We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Salgados Dunas Suites
Ranked #21 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Sunny Durham
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family Weekend Away”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Travelled here for the August bank holiday with my wife an 3 year old son. our suite on the 3rd floor and was massive with plenty of room for my son to run around and play in and was also sea facing (room 1304) which was great to watch the sunset but the only downside was it was right above the bar which wasn't noisy itself it was the live music practically every night from 8pm - 11pm was.
there are 9 pools, 6 adult and 3 children which are split up onto 3's (2 adult & 1 childrens) as the hotel is over 6 hotel blocks so they were never busy and you could always get a sun lounger. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff very helpful and spoke good english.
a trip to the beach was a walk down a manmade wooden walkway which took approx 5-6mins to walk to a nice beach (public) with plenty of sun loungers and also a massage tent.
There is a kids club for children which runs till late at night (11pm i think) which gives couples a chance to have some quailty time together and staff seemed attentive to the childrens needs.
The only little gripe i had was that you get towel tokens to use down by the pools where you have to go to the hut and exchange these for towels then at the end of the day take the towels back to redeem your tokens to use the next day.
all in all a great weekend break. would definately recomend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magsy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    193
    69
    23
    14
See reviews for
274
209
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had a family holiday here and arrived on 5 August and were greeted by ROBERTO (from reception) with his happy smily warm welcome from reception.. Our favourite member of staff!! All the staff throughout our stay were friendly, helpful, welcoming. Looking after us and our needs was their pleasure. We were in building 3 of 6, perfect. I love breafast which was great and so much variety, I loved the coffee and croissants my fav!!!!! The Michael Jackson entertainment nite was great and he was very good and got everyone engaged including the kids. Lunch in the Reggae pool bar was yummy quality and the fries yummmmmy!!!! The local people are very warm and friendly. Lots of good local eating places. Mr Singh's Indian restaurant in Gale, 10/15 minutes walk away do delicious tasty food which is top quality. Very family friendly, perfect hotel. The towels are brilliant white white!!!!!! Amazing clean uncrowded beach in august, location absolutely awesome and truly relaxing time we all had. We loved It and will definatelty go again and again:) Thank you Salgados Dunas Hotel :):)
Vadgama Family London

Room Tip: Rooms on 3/4 floors are better for sea views and hotel gardens and pools ...fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dixa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia (Spain)
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is new and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The lighting in the bathroom is not great and I did miss a box of tissues! The shower on the other hand was great and relaxing!
The pools were great and plenty of sunbeds available all day long (which is a big plus these days where in other hotels you need to get up early to reserve a sun-bed!). As for the buffet... It really was bland. We tried it the first night and was really horrible but tried the restaurant across the road (L14) which was fabulous Really recommend it. You get 25€ per person credit with which you can have a fantastic meal!
I would really recommend this hotel except for the buffet.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 1 and was a little noisy specially in the mornings when the restaurant would t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elena1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The place is amazing and a perfect spot for a holiday-total relax.
Place: the Salgados Dunas Suite is part of a huge complex with 2 5 star hotel, golf course, self catering apartments and private villas, at the Salgados beach. The nearest town is Armacao de Pera; Albufeira is 10 minutes by car (around 15 euro by taxi, more expensive at weekends). Faro airport is 45 minutes by car (50 euro by taxi). There are 2 nearby shops (very nice and with all that you need; the Oceano one is 2 minutes walk) and the banklink is across the street. The beach is long and sandy: beautiful.
The Dunas: the structure is organized in 6 buildings. Number 1 is reception (avoid this since it can be noisy). We stayed in number 4: perfect. We had a junior suite with sea view: there is a living area with a sofa bed, a table and a sink with kettle and fridge; a bedroom (comfortable bed) and a bathroom with a nice big shower. The wardrobes are ok, not so high as other review said (very few hangers though). There is a big flat screen TV and free wifi: it did not crash as other said but it is not very fast.

Outdoors: there are 9 swimming pools (organized in 3 blocks): one for small children, one no too deep and the one with a deep end. You get your towel at the swimming pool every day. The beach is less than 5 minutes walk, trough a boardwalk

Food: we took the half board deal+ drinks (we got a bottle of water and 2 glasses of wine/beer drinks per night)and I would recommend it. Buffet Breakfast is huge: lots of hot food, cakes and fresh fruit. the Buffet dinner is different every night but it repeats every week: the Barbecue buffet was amazing. Even if you do not like the menu there is always a good variety of salads. There is a kid menu: lovely soup, past (just ok), meat and dessert. There are 2 bars: the Pool Bar (Ice creams are dear like diamonds) and the Bar near reception( with cheaper coffee), not too dear.

Entertainment: there is a lovely kids club and they speak English. There is a board outside the restaurant with the weekly activities (sport, Zumba, etc). There is live music every night: the place is perfect if you are a couple or if you have young kids, boring for teenagers.

Negative points: the fridge in the room is tiny, you can hardly fit a big bottle of water. there is a kettle but no coffee and the only tea is camomile.
If you want to go to the beach you need to hire the parasole and the beds for 1 euro per day!!! I have been to 4 star resort in Italy and these things are free.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gabrimar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Overall what a great hotel with 9 pools in 3 separate areas including kids pools. If you want to be close to town this is not the right place for you but if you want to totally relax and be pampered for a week then sign up on half pension! On one caveat: I do not recommend the 'standard rooms' which overlook a busy road - if we had not changed rooms would have spoiled the holiday entirely. Family suites are great and one improvement could have been a better pool bar to a hotel standard - but not a show stopper. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Do not take a standrad room overlooking the busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Loved this hotel. I would like to know how they keep their towels so white. Huge rooms but not quite big enough for 2 daughters arguing over cupboard space. Anyway after several items of clothing were thrown across the room an agreement was made. I love Roberto Tadaaa!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elaineelaineelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

good beach in front of the hotel. other nice beaches in a walking distance.
otherwise nothing really in a walking distance. car is definitely needed to get around.
suites are huge. we had the regular hotel room that is about 1/3 the size of the suites. some people complained here about the room's size, but that was not a problem for us. just regular hotel room size. nice balcony. large selection at breakfast but hot food gets cold quickly. still there is so much choice you will not have a problem finding something good to eat.
hotel was half empty but we were not able to get a late check out. just wanted to stay 1-2 hours longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qq_q_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
8.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#17 of 154 in Albufeira
947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salgados Palace
Salgados Palace
#26 of 154 in Albufeira
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
2.4 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,093 reviews
7.6 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salgados Dunas Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Dunas Suites

Property: Salgados Dunas Suites
Address: Herdade dos Salgados | Rua Boca da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Salgados Dunas Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the dunes of Salgados Beach, your holiday suites enjoy a fantastic tropical atmosphere, surrounded by extensive palm tree gardens. And it's precisely among the palm trees, with the sea in the horizon that you will be able to enjoy all the facilities the resort has to offer. Among others, you will find the 9 swimming pools, with direct access to the beach. Relax and enjoy the cuisine of Bossa Nova Restaurant, as well the cocktails at the Jazz Lobby Bar, fit for those cheerful nights spent with friends. When walking the short distance that separates the hotel from the beach, make the most of the wooden pathway, which can take you all the way into the nature reserve. For children, the Kids Club features a range of entertainment activities to assure your little ones have a fun filled time. This oasis is equipped with everything you need to enjoy your holiday with the utmost well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Salgados Dunas Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Salgados Dunas Hotel Albufeira
Salgados Dunas Suites Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing