We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely restaurant to visit when you are in Albuferia”

Restaurante Expresso
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Restaurante Expresso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #153 of 776 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: CLOSED FOR RENOVATION, REOPENNIND ON JANUARY 2017 Variety of dishes that can please so many tastes and ages around the world, from fresh fish to grilled kebabs, vegetarian menu and juicy steaks , portuguese traditional food and of course home made pizzas and lovely pastas...............
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely restaurant to visit when you are in Albuferia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have been to this restaurant twice now and on both times I have had wonderful meals. A lovely warm welcoming place to eat, very relaxed and recently refurbished. The menu has lots of variety and the prices are very good, the food is a very high quality. You must visit and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kar0n67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    65
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New Management and even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have used this restaurant many time over the years and was surprised to see that the owners have taken back the lease and are now operating themselves this April. The decor has been updated and improved but the quality of the food is just as good serving the best grilled fish in the Algarve as well as a wider menu than previous.The Service is so friendly and Isa still there. Miguel front of house and his mother the chef really make you feel at home and the prices are reasonable. Dont miss it. They do carry out as well

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

It would be easy to pass this place by (we did a couple of times), but I would urge you to seek it out: it’s a couple of doors away from the ‘Blue’ supermarket, between the Forte Do Vale apartments and the Rua Bernado de Passos. As other reviewers have stated, it doesn’t look much from the outside and the menu alone wouldn’t necessarily help you to distinguish it from many of the other tourist restaurants knocking around, but the quality of the food, whilst not gourmet, is very much a cut above.

The couvert was the usual, but it was good and reasonably priced, and our main courses were delicious: sardines and ‘Algarvian’ king prawns with sautéed potatoes and rice respectively; accompanied by a litre of house red which was only €6. We don’t often take sweets, but couldn’t resist the clearly home made offerings in the chilled cabinet. Strawberry cheesecake and crème caramel, and both were wonderful. We wished we had eaten here more than once, but would definitely return should we revisit Albufeira.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mozwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must go to when in Portugal! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I visited this restaurant with friends in April. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. The staff were very helpful and the pricing was very reasonable for the high quality food. The menu had incredible variety to suit everyone's taste. I will defiantly be visiting again in the near future.

Helpful?
4 Thank Sally-ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Our visit to Expresso”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have visited this restaurant many times over the years mainly because of its nearby location to Forte do Vale and always enjoyed our visits. I was disappointed to read earlier on the forum that Mariana and Aurel were no longer there. We did give the restaurant a try in April and whilst the food served was okay and we didn't have any complaints, there is no doubt that Mariana and Aurel are missed by many. They were a great team and Marianas friendly, outgoing nature won her many fans!! We will return to Expresso but I agree its not quite the same.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Expresso also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Expresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing