We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep Sea Adventure”

Big Game Reel Adventure Fishing Centre
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Deep Sea Adventure”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great fun although it was a bit choppy out there!!!
Caught loads of mackerel....they were jumping in the boat at one point!!! No sharks caught but the crew knew what they were doing.
Shame that none of the 12 rods got a big bite but a great fun day anyway. We will be back to try again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Grimblybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    2
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AVOID!!! Waste of time and money!!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked a reef fishing trip for two, paid 70 euros + 6 for fishing permits. Staff was rude and aggresive. When my husband refused to fish with their antic gear and rusty, torn off hooks, he was being threaten with a huge hook by his neck by the captain's helper, and shouted at him: is this hook sharp enough for you??? I couldn't believe my eyes and I seriously feared for our safety and was glad that there were another 4-5 people with us on that boat. The only reason we did not report this to the police, was that it was our last day in Portugal and did not want to spoil it more than we did already by booking that fishing trip. Other than this... the experience was terrible!!! they sailed for 40-45 minutes, anchored and the captain and his helper started fishing themselves without even caring about their guests who paid hundreds of euros to be there... The fish was mackerel mostly, the size my 6 year old son would catch from our Newhaven beach on a normal Saturday visit. Save your time and money and avoid by all means! The english guy taking bookings at the marina was also rude and arrogant!!! He made us wait and he laughed in our face and we told him about the portuguese guy threathening my husband. I will warn everyone going to Portugal to stay away from such called fishing experiences!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
18 Thank Simona_and_friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“4 hour Reef Fishing trip”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Booked this for myself and 10YO son without first checking TA reviews.
€60 plus €3 fishing licence.
I did however read the reviews before we went on the trip, so didn't have very high hopes of a fun day out, oh dear!

Small boat, 8 people fishing including us.
Steamed directly out from Vilamoura marina for 25 mins.
Captain anchored boat, dolloped a load of chopped squid at each rod and pretty much let us get on with it.
Fishing for 2 hours and return.

Not great for first time fishermen but we managed.
Sea was a little choppy but that's nature.
'
The boat was captained by an old chap who was very quiet all day, (apart from when he hooked his thumb), and a younger 'mate' who did get involved with the re-baiting.

We (my son) caught a few tiny mackerel, but some fish better than no fish.

I had the impression the captain would rather have been shark/marlin fishing and saw the reef trip as a little dull.

Don't expect much, and spend a few hours feeding chopped squid to the wee reef fish you'll have a good time.






Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoeilaart, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Fishing on May 2013.
Went for shark fishing, and actually, one poor small blue shark taken.
Only 6 rods for 10 persons; and the fishing was not 'active' only lines with dead fishs. So, if you picked number 10, you have to wait for 10 sharks fished before you take the turn!
On other boats, you havec your own rod, picked or choosen; here there is just a tourist trap.

The wrew was indifferent to our comfort or about the results.
Regarding other remarks, reef fishing with those guys is more successfull, but shark fishing was a real waste of time and money

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank christophe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SHARK FISHING”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Total waste on time and money.At no time did anyone shark fishing hold a rod.Pirates on board do all the fishing.As for the captain he must be the most ignorant man in portugal.Save your money o not use these guys if you want to catch fish.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank RAYMOND L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Game Reel Adventure Fishing Centre also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Big Game Reel Adventure Fishing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing