We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fresh fish”
Review of O Dias - CLOSED

O Dias
Cuisines: Portuguese
Restaurant details
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best fresh fish”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We returned to O Dias this year after enjoying it some much last time. We weren't disappointed, a lovely warm welcome to the small yard which is open to the sky and has an amazing picture window out to sea. The fresh fish is barbecued in front of you and was absolutely delicious. Very reasonably priced as were the drinks. A must next year when return to Albufeira again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Try the Lulas”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Always when I'm in Albufeira O Dias is a must go. It's a bit away from the main street but with great sea view but much more important the seafood is always fresh and perfectly cooked on the charcoal grill. The "Lulas" are the best I ever had there and the Almond Tarte is sooo delicious you can't leave without that.

Helpful?
1 Thank dublinherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“best BBQ fish!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

the first evening we tried to get into this small restaurant, we were told that it was best to book if we wanted a beach/sea view. We booked and returned the following night, not to be disappointed.
The terrace is quite small and the seating on two sides, are small narrow benches, which without cushions can be quite uncomfortable. That said, the bbq/grilled fish is worth the pain. On our visit, the chef doubled up as a waiter and had the uncanny knack of being able to put fish onto a smoking bbq and walk away from it, to return five minutes later to a perfectly cooked fish. The grilled fish kebab and grilled squid were superb. Considering the location and views this restaurant gives, it is very reasonably priced and better value than the restaurants that are directly on Fisherman's beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DANNY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and view at an affordable price”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

How is this restaurant's rating this low is beyond me. To be honest, I talked to the restaurant staff after the tasty meal we had and they had no idea what tripadvisor was in the first place! So clearly, they need to market the place a little more. This restaurant has a magnificent view on pescadores beach (the best view actually) and is famous for its grilled fish. The restaurant is simple and has the feeling and attitude of a family-run tavern. The service is great and speedy and I would recommend any of their grilled fish. Always ask for the fresh fish of the day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cosmogeoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ainsdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good food, great price”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Took a punt on this restaurant, and what a find. It has an outdoor barbecue, great sea views from the terrace, friendly staff and great food.

Not only is the food fresh, and well cooked, it is very reasonable priced.

I had the calamari (as you might of guessed from other reviews i enjoy it), which was perfect. For the main course I had chicken piri priri, which was the nicest I have had why ll staying in Portugal.

The biggest surprise was the bill. It was the cheapest restaurant that we ate in during our stay, but this was not reflect in the quality of the food as it was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Dias also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing