We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a very good choice in Algarve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #17 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
199 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Still a very good choice in Algarve”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The Good :
Right above what we consider the most amazing colourful cliff-lined five miles long safe and clean walking beach ever, this very large resort has mostly well designed buildings, luxurious landscaped grounds, a 9 holes golf course, fabulous pine tree gardens, numerous pools and restaurants, plenty other facilities amongst which a very pleasant unpretentious beauty salon and massage spa, good sun beds, easy free parking, good maintenance, charming competent and dedicated staff. It is an oasis of good taste and comfort in this overall quite ugly and uninteresting Albufeira region.

The Bad :
The original owner, heart and soul of the place passed away two years ago and the new ones are apparently trying to save money all over and letting some of the best (most expensive) staff go. It keeps surprising us that shareholders don't understand savings increase revenue short term only. A miser business only attracts miser clients. A luxury hotel cannot be seen cutting costs. It is so obvious; we hope for them that they will understand this before it is too late.

We like :
The Starwood management, the reasonable room rates which are - breakfast included - quite good value, the resort as such and it's staff.

We don't like :
The "hotel-card" key system that cuts off all power, including airco, when removed. The airco switched-off between 1 and 5 AM hoping nobody will notice. The farmed fish sold at "Pescatores" at the price of deep-sea. The frequently staying convention crowd screaming and shouting all Day and especially when returning drunk from their parties at 3 AM (that is when you wake up to realise there is no airco in your room) . The absence of WIFI other than in the lobby.

Room Tip: Any ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Mr.\Mrs.

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort.

Kind regards,

Henrique Pires
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    283
    106
    48
    27
See reviews for
438
416
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Great place, classy, stylish, great facilities, great location. Rather pricey

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londontraveller1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Mr./Mrs.,

At Starwood properties \ Pine Cliffs Resort we highly value your feedback which enables us to maintain the high standards of our Resort. Kindly be informed that the prices at our Resort are often reviewed in line with the 5 star Hotels in the area.

We are glad to learn that we were able to provide you a most enjoyable stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Henrique Pires
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Great Britain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Our first visit to this hotel and it was a most enjoyable experience. Genuinely 5 star, the service was faultless and the staff very helpful and friendly with none of the patronising attitude sometimes found in this standard of hotel. There is a good choice of restaurants although we ate mainly in the Jardin Colonial where the buffet style suited our young grandchildren. Louisa who looked after us there could't have been more helpful. Rooms were clean, roomy and very comfortable. Clifftop location is spectacular and the beach well organised and comfortable. There is a lift and boarded walkway to the beach which less able guests might find tiring.
Although we were there during the busy half term period there was no congestion around the swimming pools and sunbeds and towels were freely available. Away from the pools there are shaded grassy areas for those who wish to stay out of the sun.
Only two very minor grumbles: No WiFi although there is a chargeble fast internet connection in the room. Also, the ice machines on each floor seemed to be permanently empty but, with room service providing a bucket full of ice cubes within about 3 minutes it would be churlish to complain. Service was excellent throughout and the concierge when needed was extremely helpful.
It is not cheap but still good value. We shall certainly be going back.

Room Tip: Deluxe sea view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WinCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Mr.\Mrs.

Thank you for the time taken to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you have fully enjoyed our Resort and we do appreciate your kind words regarding our associates. Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We look forward to welcome you again in a future visit.

Kind regards,

Henrique Pires
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Superb location, nice service, very clean room but everything very expensive. There could have been more information about towel cards, sunbeds etc. but overall I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 37 has a nice ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasiulka82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Mr./Mrs.

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories. Kindly be informed that the prices at our Resort are often reviewed in line with the 5 star Hotels in the area.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort.

Kind regards,

Henrique Pires
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Really top class in every way. We were really made to feel special by all members of staff, especially Louisa in the restaurant. She treated our baby Patrick as if he was her own and she made us look forward to breakfast! Worth her weight in gold. All staff were very accommodating. Very spacious, fab facilities. It's not cheap, but it's costs if you want to spoil yourself!
One of the few places that I would say I would go back to soon, normally go to different locations. Has fantastic facilities for babies/kids.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tramoretiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Mr.\Mrs.

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you have fully enjoyed our Resort and we do appreciate your kind words regarding our associates. Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort.

Kind regards,

Henrique Pires
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Had a wonderful eight days here last week. True, it doesn't come cheap, but when you see the place, the space, the facilities & most importantly for me the customer service, you should understand that the good things in life cost a premium. Of course the restaurants and bars outside are cheaper, but what overheads do they have? How do people expect fabulous hotels like the Sheraton to operate? It's simple economics! That's my rant over!
This hotel ticked so many boxes for us when we were researching on the internet. We must have spent 48 hours each googling. We have an 11 month old boy, so we had certain requirements. We wanted space in the bedroom for cot so we chose the bi-room junior suite. Fab. All requests fullfilled with no charge. Stairgates, cot, bottle sterilzer etc.
In hindsight, we think a regular room would have sufficed,& we could have saved money. Room facilities were all fab, bed, linen bathroom, tv (which wasn't needed), balcony.
The breakfast was nearly the highlight of the day. The manager,Louisa, & her team are what customer service is all about. Seriously, before we sat, they would have fresh OJ and coffee on the table. Also, with babies & small toddlers, the staff could not have done more. The Portuguese have something special with warmth and friendliness, it was the same in Cascais a few years ago(Albatroz Hotel).
In summary, the hotel had everything we required. Someone previously pointed out that there are a lot of steps, which I would agree with. To get from hotel to pool area is a challenge with a buggy. Amazing pools, super lounger areas, great beach! To finish afternoon, the is a fab Champagne Bar jutting out over the cliffs with the most amazing views!Great service from Filipe.
Myself, my wife Louise and baby Patrick loved it!!
Want to go back in september!!

Room Tip: We had room 290 which was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OwnerCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Mr.\Mrs.

Thank you for the time taken to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you have fully enjoyed our Resort and we do appreciate your kind words regarding our associates. Your comments are of a great value to us and will contribute to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment.

We look forward to welcome you again in a future visit.

Kind regards,

Henrique Pires
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Absolutely gorgeous setting, beautiful pools, excellent and well maintained grounds. We are here til 13th June another review will follow.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndamcg1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Mr./Mrs,

At Starwood properties \ Pine Cliffs Resort we highly value your feedback which enables us to maintain the high standards of our Resort.

We are glad to learn that we were able to provide you a most enjoyable stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Henrique Pires
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.5 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
12.2 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
7.3 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
12.2 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Sheraton Algarve Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, formerly known as Sheraton Algarve, offers recently renovated rooms, enhanced and extended dining options, and a brand new, 1000m2 Serenity Spa, The Art of Well Being. Pine Cliffs Hotel has a stunning cliff-top location above Portugal's longest beach, Praia da Falésia. All of the beautifully decorated rooms and suites at Pine Cliffs Hotel include in-room entertainment systems with LCD TVs. All rooms also include furnished balconies with garden or sea views. The resort features 5 tennis courts, a 9-hole golf course, a beach club and a mini golf. For children and teenagers, the Junior Club provides a variety of activities such as mini-golf and football. The property is a 1-hour drive from Faro International Airport. Free on-site car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albufeira
Sheraton Algarve
Albufeira Sheraton
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing