We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stumbled across this gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palacete

Palacete
Ranked #149 of 775 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stumbled across this gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We ate at Palacete while in Portugal earlier this month (June 2014).
We stumbled across it after being hood winked into trying the Bly Sky restaurant by one of the people on the strip. We walked straight past and came across the Palacete.
What a meal!!!!!
I had a fillet steak, cooked to perfection and my girlfriend had the Steak Diane. They made the Diane sauce and cooked the steak at the table so no sauce from a packet here. It was amazing.
The staff were all superb and the service and attention were second to none.

I would highly recommend the Palacete and will be returning.

Thank you for a fantastic evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhodevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    65
    25
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“What to say……dreadful!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

First appearances are very reassuring: it’s nicely furnished, quite popular, and initially a number of the staff were friendly. But as a restaurant at the more expensive end of the market that’s nothing more than one would expect. That however, is as equitable as my comments are going to be.
The couvert is simply ok, but expensive, and Casal Garcia was € 12.75 a bottle (this is a wine available for €2.99 in a local wine shop, and €6-7 in other restaurants).
We both ordered the monkfish with leeks which looked very appetising when it arrived, and was indeed quite tasty; except it wasn’t monkfish! Anyone who’s eaten monkfish knows that it has a distinctive taste and texture, and what we were served was a simple white fish – possibly sea bass. I called our waiter, who after refusing to accept what I said, called the maître d’, who proceeded to embarrass the hell out us and then brought out an un-cooked tail, as if having it on the premises was proof of what was actually in our dish!
The locals here seemed to enjoy their food but clearly tourists are viewed as being ripe for a scam, so choose this restaurant at your peril, because there many better close by.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mozwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a restaurant that should not be missed when visiting albuefeira. The food is terrific at very reasonable prices, the staff are very attentive and the owner is a very genuine and passionate man about the food he serves and the satisfaction of his customers

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This restaurant is definately worth a visit. We discovered it a few years ago and always enjoyed eating there. Its just round the corner from Forte do Vale where we normally stay. This year we stayed in KR Hotel (very near FDV) and the restaurant is within minutes from there. A very extensive menu with a tourist menu if you prefer to choose from that. Staff very polite and welcoming, good service, nice food. No complaints at all about this place! We probably wouldn't have discovered it if we hadn't been staying at FDV.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We cheekily had the tourist menu again”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Which was made worse by the fact I was greeted with a big kiss, Since first visiting the area in 2002 we have on occasion averaged 3 visits a year for Wintersun. We love the price and variety of the tourist menu and would like the quality to continue at 11E

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandge2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palacete also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Palacete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing