We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week is just not long enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #16 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A week is just not long enough!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Sheraton Pine Cliffs Residences, and a week is just not long enough. The Residences are FULLY equipped with everything you need - we were a family of three adults and found them extremely spacious and comfortable. We were in S1 which overlooked the golf course and was extremely central to all the facilities.

We only ate twice in the buffet restaurant (Jardim Colonial) and we too found the experience slightly disappointing. Instead we used our 35 euros per person (we were on a half board basis) to eat in all of the other restaurants around the complex which was a great experience - we particularly enjoyed the lobster at the Beach restaurant, the sizzling prawns at the Piri Piri and the fillet mignon at the O'Grill - which is where we ate breakfast every morning watching the golfers whilst enjoying a glass of champagne.

We always try to stay at a Sheraton Hotel as you are pretty much guaranteed a good standard when travelling abroad - I have to say this is one of the best we have stayed in and cannot wait to return next year. Well done to all the Staff and THANK YOU! for a great holiday.

Also a recommendation to anyone wanting to book transfers from and to Faro airport - we used YellowFish Transfers they were brilliant - we have used pre-booked transfers previously and had some bad experiences, but they have renewed my faith. Cannot speak highly enough of them - would definitely recommend to other travellers and will certainly be using them again

Room Tip: Splash out and stay in the Residences - well worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SueLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time taken to post your review on Tripadvisor.
At Sheraton Algarve Hotel & Pine Cliffs Resort we highly value your feedback which enables us to maintain the high standards of our Resort.
We are glad to learn that we were able to provide you a most enjoyable stay and we appreciate your comments about our facilities and employees performance which was highly appreciated.
Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Guest relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    293
    114
    51
    28
See reviews for
454
434
29
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We checked in late in the day and chose to have the buffet dinner in the Jardim Colonial dining room, which is not unreasonably priced for a 5 star hotel. Unfortunately, we had a poor experience. We complained to the front desk with little success so I emailed the Director, Mr Munro, whose business card you are given on check in. He responded very quickly and referred our issues to a manager, Mr Martinez, who firstly sent champagne to our suite with a hand written note of apology, expressing how they are constantly endeavouring to improve service. He meant what he wrote and we were looked after extremely well for the rest of our stay.

Other reviews have commented on the beach being a long walk. Yes, it is, but it is worth it. There is a restuarant down there as well.
The Pescador restuarant is outstanding. We were looked after by the manager,Vitar, who was charming and attentive.
The breakfast is good--we have had better but also worse. The staff work hard and are very pleasant and speak english. The hostess, Luisa, is wonderful and remembers the names of many of the guests.
The concierge desk staff are very pleasant and work hard to help you.

We had decided to splurge and booked a suite which was very nice. It was described as "resort view" which, in our case, meant the parking lot. The room, however, was very nice and had a private patio so we did not complain.
Older people should be aware that this is a family resort so there are a lot of children around.

Our only real complaint was that wifi is not free, not even in restaurants where you are paying for a meal. It is free in the lobby which is an inconvenience. This,however, is a corporate decision and cannot be blamed on management.

All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Holmes,

At Starwood properties \ Pine Cliffs Resort we highly value your feedback which enables us to maintain the high standards of our Resort.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our management and we are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and we were able to meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed in an S residence for 10 days at the end of July with 6 and 8 year old grandchildren and daughter.Accommodation excellent with fully equipped kitchen. The resort is beautifully landscaped throughout. Most of the S residences are about 10 minutes walk from the hotel and the excellent supermarket just outside the main gate.However , the best swimming pool the one pictured in all the adverts, is 2 minutes from the residences as is the bistro for the excellent breakfast buffet.The residence reception staff are all very helpful ,particularly Liliana who helped with a taxi problem and Patricia who very quickly arranged for two small maintenance problems to be dealt with.Marco on the pool towel service was particularly helpful and the train driver "Mustachio" was very cheerful.The children were perfectly happy in the pool and we only visited the beach on one day.
The glass lift down to the beach saves a lot of walking but the beach is not really accessible to someone with ambulatory problems.The bistro staff could not have been more helpful and were wonderful with children,We would certainly stay at the residences next time we visit.

Room Tip: S1 to S7 residences are all in a good position overlooking the landscaped areas and golf course and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i4j4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We are very glad to now that you have fully enjoyed your stay and we would like to thank you for your kind comments on our services and employees performance.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort, in future.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Espagne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have just enjoyed a stay at the Sheraton Algarve. The hotel is absolutely perfect, beautiful. The beach, although very tiring to reach, due to many, many steep stairs, is a dream. The employees are most of them very nice and polite, although service is not very good, not too well organized and not very efficient always. They should improve. Another negative aspect is the availabilty of the resources at the hotel, I went at least four times to the gym and never found the treadmill free, and as there was no limitation in time you could wait even an hour. It makes certainly no sense. At the beach the sun beds are not enough either, but the boys at the beach are very nice and always have available umbrellas. I would recommend The Grill restaurant.
An overall satisfying experience, but with things to improve in a Luxury Collection hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Silvux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort.

Kind regards,

Liliana Vieira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my 2 children in a Garden View Suite which suited us fine in terms of space. The room itself was very clean and the children slept on a sofa bed in the lounge. The staff were friendly and professional and the food, on the whole, very good, although I would expect better pool service from a 5-star hotel - it was random at best. The property itself is huge so lots of walking from the room to the various pools, kids club and restuarants. The beach is quite a hike with small children but the food at the beach club was by far the best of the resort. The staff at Cafe Corda were fantastic as is the pizza!

My one major gripe was that, having spent a fair amount on a suite in the hotel, I was then charged for all the other activities in the hotel including the kids club (50 Euros for a morning for 2 children), 15 Euros for a round of mini golf, 7 Euros each for a movie night for the kids, and 14 Euros a time to join an organised football practice/match every evening for the boys. I have never stayed in a 5-star resort where those things were not part of the package. The wi-fi is charged if you want access in the room but a free connection is available in the lobby. It is also very slow!

So, on the whole, it was perfectly fine, but I would have expected that little bit extra from a 5-star resort.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and was lovely and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsTravelChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort.

Kind regards,

Liliana Vieira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Excellent holiday. The staff were very friendly and accomadating. Beautiful beach and grounds we left the hotel twice and found the restraurants on site much superior. Excellent breakfast. Service around the pool was slow and because we arrived early in the morning the room was not ready. Activities for children had to be paid for but well organised so we did not mind. We used Yellow Fish transfers and found them excellent punctual and very accomadating. Overall we will be back as we enjoyed our experience

Room Tip: Did here the music at night coming from Albuferia direction
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Guest,

At Starwood properties we highly value your feedback which enables us to maintain the high standards of our Resort.

We are glad to learn that we were able to provide you a most enjoyable stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Liliana Vieira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is a very nice hotel. The staff at reception is great and the room is very nice, clean, comfortable, ocean views, terrace, among other things. The hotel's beach is the best part of the hotel. The beach is beautiful, huge and fun and has a beach club. The only bad thing is that the service at the beach club is bad and they don't provide service on the beach. I also got food poisoning from one of the meals from the beach club. The worse is the breakfast, with terrible food and service. This is also a family hotel so if you are not traveling with children, you may want to reconsider this option.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and they motivate us to continue to improve our services and to create lifetime memories.

We do regret to learn of the inconveniences upon your recent visit, therefore we would like to discuss your comments through the email address at 00199.algarveguestrelations@luxurycollection.com

We look forward to welcome you again at our Resort.

Kind regards,

Liliana Vieira
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.5 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,039 reviews
1.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,548 reviews
12.2 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Sheraton Algarve Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, formerly known as Sheraton Algarve, offers recently renovated rooms, enhanced and extended dining options, and a brand new, 1000m2 Serenity Spa, The Art of Well Being. Pine Cliffs Hotel has a stunning cliff-top location above Portugal's longest beach, Praia da Falésia. All of the beautifully decorated rooms and suites at Pine Cliffs Hotel include in-room entertainment systems with LCD TVs. All rooms also include furnished balconies with garden or sea views. The resort features 5 tennis courts, a 9-hole golf course, a beach club and a mini golf. For children and teenagers, the Junior Club provides a variety of activities such as mini-golf and football. The property is a 1-hour drive from Faro International Airport. Free on-site car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albufeira
Sheraton Algarve
Albufeira Sheraton
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing