We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,035)
Filter reviews
1,035 results
Traveller rating
432
384
146
38
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
384
146
38
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moonlight restaurant star hotel pool bar nature reserve beautiful hotel gin bar half board adult pools kids club buffet restaurant golf resort rain shower sightseeing bus kids pool old town lobby area small train
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,035 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

My wife and I have just returned from this excellent hotel. We stayed on the All Inclusive Plus option. The hotel was spotlessly clean, with staff friendly, polite and helpful. The food was the best we have had at an All Inclusive hotel. This was made an even better dining experience by the option to have one evening meal in the A La Carte Restuaraunt, 2 Lunches and 2 evening meals at the 19th Hole. Basically this was the show cooking area. The food was excellent at all eateries.

The range of drinks was really good, not just unheard of local brands, but internationally known ones. Also, it was full measures, so you had a pint of Super Bock, a large glass of Gin and Lemonade etc. There was a good range of imaginative cockrails, that were prepared in front of you.

There were plenty of loungers, with a good scheme of the hotel providing towels for poolside, with you having a card to collect a towel each day. The pools were large circular pools, with one children's fun pool which had a small pirate ship.

The hotel is part of a much larger complex of accommodation owned by NAU. Apart from the nurse and the shop you can't use facilities on other sites. There is an 18 hole golf course adjacent to the hotel, and owned by NAU. The beach is about a 10-15 minute stroll, and the famous Salgados Lake Nature Reserve about the same. To get to the beach you can use the Land Train.

We noted two drawbacks, while the beds were so comfortable the pillows were next to useless, my wife suggested I spent the week snoring because my head wasn't supported.

The second minor negative was that in the evening everything focused around the Lobby Bar. This meant that there was nowhere to escape, or sometimes not enough seats. At times this meant that you could feel crowded out by all the children, especially when the entertainers didn't engage with them, they just became a nuisance. On the evening that the entertainer did engage with the children, they were a pleasure to have around. The hotel needs to look at how they could open the poolside bar in the evening to create that extra space.

I should add, that a few days before we flew out the hotel contacted yes to say that there was some building work going on, but they had taken every precaution to minimise the impact. Having heard horror stories we were amazed that they had taken the time to warn us, for work that had no impact on our holiday.

Our Jet2 rep, Felippe, was friendly and helpful.

Despite the 2 negatives we would return to this hotel without a second thought.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank WelshImp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Manager at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at NAU Salgados Palace.
Kindly note that we are very happy to hear that you had a good time in our hotel & facilites.
Salgados Palace has two bars during the night, the Lobby Bar and Moonlight Restaurant & Bar on this last one the enviroment is more quite.
Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we will share with all our Team and guests reviews are the major tool to improve our service.
We hope to see you soon in the future.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

This a lovely hotel spotless clean
Staff very friendly and helpfull
The pool areas were great and lots of family’s with kids nice atmosphere the food was fine but I would say it’s 4 star not 5 star as advertised by jet 2
Overall I’d giv a 8/10

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Manager at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Mr. Michael,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at NAU Salgados Palace.
Kindly note that we are very happy to hear that you had a good time in our hotel & facilities.
Please be so kind to note that our staff works daily to bring you the best experience and guests reviews are the major tool to improve our service.
We hope to see you soon in the future.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

I booked a week’s break (or so I thought), all inclusive, at Salgados Palace for me and my husband and 8-month old. I always check TripAdvisor and was slightly unsure I’d done the right thing after reading reviews, but thought it was probably just people in pursuit of perfection - unrealistic when you’re not paying the earth.

We arrived in cloudy Portugal last Saturday, with a ‘luke warm’ reception from the hotel - not rude, but none of the niceties you’d expect or hope for.

We found the hotel to be spotless, and the room was very well maintained and modern, but there’s something oppressive about the dim lighting and dark tiles throughout this hotel. Even the pool, (with dark tiles to help heat the water) feels a bit depressing.

After sleeping much of day one away, we went to the buffet for food. I’m a huge fan of eating out and really appreciate good, honest food. Nothing flash - just tasty fresh food.... so how did Salgados Palace measure up?

Really disappointing. My husband, who is not a fussy eater, said it was ‘okay - not bad’. For me, a vegetarian (a pretty unfussy one), it was very basic. Salad and chips, or pasta with chopped tomato sauce was about as good as it got. And literally, the same options were rolled out day after day, with the occasional very bland vegetarian bean dish thrown in for good measure.

There’s really only the main buffet dining hall, and 19th Hole (the poolside snack bar) which has to be booked for lunch or dinner (an annoying ‘hand in your voucher at reception before 10:30am on the day to book, and do not dream of sitting down at the table unless you have handed said voucher in to staff’ system, that makes you work for every last bland morsel of food you get). Moonlight Restaurant operates on a similar basis, but I can’t comment on the food there as we didn’t get to try it.

Like the restaurants, the bars are a disappointment. Far too small - one or two people working on the one and only poolside bar, servicing four pools, is simply inadequate. Similarly, the lobby bar, where ‘entertainment’ is arranged on an evening only has two people working. I’d say that’s pretty woeful when there are about 100+ people in that area on an evening. The sports bar is always very quiet though, so it’s worth popping there for drinks (smaller choice, and absolutely no atmosphere, but fast service). The drinks selection at the bars, overall, is very good though - Baileys, Beefeater - not bad really.

The hotel has lots of pools, so we couldn’t wait to take our little one for a splash.... sadly, the water in the pool is absolutely freezing and even on a really warm day, just much too cold for a little one (literal shivers, poor little thing). Disappointed, but understanding of the fact the hotel can’t control the weather, we asked if we could pay to take our son in the (empty) spa pool which is heated. ‘No. Over 16s only’. ‘Please, he’s on his first holiday and it’s just too cold, and nobody is using the spa pool’. Er, ‘no’ was the answer again. Well thanks for your hospitality....

What else to say.... the staff (with the exception of one or two friendly faces) are begrudgingly helpful. Yes, they will assist, but don’t expect a smile.

We made use of the hotel nurse when our baby came out in a nasty rash. A nice woman who suspected it was an allergy but said ‘I don’t risk anything with children so always send to the hospital’, so while reassuring, was unable to help too much.

We used the internet a fair bit as I had to do some work and that’s pretty rubbish, so don’t expect a fast or reliable connection if you stay here. There is a Business Centre with two computers, which might be helpful if you can work from an external computer (I couldn’t, so not much use).

The hotel uses a taxi company. They’re very nice and for c13Euro to the Old Town (which I really enjoyed and would recommend), it’s fair value. We also went on a trip called Amazing Algarve, which was quite nice too.

We were hoping to make a return trip to Albufeira Old Town yesterday morning, for our last day, but were rudely awoken by reception, telling us our transfer was waiting?! What? We booked a week’s trip....

Apparently not. It would appear the very pushy man I booked with at Teletext Holidays decided 6-nights was enough. An appropriate end to a very average holiday (albeit in excellent company with my lovely family)... but perhaps he was wise to keep the trip shorter.... at least it meant I could have a nice meal at home...

In summary, having stayed in 4* Plus and 5* hotels every time we’ve travelled, I’d say the building itself is 4* Plus, but the service and catering is far, far less. We’ve almost always left holidays feeling sad to be going home (apart from once, when we went to the Dominican Republic which was an equally uninspiring place), but in this case, I honestly didn’t mind leaving.

A very average hotel, that I would not recommend or return to.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank LouiseAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Manager at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Mrs. Louise,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the preference on the Salgados Palace Hotel.
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, guests reviews are the major tool to improve our service.
We regret that your stay didn’t met your expectations. Kindly to say that normally the feedback regarding our staff have is positive qualifying as friendly and helpful.
Recording the food aspects, we duly noted your feedback in order to improve our service we will analyse. However we have All in One Restaurant, 19th Hole Restaurant & Bar and Moonlight in order to provide diferent kind of services, food and enviroment.
Regarding to the indoor pool, located in the spa, it is intended to be peaceful space for treatments recording that are allowed to guests over 16 years.
Kindly accept our sincerest apologies.
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We were meant to stay at the hotel for 3 nights as a couple, before our baby arrives in September. We wanted somewhere luxury where we could relax. Shortly after arriving we visited the restaurant for the buffet lunch as part of the all inclusive package and it could only be described as chaos. The hotel is packed with families with babies and young children. The noise was horrendous and the layout was terrible with tables setup for families of four or more and no space to move. The sheer number of children is overwhelming and they take over. The hotel has four pools but kids are allowed in all of them so there's no adult areas. Only over 16's can use the indoor pool and spa but this is charged (10 euros per day), and the al a carte restaurant isn't included in the all inclusive so again you have to pay extra. They golf is sold as another adult only activity but again you have to pay. We did get a voucher for the 19th hole restaurant but this was as dire as the main restaurant - kids everywhere again and the same bland, cold food. The hotel itself in terms of facilities, the rooms, cleanliness and presentation is probably 5 star but the service levels and food are more like 2 star! We also asked to move to an upper floor due to the noise as our room was essentially on the ground floor (room 126) near to the main hallway, lifts and entrance to restaurant so there was lots of noise, disrupting our sleep as this went on until midnight. We were very disappointed and would never stay here again. It was so terrible with all the screaming children, taking over the hotel, we came home a day early. The hotel really needs to be clear in the peak season that it is a family hotel exclusively.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 1st floor, this is technically the ground floor and there's lots of noise...
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvh1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Manager at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at NAU Salgados Palace.
Kindly note that we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room.
NAU Salgados Palace hotel has an All Inclusive programme in the summer season, is considered a family hotel, therefore, it is normal that the hotel has a lot of children in the summer.
Please note that we have three restaurants: All-In-One buffet restaurant, always available, and the 19th Hole and Moonlight depending the number of nights you are staying with us we offer vouchers for this last ones.
Thank you for your honest review, guests reviews are the major tool to improve our service.

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

We were in this hotel for a 5 days Event with all inclusive! It was the first time we were in Algarve and this hotel was perfect and the people working there really tried to do their best and giving us a wonderful stay. The room was big and we had all the amenities you expect in a 5 Star Hotel. Everything very clean and comfortable and with free WiFi in the room. There are three pools in a beautiful garden and lots of space for everyone. We had the possibility to have drinks the whole day and evening (we are not drinkers)! Also the Buffet for lunch and dinner were abundant with all kinds of food for any taste. Also fresh fruit and sweets very various and all fresh! The small train having service from the hotel to the Beach, which is beautiful and clean. Really an overall good service.

Room Tip: Our room was the number 240, very silent and a beautiful view from the balcony to the garden and pool! We had sun in the afternoon!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grethe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Manager at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent comments recording Salgados Palace.
We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Salgados Palace and we thank you for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers.
Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we will share with all our Team.

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews