We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again!”
Review of Cantinho do Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cantinho do Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

My sister and I took my mum here for her birthday in September 2012. The apartment block doesn't look like much from the outside but i have never stayed in such a spacious apartment! It was excellent value for money.

Downsides were that the decor and furniture is slightly outdated, there was no kettle (we boiled water for a cuppa in a saucepan on the cooker) and the pool side snack bar advertised is no longer open.

However, the size and location of the apartment more than made up for these minor issues. The apartments are located between the old and new towns - a 10min walk from either. We got an all day ticket for the tourist train each day which only cost a few euros and runs throughout the day - there is a stop about 2mins from the apartments.

Towels and sheets were changed every other day during our 6 day stay. Free wifi (ask for the password when u arrive).

The pool area was fine and kept clean. Since we went during low season we had the pool to ourselves most of the time!

There is a tesco-like supermarket approx 50m from the hotel which was very handy.

Overall we had a lovely stay here and would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amandamc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

book just for a few days really handy place for all shopping and nightlife albufeira has to offer,in the middle between the old town and the strip,the large shopping centre was very close the apartment was basic the pool had the sun all day so good for that, this is no frills accomadation but was ok forthe money we paid

Room Tip: get a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ger1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here the last 2 weeks in Aug, the apartments are in a fantastic location next to modelo shopping centre. Some of the furniture etc is quite worn but the location and size of the apartments are great. No rushing for sun beds in the morning :-)

I would definitely recommend these apartments .

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelly3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The nice daughter/sister that I am :) I paid for me, my mum & my sister to go here for a week in June 2010.

The price was very good, & we wasn't disappointed once we got there. Although...having said that, we were thinking bad things when our transfer was dropping us off, as there isn't a huge sign outside or anything & the building looked as though it was in darkness!

We rang the buzzer & the very friendly & pleasant owner/receptionist came, greeted & assisted us & then we let our taxi guy go with relief!!

Once settled, we found the apartment lovely & clean & perfect for what we wanted! It was also very spacious as it was a 1 bedroom apartment.

The location was ok, it is walkable to both the old town or the strip, we alternated each night! Also, the apartments are next door to a huge shopping mall, which contains a brilliant huge Asda style portuguese supermarket for all you self catering needs :)

The pool area & snack bar was nice, we had a lovely holiday!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Melissa2529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We are just back from a six night stay. Great for the money we paid. The apartment we got overlooked the pool and has lovely view, very spacious and great balcony and well equipped kitchen. The other family staying with us has slightly smaller apartment which looked onto street with small balcony but still not bad. Only complaint with the apartment itself had terribly uncomfortable beds, springs dug into us and although advertised as having a pool bar it is no longer in operation. It is however a great location, 15 minute walk to old town and beach and 15-20 minute walk in other direction gets you to the strip with its bars and shops. Fantastic supermarket that opens until 11pm just across road form apartment with a taxi stop at front of supermarket where had to wait no longer than 5-10 mins for taxi. Pool was nice and never over crowded as not many apartments. However light sleepers beware! Probably due to the great prices these apartments seem to be very popular with young people going away to party particularly groups of Dutch youths. The noise of people in apartments above just walking about (girls in heels especially bad) music and laughing all noises seemed to echo and carry into all the other apartments. People partying until 1-2pm before going to clubs and then home again singing and banging at 5 or 6 in morning and no reception from 6pm until 10 am so no staff to complain to. However if you want a party holiday yourself or sleep like the dead and want cheap holiday I highly recommend it here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redmcelhinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Our family stayed in one of the extremely good apartments for 10 nights.

The apartment overlooked the pool and had stunning sea views from the long balcony, which also caught the sun from early morning until about 7pm.

The staff were very friendly and the apartments kept very clean, with sheets changed and fresh towels regularly provided.

There are plenty of sunbeds provided around the pool which is a great size for the number of apartments.

There is a very convenient supermarket within a 2 minute walk and a lovely bakery approximately 5 minutes away.

The apartments are really well situated to the beach and old town, with about a 15 minute walk to get there there. The walk to and from was no bother for us or the children (11 and 6 years).

The only downside was the level of noise after the mainly dutch, mainly male, occupants returned in the early hours from their night out. There was constant running around the corridors, door buzzers being sounded, doors being slammed and screaming at the top of voices from around 3.30am until 5am. On one evening it was so bad, and the girls so annoyed that I resorted to confronting them after which they did quieten down. This raised complaints from ourselves and other families on the premises over two nights, which staff tried their best to deal with and apologised sincerely. Unfortunately there is no staff permanently on the premises overnight, so there is little to be done at the time.

It does seem to be very popular with groups of young males, so whilst it is a great spot location and facility wise- be warned!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy071972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We recently stayed in a 2 bed apartment and it was extremely spacious, tidy and convenient located for all your need. There was a large supermarket approximately 200 meters from the front door. The old town is a leisurely 15 minutes walk from the apartments and the livelier "strip" is about 10 minutes walk away. There was enough room to sleep nearly 6 people in the apartment. The balcony on both sides of the apartment (203) means that you have sun nearly all day. We didn't ask for the WiFi password when we arrived and it was only when we asked if there was an issue with the internet PC in the basement that we were given the password. WiFi was fast and reliable. Only 2 English channels on the telly, Sky News and NBC News, so if you are bringing kids it would be a good idea to bring your own entertainment. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I would recommend the apartments to anyone wanting to stay in Albufeira.

Room Tip: Ask for the WiFi password when checking in if it is something that you will need during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank murpmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Choromar Apartments
Choromar Apartments
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
744 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#76 of 154 in Albufeira
142 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantinho do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantinho do Mar

Address: Lote 21 Rua do Mediterraneo, Albufeira 8200-156, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: £25 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cantinho do Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cantinho do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantinho Do Mar Hotel Albufeira
Cantinho Do Mar Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing