We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alfagar Alto da Colina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Balaia Plaza(Albufeira)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Balaia Mar Hotel(Albufeira)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quinta da Balaia(Albufeira)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Med Da Balaia(Albufeira)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,466)
Filter reviews
1,466 results
Traveller rating
636
509
188
95
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
509
188
95
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsholiday villagesplash poolmain poolfootball academykids clubhigh ropeshv algarveswimming lessonsevening entertainmentswim academyquiet pooltavern bargreat holidayfamily holidayraft buildingpalm restaurantentertainment team
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
962 - 967 of 1,466 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Having read some poor reviews I have to disagree with them.
Block 2 room 301 was to a very good standard. 2 rooms separated by siding doors so our 6 month old baby could sleep while we could relax in the next room. Also block 2 is quiet as it's away from the main building but when eating in the main hall or going to the main building you do have to climb about 30 steps. There are 3 pool areas to this hotel , one is the kids pool area which caters for them really well with slides etc and a bar for the adults which does snacks. Main pool which caters for everybody i.e music and games and the main bar etc. and then there's the block 2 pool which is a lot quieter but also has its own bar, which also serves snacks. All 3 pools are sun facing which is good but the water doesn't seem to get that warm.
We found the staff very friendly and the hotel has a good atmosphere, very child friendly.
There is a large variety of food available at all times of the day and we always go all inclusive but found the food here the best so far. You're also not restricted with your drinks to those small plastic cups you often come across where you only get on gulp before its gone! If you want a pint then that's what you get. As a tip we wouldn't go self catering here as it is pretty expensive. It's definitely worth paying that bit more to go all inclusive.
Main resort takes about 20 mins to walk to and the beach is about 10 mins away by road but if you use the short cut the views are stunning as looking from the cliffs.
Will be going back when our boy is little older just to appreciate everything they offer to the children.
A thoroughly enjoyable holiday and definitely worth a visit if you have children.
Hope this review helps from a much travelled couple.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We just got back from here yesterday and had a fantastic time. The hotel is lovely, so clean and the staff very friendly. Apartments were really well equiped even though we didnt cook at all, because we were all inclusive, but everything was there if you wanted to. The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels if needed. And on arrival you leave a credit card as a deposit and you get towels for the pool - no need for beach towels! and air con and tv remotes. The food is absolutely gorgeous with plenty to chose from (we had 2 dinners and teas every day it was that nice!) If your a big coffee drinker take your own. I tried it a few times in the dining room and it was vile! Although I didnt have my children with me I know for a fact they would have loved the entertainment team. The reps really did go above and beyond and never stopped day and night to keep everyone entertained. The only down side to that is there wasnt much for adults but its a family complex so cant complain. Pools were extremely clean. A daily bus to the beach leaves hotel at 10 am and picks you back up at 1pm. nothing at that part of beach though apart from a little cafe. Its a bit out the way but a taxi was only 6 euro into albufeira old town which has plenty of shops open til about midnight and lots of bars. Highly recommend this as long as you dont mind either staying at the complex for the duration of your stay, or like us taking taxis occasionally to do some shopping. Now time to start the diet as we really did eat far too much with such lovely food!

Room Tip: try and request block one as block two is a little out of the way of the restaurant, bar, pool etc
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We really enjoyed our first trip abroad with our 2 and half year old daughter. The hotel is very family based and the staff and people of Portugal were very friendly and helpful at all times. The entertainment was excellent and our little girl loved meeting Shrek and Alex the Lion, along with the Widgets and going dancing every night to I5Live shows. The team put in a huge amount of effort to sing dance and keep all ages engrossed. We stayed in a family room in Colina 1 and were actually on the ground floor. It was the most spacious, cleanest and quietest room I have ever stayed in and could not fault it. All facilities around the hotel including pools, splash park, playground and bars were fantastic. Food was plentiflul and varied and there was always a variety to chose from, but usually you could rely on some English favourites at several times during the week, including roasts, fish and chips, burgers, apple crumble, bread and butter pudding (and custard), together with traditional Portugese options. Overall, if we get the chance we will definitely go back again and our little girl can join in with one of the kids clubs, which were very highly recommended by other families we chatted to.

Room Tip: Book in Block 1 if you have restrictions in mobility as there are steps/slopes from Block 2 to main restaurant, pools and entertainment.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Village Algarve (also known as the Alto da Colina) from the !3th to 27th of September 2012. We travelled with my son, his wife and our grandchildren aged 6yrs and 3yrs. We have stayed here before and I have previously given it good reviews. This time my wife and I stayed in a one bedroom sea view apartment in block 1. The hotel comprises of 2 buildings. Block 1 houses the restaurant, main bar, and entertainment venue. Block 2 at the bottom of a steep hill houses the Italian and Portugese Restaurants and a small shop for those last minute emergencies. We stayed on an all inclusive basis. The food and drink are generally good although not always to my taste but that is down to me. The First Choice reps keep an entertainment programme going from morning till afternoon. Then the entertainment team take over the evening with kids show, bingo and either a live show or kareoke. Special Mention must be made to Frankie, Hollie and Marc in particular for their efforts, Our one bedroom apartment was clean and tidy and well equipped although being all inclusive we only used the kettle. The room was pretty well sound proofed and we slept well. Our grandchildren had a great time attending the various kids clubs and shows. Hollie taught our 3 yrs old granddaughter to swim.. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained on the whole. There were a number of loose slabs around the pool which will require attention soon but as I have said on the whole it was well maintained. One thing to be aware of is that they say they have a gym but this is in fact a windowless space at the bottom of a flight of stairs off the indoor pool with some equipment which on the whole was poorly maintained. If the question was asked "Would I go again?" the answer is most definately yes.



d was

Room Tip: Taxis to Albufeira cost about 8 Euros. To Villamoura about 20 Euros (using a Mini bus taxi). Visit "ZooMarine" for a good day out. Thye local beaches are all clean and well served by Cafes and Restaurants. Unless you are of a certain age forget "The Strip" its just a collection of bars and shops frequented by Stag and Hen parties and the like
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

my husband and i visited holiday village in september for 2 weeks with our son who just turned 2years old .stayed in colina 2 lovely clean rooms only down fall all twin rooms look onto main road colina 2 is quiet and good if wee ones are sleeping during the days ,steps and ramp are not as bad as what people say and you can always walk down front of hotel to get to colina 1 it is also handy for quiet bar with nice snacks and great strawberry daquris and sangreia ,italian restuarant is lovely staff were really nice felt like you were out complex for something special ,main buffet is lovely there for 2 weeks and still found stuff to eat (bacon just like home and that 1st for me in all inclusive usually nothing like it )no complaints about food and boss of hotel was in every day making sure all was ok,splash pools were great my son just loved the slides only thing would say is some morning were not switched on till later and as it family holiday alot of familys are by poolside early,.nursery rhymes in indoor pool were really good our son enjoyed it ,swing park great only thing gets very dark at that part of village and still alot of kids about as it next to venue.Entertainment only ever seen kids shows as my son had danced that much was time for bed and down to colina 2 for some quiet nightcaps with some friends we meet and there son all in all had lovely holiday and how can i forget the reception staff (oxanne and our wee mary jo all the way from glasgow always there to help )

Room Tip: colina 2 is good if you looking for an escape from all the entertainment and more relaxed hoilday.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bazza1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews