We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #16 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Our stay at the Sheraton Algarve Hotel this past summer was quite disappointing. This hotel is about 400 Euros a night and rated as a 5 star hotel, but compared to hotels we've stayed at elsewhere, we would rate it about 2.5 stars. Very average accommodations, pool, grounds, food, etc. The customer service was terrible. With the exception of the concierge (not employed by the hotel) who booked us some excursions, we found everyone else at the hotel (front desk, business center, wait staff, etc.) to be rude and not accommodating. My husband is a Gold Starwood member and we were still treated rudely. The bellmen lost our luggage on our final day and we were also overcharged on our bill. Luckily, I had kept all of our receipts to prove them wrong. Apparently, someone else had been billing meals, etc. to our room but we barely even got an apology for that. The one nice part is the beach access but other than that, it was an extremely disappointing stay for a place in Starwood "Luxury Collection". I would not recommend this hotel to anyone - not worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Executive at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Mr.\Mrs.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We apologise for the issues experienced in some services during your stay and even though all efforts are always made to ensure our guests’ satisfaction, sometimes some unpleasant situations do happen.

Kind Regards,
Rita Ferreira
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    287
    111
    49
    28
See reviews for
444
426
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I attended a conference at this hotel. It is well designed around cobble courtyards atop cliffs overlooking the beach. Nice pool areas. There is lift down to a wonderful beach. You can walk literally for miles along the beach and there is a pleasant beach bar. Also a wonderfully situated sunset bar on the top of the cliffs. Even in late October it was still beach weather. I cannot really comment on the food as this was conference buffet fare, but it was certainly of a higher standard than normal, as was room service.

The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are large and appointed in marble. It just feels a little bit standard and resort-y and the furnishings in the room are a bit early 90's. But as long as that is what you expect then you'll be very happy here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lovingmyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Executive at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Mr.\Mrs.

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort.

Kind regards,
Rita Ferreira
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We've stayed several times at the Sheraton resort and it's always a great experience. Service is five stars, as well as a great location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SimonyPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Executive at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Mr.\Mrs.,

At Starwood properties \ Pine Cliffs Resort we highly value your feedback which enables us to maintain the high standards of our Resort.

We are glad to learn that we were able to provide you a most enjoyable stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rita Ferreira
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This is a lovely hotel with plenty to recommend it – but don’t go there if you are looking for peace and tranquillity.

First, the many plus points – the hotel is in a beautiful situation, it is well designed and the public areas are light, airy and spacious. The rooms are furnished to a high standard and even the most basic category has plenty of space. The grounds are extensive so even when the hotel is full it doesn’t feel too over-crowded. When we were there in mid-July there were plenty of sunbeds available – and there was not any early reserving of the best spots, although this did seem to creeping in towards the end of our stay. As well as all the golf facilities, there is a good water sports station on the beach, although the Atlantic is a bit cold for water skiing etc even in the summer! The beach is extensive and nice and clean, but as all beaches in Portugal are public, it can get quite busy. There is a good choice of restaurants at the hotel and the food is excellent. But undoubtedly the best thing about this hotel is the staff. They are universally excellent -polite, friendly, professional, helpful. From the room cleaners to the senior waiters, guest relations to concierge, everyone is committed to delivering quality service and ensuring their guests are well looked after. I could think of a good many five star hotels that could learn a lesson or two in staff attitude from the Sheraton Pine Cliffs.

A few observations – as I said, even the standard rooms have a lot of space, so if you are planning to be out and about for most of the day, these are more than adequate. Because the hotel is low rise, I would recommend asking for rooms on the second (ie top) floor, as this minimises any noise from the restaurants or pools that may be beneath your window. This is particularly important if you ask for a sea view room – the hotel is set back from the cliff so you will make the most of your view by being on the top floor.

Although there is both a rain shower and hand shower with the bath, I would have expected a separate shower in a hotel that in every other area sets high standards. Maybe higher room categories have this.

While the food in the restaurants is excellent, you are of course paying five star prices – but the concierge has a list of restaurants outside the hotel. We tried four and they were all extremely good, and the prices in the ‘typical Portuguese’ were particularly good value. Some are very local to the hotel so you won’t have to pay a fortune in taxi fares either.

So what’s the drawback? This is something that you cannot really blame the hotel for, but it is the behaviour of a lot of the other guests! I was going to single out misbehaving children but their parents are equally at fault for letting them get away with it. We are most certainly not anti-children – we have one of our own, although he is now a teenager – but when he was younger we would not have let our son get away with the sort of behaviour we encountered time and time again at the Pine Cliffs! Are rich children more petulant than the less well off? The sound of whining began at breakfast and was constant throughout the day and well into the evening. Children were allowed to run around in the restaurants, often playing football and other games. The worst example was the evening we spent in the Moroccan restaurant. With the sort of spicy food on offer, we felt sure this would be relatively child free. Instead, the place was overrun with children, and as most did not seem to like the food, they ran riot, getting in the way of the serving staff, the belly dancer who was performing and even bouncing footballs in between the tables. But who would have been at fault if a waiter had spilt hot food on one of the children or the belly dancer had fallen on one of them?

We were lucky that we did not have any children in nearby bedrooms – we did speak to one couple who were regularly woken at 6.30am by children shouting and running up and down the corridor outside.

There was evidence that the hotel had tried to deal with this problem in the past – there was a sign (no longer in use I fear) saying that certain areas of the grounds were not for the under fives, one swimming pool was shallow, the other fairly deep. However, there were plenty of children – many with water wings – in the deeper pool, along with an assortment of inflatables that made ordinary swimming nigh on impossible at times! And although one restaurant did say it was not for the under eights, again this rule did not seem to be observed very closely.

In a sense, the hotel is a victim of its own success. It is a perfect family hotel and it therefore attracts a lot of families. That’s fine, but if there are any parents reading this and considering booking, I would just ask that they show some consideration for other guests and control their children. It can be done without spoiling anyone’s fun, believe me! And to the hotel, I would suggest that they look into putting in another adults only swimming pool somewhere.

If you are a couple, looking for a quiet romantic break, this may not be the place for you – and certainly not in the school holidays – unless you are extremely tolerant (and own a pair of ear plugs!).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank BBOnTheMoveMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Mr.\Mrs.

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort.

Kind regards,

Rita Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

It's my second review to Sheraton Algarve because this year i stayed 4 times and all just perfect.
The hotel is located in a perfect place, far from the main scene!
For many people the rooms are a bit old Fashion, but very well maintained.
Trully you pay for what you get, trully a 5 stars service.
Look forward for my next stay...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taxitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Mr./Mrs.,

At Starwood properties \ Pine Cliffs Resort we highly value your feedback which enables us to maintain the high standards of our Resort.

We would like to thank you for your loyalty to our resort and we do appreciatte your kind comments regarding your stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours
Manuela Malveiro
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Once more the overall service at the Sheraton Algarve was outstanding. We loved our room although it wasn't on the sea side, we felt a warm global reception and spent a fantastic week-end. Out of season and not going to the beach or playing golf we spent a marvelous time- Congratulations!

Room Tip: Ask for the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroPimenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Mr. Pimenta,

Thank you for the time taken to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to learn that we were able to provide you a most enjoyable stay. Your feedback encourage us to exceed your expectations and deliver special moments.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Manuela Malveiro
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterlooville uk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I cannot fault the hotel at all. We even had perfect weather.

From the moment we arrived, until the moment we left, everyone was friendly and efficient, but with that little extra something.

Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kebabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Mr.\Mrs.

Thank you for the time taken to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you have fully enjoyed our Resort and we do appreciate your kind words regarding our associates. Your comments are of a great value to us and will contribute to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment.

We look forward to welcome you again in a future visit.

Sincerely yours,

Manuela Malveiro
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.5 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,005 reviews
1.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,516 reviews
12.2 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Sheraton Algarve Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, formerly known as Sheraton Algarve, offers recently renovated rooms, enhanced and extended dining options, and a brand new, 1000m2 Serenity Spa, The Art of Well Being. Pine Cliffs Hotel has a stunning cliff-top location above Portugal's longest beach, Praia da Falésia. All of the beautifully decorated rooms and suites at Pine Cliffs Hotel include in-room entertainment systems with LCD TVs. All rooms also include furnished balconies with garden or sea views. The resort features 5 tennis courts, a 9-hole golf course, a beach club and a mini golf. For children and teenagers, the Junior Club provides a variety of activities such as mini-golf and football. The property is a 1-hour drive from Faro International Airport. Free on-site car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albufeira
Sheraton Algarve
Albufeira Sheraton
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing