We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No good for couples”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Salgados Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salgados Palace
Ranked #25 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“No good for couples”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a week's break at the the CS Grande Hotel and what a disappointment it was. Do not go there unless you want to be surrounded by screaming children who are running wild. Every area within this hotel is like an extremely noisy playground - there's no escape anywhere - we've certainly never experienced such horrendous noise levels in a 5 star hotel before.

Whilst the hotel is new and very contemporary - at first impression it looks really lovely. However, the open plan design and acoustics throughout the hotel just exacerbate the noise levels and the children (there are a lot of them) literally run and chase each other all over the place -especially throughout the lobby area and bars -not in any way relaxing.

Other problems with this hotel - if you have a resort facing room you will not be able to open your balcony door due to the noise level from a generator unit -it's constant and very intrusive.

The food in the main buffet restaurant is fairly good -but the hot buffet is often cold. You cannot have a conversation in this restaurant due to the level of noise from all the children.

There is no real ambience in any of the bars - in the evenings the lighting is too bright, there is no music playing and children as usual are running riot. The one bar which was quieter was not included in the all-inclusive!

The are 3 fairly small circular pool areas at this hotel -totally inadequate for the size of hotel and again nowhere to escape from the many children.

Would we return to this hotel -NEVER! This hotel has not taken into consideration the needs of adults travelling without children, who may want a relaxing break. Do not go there if a relaxing break is what you are looking for.

The only good thing about this holiday was the lovely beach -a good 15 minute walk from the hotel.

The hotel was so bad we even changed our flight home to leave earlier! We have never been so glad to return home from a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Manager at Salgados Palace, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your review, your opinion and satisfaction is very important to us which will help us in the pursuit of constantly improve the quality of our services.
Further to your comments we are sorry for not meeting your expectations as far as a relaxing holiday was concern. In this content, we regret that at the time you made your booking the characteristics of our All-inclusive Operation directly aimed at families with children was not clear to you.
Kindly note that after the 17th September, we return to our normal operation, with the end of all inclusive. Our Hotel return to the half board operation, in this case not so many children are expected to stay with us during that period.

We are sorry to know that the sound resulting from our chillers has affected the enjoyment of your room with Resort View. However we are pleased to inform that our Engineering Department has been made aware of your comments a are gathering efforts to overcome this situation

Nevertheless, all your comments have been properly registered. We are, therefore, committed to enforce our quality standards which are improving on a daily basis.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again at CS Salgados Grande Hotel so that you may experience this positive progress.

Best Regards

Nuno Lisboa
Manager
CS Salgados Grande Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    267
    95
    24
    19
See reviews for
248
292
5
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Another CS at Herdade dos Salgados resort. This is a new 5* will include a Congress center and an adjacent aparthotel. This is not as luxury as Atlantico S. Rafael but it certainly is because the target is different. AT Grande Hotel you will have All Inclusive in Summer (June to September) and it seems to be focused on families (namely young couples with kids). So this may not be the place for those who do not like "noise" and child environment . On opposite if you think kids is live and look for some opportunities to smile with Parents in difficulties... it is a good choice. In any case pay attention to mosquitoes... the area has some... it is a beautiful area and as most of those beautiful natural areas a reppelent is a good and smart option.
let's move on to details:
Staff - it is the best in any CS ... even some need more training and coaching most of people seems to like what are doing and do it hard.
hotel - it is 5* but would better fit a 4* plus... maybe will improve because it is a "newborn" (2 or 3 months only). But I guess Mr Carlos Saraiva did want this one less luxury as option.
rooms - almost all double rooms and some with resort view, other with golf and pool views and others with sea and pool views. If you choose the resort ones try to avoid room nearby the central air conditioning system ...it is a continuos noise and it is not good either to be at balcony or sleeping until you are used to it. Nothing that ruin your holidays (I survived) but if other options I am sure that CS staff will not give you the 249 for example. Ammenities are OK ... could be better for 5* (for example "kleenex" available) but no complaints. Separate (and great) shower area... nice touch. I rate sleepquality as average only based on my experience but I am sure that over 90% will have better chances.
All inclusive - It is not as "full" as some Caribbean but it is very good and if one's got a good travel pack would be unbeatable for a no stress holidays... and this is a major point with kids or families ... not easy to get a restaurant available at our time schedule.it was my 1st time all inclusive experience in my own country and it was rather better than I could imagine. Food quality is good and variety is not an issue. Beverages are included... and at end of meal a expresso available for free is something that every Portuguese highly appreciate. But wine, beer, water, coke, ice tea... all but wine are self service... so it is hard you do not get something you can eat or drink. there is an Italian restaurant free with pre-booking and another one which is paid. the italian restaurant is the pool bar during day... so if you book dinner there you will have a pool view and it will be nice for sure (I did not try).
A nice touch is a "lunch box" (I would call "snack box") ... booking one day in advance and you get (by guest) a sandwich, fruit and water bottle to spend your time on beach.
Pools - 3 circular ... one for kids, 2 for adults one not heated. If the hotel is fully booked could be times of being crowded... sunbeds game in the morning is obviously in place but not a drama... and staff try to get some extrasunbeds. Do not expect kids stay in their pool... of course kids do like to be adults... and do prefer heated pool which means they are smart kids.
Spa - there is one that I did not use... looks nice and has an indoor pool.
Gym - there is a small one ... very smal but during 4 days I see nobody there and so maybe it is OK.
Beach - salgados beach is not far ... if you are in good shape... put 1 km distance but it is a good walk around other CS... villas, apartments, dunas... nice to walk from time to time if we are in all inclusive meals.
Golf - rigth next door ... I am not an expert but there is a golf course in front so it can be a paradise for players and his/her families.
Location - unless you have a car Salgados is not the place for Disco, parties, etc... Albufeira is an option with car. For shpping there is a shopping center at Guia... need car too. So... Salgados is for relax... family time. And will be a nice holidays for sure. So far the guests are by majority Portuguese. It is easier to us to discover good places before the foreigners.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LOUREJIC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Manager at Salgados Palace, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear Sirs,

It was an honor to register your preference for CS Salgados Grande Hotel.

Thank you for your review.
Your opinion and satisfaction is very important to us which will help us in the pursuit of constantly improve the quality of our services and excel the expectations of our valued Guests.

Further to your review, we would like to present the following comments:
• The design, decoration and facilities of our Hotel are in complete accordance to the CS Group concept. In fact, this Hotel has been designed not only as an holiday destination but also as a business Hotel with our CS Palácio de Congressos do Algarve that has an Auditorium with 1650 seats, 39 conference rooms - all equipped with the most advance technology.
• We are sorry to know that the sound resulting from our chillers has affected your rest. Our Engineering Department has been made aware of your comments.
• With regards to the amenities available, kindly note that we do have a great variety of amenities however, not all are placed in the rooms and are available upon request. We are sorry if you didn’t receive this information during your stay.
• The Natural Reserve of Salgados is on our doorstep, occasionally (depending on weather conditions and winds) we are visited by same mosquitos. However, upon request we do provide the necessary means to repeal them from our rooms.
• As advertised, we do not have a Gym but an Exercise Room, therefore, the number of fitness equipment’s available is indeed limited.

Further to your comments, we apologize for not meeting all your expectations. However, kindly note that all your comments have been properly registered, internal procedures were taken and all efforts gathered to avoid these situations from happening again. We are, therefore, committed to enforce our quality standards which are improving on a daily basis.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again at CS Salgados Grande Hotel so that you may experience this positive progress.

Best Regards

Nuno Lisboa
Manager
CS Salgados Grande Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

This new addition to the CS Group of hotels is stunning and boasts a very contemporary design.The hotel is brand new and very stylish .

The rooms are a superb very spacious 43m2 and offer all the conveniences one would expect in a 5 star resort hotel.With a choice of resort, golf or sea views.

There are 3 outdoor swimming pools all surrounded by lush landscaping and of course the very challenging Salgados golf course.

The food and beverage options include a large buffet restaurant, 5th floor al a carte restaurant with picture windows that afford views over the golf course to the Atlantic Ocean.There is also a spacious lobby bar, well equipped sports bar and an attractive pool bar and restaurant.

The Spa has an indoor pool, jacuzzi pool, steam room, sauna and turkish bath.Plus excellent treatment rooms for that obligatory massage.

The biggest plus for this hotel has to be the staff.They were very professional and courteous at all times.Particular praise to the concierge who went to great lengths to provide advice on the Algarve region and even checked train and bus timetables online for me.

My only gripe would be the 1km walk to the beautiful Salgados beach, but after lunch at the OS Salgados beach bar the stoll is very welcome as their fresh fish offerings are highly recommended, and again very professional and courteous staff.

Salgados Beach is well worth its Blue Flag status.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would hope to revisit soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank pesler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Manager at Salgados Palace, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear Sirs,

It was an honor to register your preference for CS Salgados Grande Hotel.

Thank you for your review.
Your opinion and satisfaction is very important to us which will help us in the pursuit of constantly improve the quality of our services and excel the expectations of our valued Guests.

With regards to your kind words of appreciation towards our staff, we will forward your comments to our team internally.

We are, therefore, committed to enforce our quality standards which are improving on a daily basis and sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again at CS Salgados Grande Hotel so that you and your family may experience our constant positive progress.

Best Regards,

Nuno Lisboa
Manager
CS Salgados Grande Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#23 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
0.3 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#16 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#30 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salgados Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Palace

Property: Salgados Palace
Address: Herdade dos Salgados | Guia, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal (Formerly Salgados Grande Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Salgados Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salgados Palacel is located near Albufeira, between the golf and the beach, at Herdade dos Salgados. With majestic interiors, its design is contemporary, however cosy. Here, you will find plenty to spend your time. In the morning, walk along the Salgados Beach with the family or explore the Salgados Lagoon. Later in the day, lounge around one the 3 outdoor pools, before a massage in the magnificent SPA. By late afternoon, save some time for an aperitif in the Sunset Bar, whilst enjoying, in the horizon over the nature reserve, the spectacle of colours after which the bar was named, followed by dinner in one of our restaurants. The hotel, ideal for couples and families, has 228 accommodation units and features great facilities, as well as a modern Congress Centre. A place where design and comfort walk hand-in-hand, between the golf and the beach, this is truly the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salgados Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Salgados Grande Hotel Albufeira
Cs Salgados Grande Hotel And Spa
Salgados Palace Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing