We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a meal - an experiance in delightful cusine”
Review of A Tasquinha Do Rossio - CLOSED

A Tasquinha Do Rossio
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not just a meal - an experiance in delightful cusine”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Wow.What a hidden jem this is.Busy when we arrived ,no room at the inn.We returned and the wait was more than worth it.
Fish or beef or chicken - no menu - strange but a great forward thinking piece of marketing.

Home made crab pate that could quite easily become the next Reggae reggae sucess story - yes its that good, and its only the starter. As other state its an absolute must.Baby squid- that no one really fancied- but all adored, salmon enough for a meal on its own.Sea bream next,horse mackeral after that , Golden bream diffent again from the seas bream.All daisy fresh and cooked to perfection salad and tatoes to accompany.Sweets to die for goood wines cheap,Service fromthe top drawer,What more do you want.A repeat visit soon please.A must on any trip to the Algarve,go out of your way to eat here. Its a must do one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LancashireNoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    21
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I would rate this place ten points out of five if I could. The grilled mixed fish is an absolute bargain. You could easily pay £30 per person for a meal like this but, at €12 a head, it's so cheap it's criminal. Best to visit this place on an empty stomach ... believe me ... you'll be glad you did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gem230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Good food, nice people, charming setting”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Came across this restaurant in a little back street on our way to the beach and remembered the name. We sat outside and enjoyed the far-off view of the sun setting over the sea, the authentic setting (a street where the real residents live) and then the delicious crab pate starter, followed by a succession of fish all beautifully grilled with lemon slices to squeeze over: Salmon, baby squid, swordfish, sea bream, mackerel, golden bream, sardines. We took such a liking to the place and Rui and his sweet, beautiful sister that we booked to come back on our last night, knowing it would be a more special memory for us than anywhere else.
This time we also tried the delicious puddings: warm chocolate cake, chocolate sauce and cream, and fresh strawberries with syrup and icecream. Two complimentary glasses of port and some lovely personal service from Rui's sister, all for 40 Euros - no Michelin restaurant could have pleased us better that night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Merry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Tried this restaurant on the strength of the tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed.
We had the fish mixed grill and it was superb. the fish just kept coming.
We were sitting outside as all the inside tables were occupied, it was quite a cool evening and we were invited to come inside for our sweet when a table became available, this was a nice touch which I thought showed genuine customer care.
Quality food with quality service and a must to try if visiting Albufeira
Just walk straight past the lifts on to the beach (keep lifts on the left side) down the narrow street and you will find the restaurant at the end of the block on the right hand side.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rangers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Withdrawal Symptoms After Only A Week”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Last ate at A Tesquinha a week ago and oh how I miss Isa's Crab Pate and Deserts, the delicious grilled chicken of Carlos the cook and of course Rui's antics and more than generous drinks measures.
This coupled with the reasonable prices is a "no brainer" to pass up,
Fortunately I will be back very soon

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Tasquinha Do Rossio also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing