We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Salgados Dunas Suites
Ranked #21 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from a week here. Brilliant I do not honestly know what other reviewers are complaining about. The beach is amazing and less than 5 minutes walk away. The 9 pools are fabulous. Black tiles .... so what! They are clean and all different depths ideal for families. Staff on hand all the time to clear up any mess. Towels supplied every day for beach and pools. Palm trees everywhere.... amazing place. As for the rooms, we had a classic suite... OMG how big was it... enormous. We travelled with my two boys (11 and 14). Everyone had a twin room with ensuite. Contempory furnishing which suited us totally. Kitchen facilities (nb no plates, pots etc), television, Maid service every day, balconies front and back. We were in block 5 i would recommend it! We were half board buffet breakfast and dinner with a good supply of different foods to cater for all tastes... NOT COLD! We bought plastic plates and cutlery from the supermarket for lunches.. ...lovely rolls available and local delicacies. Ok so there is not much nightlife if thats what you are looking for... we were not... but there is something different every night... i.e. relaing singer in the bar etc. Wonderful friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. It is quiet, i.e. shops, pubs etc... but it is wonderful and we loved it.

I would 100% recommend this place !

Room Tip: Sea view is great but you have a balcony both sides. Block 1 is above bar so may be noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank avril b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently and from the minute we arrived to the time we left we could not fault the staff. They were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them.The location is fantastic just a short stroll over the boardwalk to the wonderful beach. At breakfast and the evening meal there was a good selection of food and the service was excellant. Our only problem is that we had to come home after 7 days. Will certainly recommend this hotel to all our friends.This is a great hotel for a totally relaxing break.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room on the 3rd floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at CS Salgados Dunas Suite Hotel and we loved it. Totally relaxing venue and excellent customer care.
Our room wasn't huge but had everything we needed. The balcony overlooked the bar and had fabulous views of the pools and sea. The beds were really comfortable and the beds and towels were changed daily. The shower was really good - choose from an overhead shower or hand held shower. Lots of complimentary goodies in the bathroom as well as slippers and bathrobe.
The beach/pool towel service was brilliant. Pick up your towels in the morning for the day - they can be used on the sunbeds around the pool or taken to the beach. The pools (9 in total) were lovely and loads of sunbeds - it never felt busy around the pool.
We had bed & breakfast and the choice at breakfast was amazing. Hot choice including eggs cooked every way imaginable, bacon, mushrooms, beans, hash browns, tomatoes, meats, cheeses, smoked salmon or pastries, breads, jams and sauces, fruit of every description, cereals, toast and yoghurts. Fresh fruit juice and tea or coffee. Something for everyone and more! The guy who serves the coffee was very entertaining and friendly! We had a wonderful meal at the Steak Bar at the poolside and, although it was quite expensive, it was really good. There is an Italian restaurant in the village, about 10 mins walk, which is also worth a visit - Bellavita.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them - a credit to the hotel.
There isn't a village close to the hotel but there is a supermarket up the road which is really well stocked and further on from Bellavita is a bar that is brilliant value for money serving excellent food - Planet Fusion. We hired a car for a day to explore the mountains which aren't too far away and found some beautiful beaches along the coast.
We wouldn't hesitate to book again and would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane_E_Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at Salgados Dunas Suites. The rooms are modern and are spacious and comfortable. The showers were particularly excellent with a "rain" shower head. The rooms were cleaned daily and were immaculate. The quality of the duvets was again, top notch.

The resort has excellent facilities - a choice of 9 different pools meant things were never too packed. The boardwalk to the beach was also lovely for walks. The main beach is a spotlessly clean wide beach, again, never too packed.

The staff old not have been nicer. I received a lovely surprise from the staff on my birthday - A really generous and friendly touch.

We enjoyed the breakfast every morning as it was well presented, fresh and nicely varied.

I would recommend a rental car if you want access to Albufeira. Equally if you want to be on holidays for pubs and clubs then I would suggest somewhere closer to Albufeira. If you like great facilities, friendly staff, a relaxed atmosphere and beautiful unspoilt beaches, then I would not hesitate in recommending the Salgados Dunas Suites.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank J_K_H_Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were a group of four. My husband and I, our ten month old son, and my dad. We booked half board for one week returning home on 15th June. We booked the accommodation ourselves direct with them due to having specific requirements, a travel cot, a bath, and a room close to amenities for my dad who suffers with breathing difficulties.

We arrived at half seven in the evening and waited a couple of hours for a travel cot, so didn't get off to a good start as someone was very tired. There wasn't a bath. The three bedroom apartment we had, room 1410, had three en-suites and were all showers only. When i emailed the hotel about this I wasn't sure if they understood my question, that we would prefer a bath for our ten month old, so we decided to just go with it as everything else looked like it catered for our needs. It wasn't ideal but it was something we only had to live with for a week. It was in the same building as reception, the bar, the kids club and the restaurant so not far for my dad. Great, that is what we asked for.

The music/entertainment wasnt the best but there was something live every night. As we were right above it was extremely loud but thankfully our bedrooms were at the front of the hotel, on the road side, and it didnt disturb our sleep. Balcony was fantastic, facing the pools and sea. Lounge area and kitchenette were massive. Downside was we had a dishwasher, a sink, a microwave, a hob, but no cutlery, plates, pots, pans??? Really dont understand what all that was about. We were half board and would have appreciated the option to cook things if we wanted for our lunch especially for my son. This proved even further to be annoying as the food in the restaurant on an evening was awful. The most disappointing part of the whole stay was the food throughout the hotel and the fact we had a kitchenette and couldnt use that either. The food was cold, even when we were the first there waiting for the doors to open at 7:30pm, and the meat was all overdone and dry. We came away hungry. Breakfast was fine, as plenty of choice, and what i would expect, although often cold again.

The lunch time menu was fine, reasonable choice and prices. We tried the bar a couple of times and waited getting on for an hour for the food and they also managed to forget part of our order. It wasnt even busy. We tried the pool bar for lunch a couple of other days. The wait was even longer and the food was cold when we did get it. We waited an hour and a half for our food. We would have liked dessert but didnt want to wait and waste our afternoon. It was extremely busy. The staff were lovely but couldnt cope with the demand. Not sure if that was the kitchen or the waiting staff but the orders were coming out wrong and in the wrong order. Lots or irate customers. Its such a shame as the food would be lovely and the surroundings are nice but service diabolical.

We tried the steak restaurant (pool bar) one evening and booked 7:30pm, first ones there. We didnt realise until we spoke to reception about our half board needs not working (due to the restaurant opening at 7:30 when our ten month old wanted to be going to bed) that included in half board is 25 Euros each towards a meal at the steak restaurant. We were glad we used it as it was the best meal all week. Fantastic. Quick, hot, steak how we liked it. Just lovely.

Lack of information was certainly an issue. No info in room about what half board included, what entertainment was on in an evening, what was on for the kids, what the kitchenette was for, when check out time was, where you can use the internet. No general information whatsoever. We thought they had perhaps missed our room but it seems other people have left reviews saying the same.

We also had a problem with our air conditioning which was only resolved the third night after reporting it. It was in our bedroom only. It smelt of drains/damp whether it was switched on or off. Sleeping in it was unpleasant. There was no communication as to whether they had looked at resolving it, and it hadnt worked, and they needed to try something else. We just kept asking, and our final night it was resolved.

We hired a car as knew it was in an area where we would benefit from doing that. So that wasn't a problem. The beach looked great. It was a little too far for my dad so didn't get to walk along to see what was further up the beach. The rooms were clean and staff were pleasant, but just somehow badly managed. A real lack of communication in places. For the money we paid we we were disappointed and would not return there again. We have been to Portugal four times now and will return to one of the other hotels but not this one. It is a shame as all the issues are resolvable.

Room Tip: If you dont want to hear loud entertainment in an evening or be near a noisy kitchen, restaurant, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DonnaP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Don't book unless you are a family staying full board, love staying by the pool or just beach, rent a car or play golf all day. Cooked food barely warm and charges €25 for poor choice buffet each, unhelpful reception staff, noisy hotel.Storage for clothes was rediculous, 1 drawer each and had to be 6ft to reach hangers in wardrobe. Thankfully took spare hangers because dresses wouldnt stay put, made for mens suits! Most clothes remained in suitcase. Poor entertainment, no communication about what was on and when. Information about menu was in lift! Room was booked as garden view but faced road. No where close by to visit, long walk to local restaurants, you will need a cab to get anywhere decent. On the positive note, lots of clean towels for room, pool or beach, bed comfortable, clean hotel but decor a bit too uniform. Plenty of room around pool, lots of entertainment for kids, beaches were amazing and after investigating found a lovely beach restaurant. Taxi to Albuferia main town area, over 20 minute drive away. If you book daytrips, there is a very helpful agent in town,much cheaper than hotel booking it for you. Good value restaurants there too.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms dont all have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Things got off to a bad start when I was taken to a small, cramped ground floor room in block 2 - it was so small that you couldn't open the wardrobe doors properly and overlooked a grassy bank. When I complained and said that I had booked a sea-view room I was told that they only had a note of a standard room and this was the only one available unless I wanted to pay another 100 euros. I got the distinct impression that I wasn't the first person to complain about this room as when I mentioned the wardrobe doors they offered to come and remove the bed side table so that they could open properly - they also said all standard rooms were exactly the same size which I later found out wasn't in fact the case (the other rooms I was later moved to had wardrobes in the hall not in the main room). Fair enough it was Jet 2's fault as they had not confirmed this on their booking with the hotel and it took me a day and a half to sort it out however it would have been nice if the hotel could have taken my word for it and moved us to a better room right away - especially as the trip was an early birthday present for my 75 year old mother. When I refused to stay in the ground floor room (even if I had only booked a normal standard room I wouldn't have been happy with this room) they eventually moved us to a slightly larger standard room overlooking the road which we had to stay in for one night before eventually being moved to a sea-view room (the road was surprisingly noisy for such a quiet resort) . It might sound minor but when you are only on a four night break little things matter. The rest of the hotel is nice although very basic and minimal in design (more like a city travel-lodge than a luxury hotel) - there is a great choice of food for breakfast but similar to other reviewers the hot food was never actually hot and the grill for toast took forever to actually brown the bread. The showers were great (though would have been nice to have a bath too). The grounds and swimming pools were lovely and the beach (reached by a wooden walkway) was fantastic. Not many nearby places to eat if you don't want to stay in the hotel (many are 20 minutes walk away which is fine for most people but not great for elderly or less mobile travellers). Also no local bus service into nearby towns (apart from the sight seeing tourist bus which costs the same as a taxi). Didn't eat dinner in the hotel apart from snacks and thought the nightly buffets were a bit expensive at 25 euros per person - all in all I think it is the location and the outdoor areas of this hotel which really sell it - the staff were also very helpful

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms and ask for one overlooking the rear of the hotel rather than the road at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyhoundgirlGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,036 reviews
7.6 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,458 reviews
8.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,164 reviews
5.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
8.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salgados Dunas Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Dunas Suites

Address: Herdade dos Salgados | Rua Boca da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £78 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Salgados Dunas Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a unique location on the dunes at Salgados beach, close to Albufeira, Salgados Dunas Suites offers guests an authentic oasis atmosphere in lush, extensive gardens, with nine attractive swimming pools nestling amid palm and olive trees. The hotel comprises six adjoining buildings located on the dunes and offering magnificent views over one of the region’s most beautiful beaches from the privacy of your suite’s spacious balcony. Here, you can truly relax and enjoy the wonderful sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Salgados Dunas Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Salgados Dunas Hotel Albufeira
Salgados Dunas Suites Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing