed atmosphere and beautiful unspoilt beaches, then I would not hesitate in recommending the Salgados Dunas Suites.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J_K_H_Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    193
    69
    23
    14
See reviews for
273
209
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were a group of four. My husband and I, our ten month old son, and my dad. We booked half board for one week returning home on 15th June. We booked the accommodation ourselves direct with them due to having specific requirements, a travel cot, a bath, and a room close to amenities for my dad who suffers with breathing difficulties.

We arrived at half seven in the evening and waited a couple of hours for a travel cot, so didn't get off to a good start as someone was very tired. There wasn't a bath. The three bedroom apartment we had, room 1410, had three en-suites and were all showers only. When i emailed the hotel about this I wasn't sure if they understood my question, that we would prefer a bath for our ten month old, so we decided to just go with it as everything else looked like it catered for our needs. It wasn't ideal but it was something we only had to live with for a week. It was in the same building as reception, the bar, the kids club and the restaurant so not far for my dad. Great, that is what we asked for.

The music/entertainment wasnt the best but there was something live every night. As we were right above it was extremely loud but thankfully our bedrooms were at the front of the hotel, on the road side, and it didnt disturb our sleep. Balcony was fantastic, facing the pools and sea. Lounge area and kitchenette were massive. Downside was we had a dishwasher, a sink, a microwave, a hob, but no cutlery, plates, pots, pans??? Really dont understand what all that was about. We were half board and would have appreciated the option to cook things if we wanted for our lunch especially for my son. This proved even further to be annoying as the food in the restaurant on an evening was awful. The most disappointing part of the whole stay was the food throughout the hotel and the fact we had a kitchenette and couldnt use that either. The food was cold, even when we were the first there waiting for the doors to open at 7:30pm, and the meat was all overdone and dry. We came away hungry. Breakfast was fine, as plenty of choice, and what i would expect, although often cold again.

The lunch time menu was fine, reasonable choice and prices. We tried the bar a couple of times and waited getting on for an hour for the food and they also managed to forget part of our order. It wasnt even busy. We tried the pool bar for lunch a couple of other days. The wait was even longer and the food was cold when we did get it. We waited an hour and a half for our food. We would have liked dessert but didnt want to wait and waste our afternoon. It was extremely busy. The staff were lovely but couldnt cope with the demand. Not sure if that was the kitchen or the waiting staff but the orders were coming out wrong and in the wrong order. Lots or irate customers. Its such a shame as the food would be lovely and the surroundings are nice but service diabolical.

We tried the steak restaurant (pool bar) one evening and booked 7:30pm, first ones there. We didnt realise until we spoke to reception about our half board needs not working (due to the restaurant opening at 7:30 when our ten month old wanted to be going to bed) that included in half board is 25 Euros each towards a meal at the steak restaurant. We were glad we used it as it was the best meal all week. Fantastic. Quick, hot, steak how we liked it. Just lovely.

Lack of information was certainly an issue. No info in room about what half board included, what entertainment was on in an evening, what was on for the kids, what the kitchenette was for, when check out time was, where you can use the internet. No general information whatsoever. We thought they had perhaps missed our room but it seems other people have left reviews saying the same.

We also had a problem with our air conditioning which was only resolved the third night after reporting it. It was in our bedroom only. It smelt of drains/damp whether it was switched on or off. Sleeping in it was unpleasant. There was no communication as to whether they had looked at resolving it, and it hadnt worked, and they needed to try something else. We just kept asking, and our final night it was resolved.

We hired a car as knew it was in an area where we would benefit from doing that. So that wasn't a problem. The beach looked great. It was a little too far for my dad so didn't get to walk along to see what was further up the beach. The rooms were clean and staff were pleasant, but just somehow badly managed. A real lack of communication in places. For the money we paid we we were disappointed and would not return there again. We have been to Portugal four times now and will return to one of the other hotels but not this one. It is a shame as all the issues are resolvable.

Room Tip: If you dont want to hear loud entertainment in an evening or be near a noisy kitchen, restaurant, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonnaP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Don't book unless you are a family staying full board, love staying by the pool or just beach, rent a car or play golf all day. Cooked food barely warm and charges €25 for poor choice buffet each, unhelpful reception staff, noisy hotel.Storage for clothes was rediculous, 1 drawer each and had to be 6ft to reach hangers in wardrobe. Thankfully took spare hangers because dresses wouldnt stay put, made for mens suits! Most clothes remained in suitcase. Poor entertainment, no communication about what was on and when. Information about menu was in lift! Room was booked as garden view but faced road. No where close by to visit, long walk to local restaurants, you will need a cab to get anywhere decent. On the positive note, lots of clean towels for room, pool or beach, bed comfortable, clean hotel but decor a bit too uniform. Plenty of room around pool, lots of entertainment for kids, beaches were amazing and after investigating found a lovely beach restaurant. Taxi to Albuferia main town area, over 20 minute drive away. If you book daytrips, there is a very helpful agent in town,much cheaper than hotel booking it for you. Good value restaurants there too.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms dont all have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Things got off to a bad start when I was taken to a small, cramped ground floor room in block 2 - it was so small that you couldn't open the wardrobe doors properly and overlooked a grassy bank. When I complained and said that I had booked a sea-view room I was told that they only had a note of a standard room and this was the only one available unless I wanted to pay another 100 euros. I got the distinct impression that I wasn't the first person to complain about this room as when I mentioned the wardrobe doors they offered to come and remove the bed side table so that they could open properly - they also said all standard rooms were exactly the same size which I later found out wasn't in fact the case (the other rooms I was later moved to had wardrobes in the hall not in the main room). Fair enough it was Jet 2's fault as they had not confirmed this on their booking with the hotel and it took me a day and a half to sort it out however it would have been nice if the hotel could have taken my word for it and moved us to a better room right away - especially as the trip was an early birthday present for my 75 year old mother. When I refused to stay in the ground floor room (even if I had only booked a normal standard room I wouldn't have been happy with this room) they eventually moved us to a slightly larger standard room overlooking the road which we had to stay in for one night before eventually being moved to a sea-view room (the road was surprisingly noisy for such a quiet resort) . It might sound minor but when you are only on a four night break little things matter. The rest of the hotel is nice although very basic and minimal in design (more like a city travel-lodge than a luxury hotel) - there is a great choice of food for breakfast but similar to other reviewers the hot food was never actually hot and the grill for toast took forever to actually brown the bread. The showers were great (though would have been nice to have a bath too). The grounds and swimming pools were lovely and the beach (reached by a wooden walkway) was fantastic. Not many nearby places to eat if you don't want to stay in the hotel (many are 20 minutes walk away which is fine for most people but not great for elderly or less mobile travellers). Also no local bus service into nearby towns (apart from the sight seeing tourist bus which costs the same as a taxi). Didn't eat dinner in the hotel apart from snacks and thought the nightly buffets were a bit expensive at 25 euros per person - all in all I think it is the location and the outdoor areas of this hotel which really sell it - the staff were also very helpful

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms and ask for one overlooking the rear of the hotel rather than the road at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyhoundgirlGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Really pleased with the comfort, size of the rooms. Fabulous sea view. Hotel decor bland, beige and brown. I didn't realize how much colour affected your mood until daughters age 11 and 16 said they preffered swimming in a blue pool all nine pools brown. Beatiful beach 10 Euros for parasol and two beds.Recommend half hour de-stress massage on the beach cost 25 euros. Buffet breakfast and staff excellent. No evening music or entertainment at the hotel. Evening meals where a bit of a let down we travelled out most days to Albuferia or the marina at Villamoura. Last night found a great local italian Prima Pasta - would highly recommend. Hire Car definitely required if you visit this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hannah4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I visited wanted relaxing week following my recent heart attack and we got just the job. Starting with the cons - well that's done there were none. Now for the positives. From the moment we arrived until we left Pedro the front of office manager and all the staff in reception, restaurant, bar and domestic treated us with kindness and total professionalism at all times. They clearly take a pride in the service they provide and take a genuine interest in ensuring everyone has a positive experience from their stay. The facilities were spotless and range of meals provided varied and should have suited everyone's needs.
Outside the 9 pools gave loads of room for everyone and towels were provided daily for use around the pool or at the beach, a mere stroll away. We had some lovely walks along and around the beach and around the Gale village area.
overall one of the best hotels we have stayed at for comfort and relaxation. if you want an upbeat holiday this may not be the one for you but then everyone's taste is different.
Thanks again Pedro for looking after us so well and hope to visit again soon.

Jim and jane

Room Tip: We had a suite facing the road but unlike many hotels passing noise was non existent even for a ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomasH1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel in May 2014, just after Easter so it was relatively quiet and we had a fantastic time. We travelled as 2 adults with a 3 year old and a baby. We stayed in one of the junior suites which is of excellent size and well proportioned. Also perfect with a baby if you don't want too much time in the sun. Personally we requested a ground or first floor room as we felt the 4th floor was too high. The staff were fantastic, pools were clean (although not heated) and the beach was a 5 minute walk, very quiet and clean so fantastic for children. Our only gripes were the pool bar which was not in operation as it was deemed out of season and wifi was sporadic in the room but did work. The food could be better. All things considered we will return to this hotel at some stage.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 141Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
8.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,071 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#17 of 154 in Albufeira
945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salgados Palace
Salgados Palace
#26 of 154 in Albufeira
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
2.4 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,092 reviews
7.6 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salgados Dunas Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Dunas Suites

Property: Salgados Dunas Suites
Address: Herdade dos Salgados | Rua Boca da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Salgados Dunas Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the dunes of Salgados Beach, your holiday suites enjoy a fantastic tropical atmosphere, surrounded by extensive palm tree gardens. And it's precisely among the palm trees, with the sea in the horizon that you will be able to enjoy all the facilities the resort has to offer. Among others, you will find the 9 swimming pools, with direct access to the beach. Relax and enjoy the cuisine of Bossa Nova Restaurant, as well the cocktails at the Jazz Lobby Bar, fit for those cheerful nights spent with friends. When walking the short distance that separates the hotel from the beach, make the most of the wooden pathway, which can take you all the way into the nature reserve. For children, the Kids Club features a range of entertainment activities to assure your little ones have a fun filled time. This oasis is equipped with everything you need to enjoy your holiday with the utmost well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Salgados Dunas Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Salgados Dunas Hotel Albufeira
Salgados Dunas Suites Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing