We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and chilled” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed and chilled”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. We got a bogof deal which brought the overall price down to acceptable. I'm still floating around, felt so relaxed and rested. The bed was worthy of a mention as it was very comfortable - and I'm quite fussy! There are lots of different places to relax, with lovely grassed areas that overlook the sea and back onto the pool. The beach is lovely and has that nice level sand down by the shore line to walk on and watch the sunset.
The breakfast was fabulous, we started with mimosas, moved on to full english and then grazed on bready things - they have a quinta which supply's the jam for the hotel - tomato marmalade was a revelation! Anyway good to be too full because I thought the other restaurant food was not great for the money charged. Stick to burgers, club sandwiches and calamari if you eat there. We went just outside the resort gates and had barbeque sardines and rose very reasonably on the last night, cant remember the restaurant name but it is to the right hand side of the row of shops with a large covered area.

Room Tip: Room 40 is a grand deluxe, for us it was in a perfect position. Right at side of hotel overlooks po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Legendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to share your comments and observations on TripAdvisor following your most recent visit to our Hotel.
We are glad to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay and that the service you received helped making your stay a memorable one. Thank you very much for your words on our Beach, breakfast and the room provided. It is a true pleasure to see that you hold us in such high regards and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    277
    103
    45
    26
See reviews for
427
403
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked for 3 nights with a group of six friends. When you arrive first impressions are good with a smart looking reception area and very attentive staff. The check in staff were aware that we had booked the trip as a group however they placed us in rooms that were 5 minutes walk from each other. The first room they gave my wife and I had a strong smell of stale tobacco despite the hotel describing itself as 100% no smoking. The bell boy agreed that the smell was really bad and said he'd get an air freshener to cover the smell up. I told him this was not a cure for the problem and it took 20 minutes of messing about to find an alternative room.
They moved us to the room above which had the same awful view over the carpark. The room itself was tired but comfortable but had very noisy air conditioning that woke us up when it came on in the night. The balcony had a huge ugly concrete block on it that ruined the view and made you feel hemmed in when you sat outside. Below was a dirty open roof structure with bin liners stacked underneath. You can get the general idea from the photographs I have attached.
Despite the noisy air conditioning you couldn't here noise from other rooms or the corridor and the beds and pillows were sumptuous. Wifi in the rooms was not free, which is unacceptable now in a 5 star hotel.
The hotels design means it's spread out over a wide area meaning long walks to the reception, restaurants and bar areas. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone with pushchairs or with walking difficulties as there were numerous stairs and ramps everywhere.
The first 2 mornings we sat in an area for breakfast, that was tooked away half below ground level. We weren't told until the last day that we could sit in a much nicer area with nice views over the gardens and cliffs out to sea.
The hotel has a good selection of places to eat and the food is good quality at prices that you would expect in a hotel of this standard. We used the tennis courts that were well maintained and in a nice location but they were expensive and no deals available for hotel guests. We did not use the golf facilities.
In summary the hotel had a nice atmosphere with great staff but was let down by a tired hotel and a room that was way too expensive considering the awful view and the bags below our balcony. I personally would not stay here again based on my first experience.

Room Tip: Ensure they can guarantee that you won't overlook the carpark when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor, your feedback is highly appreciated.
We are very sorry to see that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and please accept our most sincere apologies.
We kindly ask you to please email us at 00199.algarveguestrelations@luxurycollection.com, so we may discuss the matter further and assist you in any subject that you intend for necessary.

We hope that your experience on this occasion would not deter you from returning to the Hotel Sheraton Algarve in the future as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back and provide you with a memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a lovely, relaxing resort! Rooms are spacious, well-appointed and immaculate. As always the Sheraton comfort (beds and bedding) provides a perfect night's sleep. The rooms are also quiet, private and have balconies. The resort itself is set on a cliff with beautiful pines. Multiple pools make swimming easily accessible, however you can also take the elevator down to the beach. There are many stairs after the elevator, so this may not work for everyone. But the resort is so lovely it doesn't matter. The breakfast buffet was terrific, however food in the other restaurants was only so-so. There are numerous other restaurants across the street from the hotel, however, so there are plenty of options for eating. We had planned to do a lot of site seeing in nearby towns while staying here, but the resort was so relaxing and beautiful that we couldn't motivate ourselves to leave. Also, many kudos to the hotel staff- they were gracious, welcoming, attentive and helpful! We could not have asked for more!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are always a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn how much you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for letting us know how relaxed it was. We also would like to thank you for sharing your feelings about our property on TripAdvisor. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed the rooms, the breakfast and overall the facilities of our Resort. Your feedback is extremely important to us, as it motivates us to continue to improve our services. We have no words to thank you for your kind compliments on our associates. Thank you very much for it!

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked two days at this hotel, hoping to relax after having been on the road in Spain and Portugal visiting. It is a family hotel and they must package family deals for people from England who probably do not pay the 270 euros a night we paid. At breakfast, children are yelling, running around - this little boy touched at least 5 pieces of bread before choosing his own ( under the vigilant eye of his mother I must add) Now I am sure this 5 year old conscientiously washes his hands when he uses the bathroom but still.
At lunch we waited for an hour to get a 17 euros sandwich, I had the ciabatta and I nearly broke a tooth. My husband wanted to return it, but did it mean waiting for another hour?
Our room was old, and tired and needed renovations.
The pool was not heated and only children ventured in.

I have just returned from the Bristol in Vienna - another luxury collection and we also stayed at the Marques De Riscal. That hotel should not be a category 6.

When we checked out after 2 days (and we would have left anyway) nobody was there to help with the suitcases, they probably were busy somewhere else.

I will not go back. And if you have 3 or 4 kids, it's the place for you. If you are a couple and want to relax, keep looking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kisha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We regret to learn that we have not met your expectations and please accept our sincere apologies. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us as it allow us to improve our services and makes possible to follow up with the necessary measures.
Kindly note that we are a familiar Resort and your stay coincided with a period of school holidays, so there was a large influx of families with children, for this reason please allow me to invite you to come back to visit us outside the school holiday period.

We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in a future visit and we are truly confident that your next stay will be memorable

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I organised a group conference at the Sheraton for 100 colleagues in May 2014. We chose the Sheraton Algarve for its location (30 min transfer from Faro) and fantastic facilities. I had never stayed at the hotel, nor did I visit the hotel before the group arrived, so the visit was organised on the trust of photos, lots of emails and lots of phone calls with the hotel events team. The events team are fantastic, the best I have dealt with (previous conferences have been held at Ritz Carlton Hotels). They were contactable at all times on the lead up to the event, and were contactable 24hrs a day whilst we were staying at the Hotel. Their knowledge, and love for the hotel was very apparent :)

The Hotel and Pine Cliffs resort is a massive resort. We only had accomodation in the hotel. At first the size was a bit daunting but as a group we only needed to stay in the hotel's vicinity. Reception can provide maps if you want to explore. I would describe the hotel as 'traditional luxury'. My room (224) was fantastic, split over two floors (bedroom upstairs, living area downstairs), with a large terrace. It did not have obvious sea views, but if I looked left I could see the sea! The room was very clean and very well stocked with towels and toiletries.
We had 100 rooms booked and I did not have one complaint regarding the quality, decor or cleanliness of any room.

For our conference we used the Sao Rafael room, which had doors that opened out to a roof terrace, perfect for coffee breaks. The hotel do not have audio equipment so we had to use an external resource which the hotel introduced us to. The room was light, airy and spacious.

As a group we had two buffet lunches at the hotel. The food was amazing. Plenty of choice, very good quality and presented beautifully. No complaints whatsoever.
We had a group BBQ dinner at the hotel in the Tabu Garden. A beautiful location, and a fantastic set up. Perfect for a business event or a wedding. Again the choice and quality of food was fantastic and the staff amazing, very friendly and good fun. We ended our evening in the Aldar bar (Moroccan themed) for some late night music and dancing. The bar is set up with disco lights and a private bar. We didnt get a DJ or a band, instead we plugged in iphones!
Both lunches and the dinner went without a hitch and couldnt have been in better locations (pescador terrace for lunch).

During our stay the group participated in Golf, tennis and spa activities. All very high standard set ups and very enjoyable.

For our team building activity we had 'beach games'. As previous reviews have mentioned, it is a bit of a trek to the beach. There is a lift, BUT, it is quite temperamental. A few of our group got stuck in it.....

The hotel pools and grounds were beautiful. The hotel grounds are well spread out, and at times we felt like the only guests at the hotel (even though they were full!).

We had an amazing time here, and can't recommend it more highly. A beautiful hotel with experienced and fantastic staff. A perfect place for couples, family or business (even solo!).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and for your kind comments.

We are happy to learn the events held at our Hotel were a success and the support of our events team was outstanding and highly contributed to everyone’s satisfaction.

Your kind compliments on the accommodation provided, meeting room and event facilities, as well as on the quality of the food are very rewarding and motivating.

We are glad to learn the leisure activities provided nice relaxing moments to the entire group and please accept our apologies for the shortcomings experienced with the beach elevator. Please rest assured we will investigate the situation reported.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your nice compliments on our service and facilities and we look forward to host your future events or to welcome you and your team for some relaxing days.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Although we did not stay at the Sheraton, we dinned on two occasions at the Jardim Colonial and Pescador. I have to say, the food was exceptional and the service second to none. It was a pleasure getting dressed for dinner and being seated with like minded guests.

I have no hesitation in recommending these restaurants and add, the wine list is both quality and inexpensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaytom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Restaurants.

Is gratifying to receive such praise on the food and service and it makes us very happy to learn it was a pleasure for you to visit us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you more often and maybe as a guest at our Hotel and Resort.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Lovely staff can't do enough for your rom arriving at the reception entrance
This has been our 6th visit
Lovely surroundings beautiful beach but be aware after taking the lift down you still have about 150 steps to take down and of course back up,when at the beach you can walk into villamoura about 4/5 miles
The hotel has lovely restaurants although a little pricey to local restaurants but worth it and no more expensive than going into Alburfura
Also great place if you like golf , but not full of in your face golfers

Love this hotel and will be back in September

Room Tip: Fantastic well worth a visit also great for kids at the kids club
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 508Ricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Is a pleasure to acknowledge that all your 6 visits to our Hotel have been the most enjoyable.

Your comments about our associates, the beach, Golf, Restaurants and surroundings are very important to us and all Sheraton Algarve team extends our sincere gratitude for your compliments.

We hope you will continue to elect our Hotel as your preferred residence whenever visiting the Algarve and we look forward for your 7th visit!

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
11.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
0.3 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Sheraton Algarve Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, formerly known as Sheraton Algarve, offers recently renovated rooms, enhanced and extended dining options, and a brand new, 1000m2 Serenity Spa, The Art of Well Being. Pine Cliffs Hotel has a stunning cliff-top location above Portugal's longest beach, Praia da Falésia. All of the beautifully decorated rooms and suites at Pine Cliffs Hotel include in-room entertainment systems with LCD TVs. All rooms also include furnished balconies with garden or sea views. The resort features 5 tennis courts, a 9-hole golf course, a beach club and a mini golf. For children and teenagers, the Junior Club provides a variety of activities such as mini-golf and football. The property is a 1-hour drive from Faro International Airport. Free on-site car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albufeira
Sheraton Algarve
Albufeira Sheraton
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing