We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Pickwick's Tavern

Pickwick's Tavern
Ranked #120 of 810 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After reading great reviews about this place we decided to visit for breakfast last week whilst staying in a near by hotel . We'll we were a bit disappointed to say the least , the guy serving seemed to be very stressed and a bit rude . I could sympathise if he had a packed out crowd in but there were only a handful of people eating, maybe he was cooking the food , taking orders , serving drinks and washing the dishes ! The food was ok but if your looking for a good breakfast try the place across the road better service , better food and less expensive

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    63
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley West Mids
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good choice for a good meal”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We visited Pickwicks tavern 3 times during our recent visit to Portugal.
The food was top class with a really friendly service. My wife loved the cottage pie, I tried the fish and chips as well as their version of Chicken Piri Piri, which was lovely.
As people have said already the portions are generous and you certainly feel full up when you have finished. The hosts are lovely and take the time to talk to you if you wish.
The prices of the food are slightly higher than most of the other restaurants in that area for comparable menus, but it is well worth paying a couple of Euros extra because it is good quality.
My only problem, and it's not exclusive to this place, but seems a problem in the whole of Portugal is that people start smoking around you whilst you are eating. I know the majority of seating is outside but I still don't want to passive smoke 20 cigarettes an hour, especially when I'm eating.
A difficult problem to solve but would be the only reason why I wouldn't choose to eat here or anywhere else on any particular day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWDudleyWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Went here for lunch whilst our having a walk , the portions were massive and over all the food was awesome cooked to perfection :) x

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service , great food.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Good wholesome food,ample portions and great service.Located close to the beach , NOT TO BE MISSED !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MARGOH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

My mum and I ate here today on our last night. We both had the cod fish and chips which I have to say, was one of the best fish and chips I've ever had! The fish was bot greasy at all, it was cooked to perfection! They also sell a liter jug of sangria for €5 which is the best price in the area! The gentleman who served us/runs it was so friendly and the service was excellent. I would recommend this to both British and non British people, there's something for everyone, kids included, and with such great prices and quality of service/food, along with being on the doorstep of the beach, it cannot be faulted.

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pickwick's Tavern also viewed

Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to Pickwick's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing