We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent first class hotel & complex !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #17 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnificent first class hotel & complex !”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here for one week with ten family members. It's our second visit & we will be definately returning next year! Stunning resort with extremely friendly, helpful, & very professional staff ...nothing is to much trouble for them. We stayed in two of the Residences and on arrival my family were promptly upgraded to a penthouse suite which was a very nice touch. My daughter in law was disappointed with the block she had been allocated but within hours reception had sorted out a new residence in the block we had requested when originally booked. You cannot fault the accomodation it's first class all the way. We found all the restaurants excellent and the standard of food and choice very high. We especially enjoyed the mirador bar in the evening got the most fantastic views from where you can watch the sunset The men played golf & were very impressed with the beautiful course while the ladies sampled the spa which was probably one of the best massages I have had Christopher was first class. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone with young families through to teenagers. If there is one fault & it's only a minor one there maybe should be some kind of evening entertainment going on for those children and parents that want it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to learn that you had a memorable and indigenous stay with us. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for your kind compliments on our associates, facilities, golf and spa. It is pleasing to hear that our efforts to deliver a memorable service are well recognized and our core values were able to exceed your expectations.

We also would like to thank you for recommending our resort to other reviewers.

We do hope you come back to our Resort in the near future and we look forward to welcome you.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    283
    106
    48
    27
See reviews for
438
414
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have just returned from a 9 night holiday with my wife and my 10 year old daughter. We booked half board via Jet2 holidays.
First of all I must say that hotel, grounds and beach were absolutely stunning. It was a very relaxing holiday and came back refreshed. Was also impressed again with Jet2.
However there were a few faults to this hotel which will prevent us from returning. We have been lucky enough to have stayed in numerous 5 star complexes like this one around the Med and the canaries but this one fell short of others.
Main gripes.

Quality of food in buffet restaurants not very good. Food was always lukewarm and choice limited. Liked the O grill buffet as they cooked the meat/fish fresh.
Nothing to do in the evening. We were amazed to find out on the first night that there was not music/show on for all ages. We asked reception about what they had on for my 10 year old daughter and was told just the amusement arcade!
It seems that all families do is eat and retire to there rooms. It just meant we were back in the room a lot earlier than we expected.
Also, my daughter loves the pool but also likes to do other activities. There was a junior club but we had to pay extra for it. 7 euros/14 euros per activity. This was not explained in any websites so we were a bit disappointed. The club was Ok but very quiet. Sometimes she was the only one there!
Lastly, the prices of drinks. I do realise that you have to pay a premium when in 5 start hotels but did think it was just a bit too pricey. All that happens is I order less and buy more from the local supermarket.
I joined the Starwood Hotel club before I left which does gets you discount on some restaurants but not on drink. It is easy to do so I would recommend doing it.
Anyway, to summarise, a lovely, relaxing, clean hotel. We met some lovely families and had a great time but it just didn't provide the whole package for us. We will not be returning for this reason.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardronaSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having share your feelings about your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read your compliments regarding our hotel, grounds and beach. However, we do regret to learn that some aspects were not able to exceed your expectations. Your remarks were worth of our best attention and shared with the Management Team for their consideration and action and please accept our sincere apologies. Despite your disappointment, we hope that we are still allowed to welcome you back to our resort and we will make your next stay memorable.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Set on cliffs overlooking the beach the location of this resort is just perfect. The resort is very huge with lovely gardens, play area for kids and golf course as well. It is extremely kid friendly with a huge play area for kids which includes mini golf as well. A mini train which shuttles within the resort is also a major attraction for the kids.But apart from the facilities & beauty of this place I must comment on the service levels offered- they are best we have got till date in Europe. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful- the food options within the resort were awesome and of course food was extremely tasty. We wanted veg options which weren't in the menu but they made it specially for us. Would definitely visit this place again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Portugal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Preeta1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor, we are grateful for your recommendation.

We are delighted to learn that all aspects of your stay were enjoyable, particularly the service you received. We are thrilled with the amazing compliments on our associates and we are proud to learn we have exceeded your high expectations.

Thank you for the nice comments on the children facilities, the train shuttle and the food quality.

We are happy our chefs went the extra step to meet your requirements.

We hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future where further memorable experiences await.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Sheraton Algarve will always be a must for me. It's a short flight from the UK and offers an almost instant feeling of relaxation and escapism. My daughter married there this year. She was looking down from her balcony in her wedding dress and a little girl looked up and pointed and said "there's a princess" and that's how everyone at Pine Cliffs made her feel. Everyone must stay here once in there lives, relax in the gardens, walk the long beach and lose yourself. Finish the day at the bar on the cliff and pinch yourself, it's real!

Room Tip: Lots of great rooms, not sure if the sea views are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveking57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to learn how much you enjoy staying in our Resort and we are enchanted and thankful for your outstanding feedback.

It was an honor for us to host your daughter’s wedding and we are delighted to learn we have been able to create a magic and romantic experience for her and her guests.

We would like to thank you for your recommendation and also your daughter for choosing our Hotel for such an important event and we look forward to welcome you back for more memorable family moments.

Sincerely yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We loved this property - perfect for kids. There was so much to do with the little ones and we had great accommodations. The view was on the parking lot but we had plenty of space to spread out (family of 5). Our dining experiences on the property were expensive and disappointing but we solved that by going into the town and had some great meals there. The staff was wonderful! Very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CzechCanadianChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your kind remarks regarding your experience.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us and we would like to express our gratitude for the word on our associates.
Your feedback is highly appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely Yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
163 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here from August 29th for two nights. We came here for a 40th birthday.
During my stay my wrist watch was stolen from the safe in my sister's room Rm 108, I stayed in Rm 155. I dropped our passport, money and wristwatch in her safe as she had checked in a day before while we were waiting to be checked in. We then went off to ZooMarine. When we came back my wife picked up my items from the safe. On check out 2 days later on the way to the airport I discovered she had forgotten the watch in rm 108. I called the hotel and went back to check my room 155 and checked her safe myself, the watch was not there. I reported this to the hotel by email and they promised to look into it. I left for Lisbon. My sister was due to check out the next day. The next morning I got an email from Bernado Pedro that my watch had been conveniently found after my sister had checked our in the open safe that I had personally checked in rm 108. I then asked that the watch be sent to me in Lisbon and Bernado told me it would cost between €300-€400 to send this to me from Albufeira to Lisbon. Which was outrageous. So I opted to travel 3 hours back by train to pick up my stolen now returned watch, and another 3 hours back to Lisbon. I have not had such a shoddy treatment from any hotel in my life. Considering more than 18 of us had come to Algarve to celebrate a 40th birthday party. On top of that I was going to be defrauded of another €300-€400 to send a wrist watch from Albufeira to Lisbon. My watch dealer in Lisbon ANSELMO 1910 confirms that this price should not have not have been more than €30 with insurance, a service the use regularly.

Room Tip: Rooms are okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Poppie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest
We are glad to know that you have received your watch, which was found in your safe, and that the situation was clarified at the time.
We would like to thank you for your feedback, and please consider us available for further assistance, through out the e-mail: 00199.algarveguestrelations@luxurycollection.com.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We just spent 6 nights at the Sheraton Algarve after being in Spain for 10 nights. We were very impressed. The grounds were beautiful and absolutely gorgeous views everywhere you went.

We were first placed in a room right above one of the restaurants. We did pay for an oceanview room, and while this room did have a view, it wasn't the best. We did talk to Hugo who was the man in charge of the room accomadations, and he did show us another room, which was an upgrade. We decided to stay in our room, as the room we were shown, while it had better views and was bigger, it was very boxy with different rooms (sitting area, bedroom upstairs, etc.). Anyhow, to make a long story short, we had noise issues below us for the next two nights/mornings, and Hugo arranged for us to be moved as someone was leaving from a room exactly like ours, but it was at the end of the building where it was very secluded and a floor up, which was a much better view. He never made us feel like we were annoying (and I'm sure we were :) ) and he handled the situation with such professionalism. We were very impressed. He wasn't there on the day we moved, but had arranged with Pedro to take care of us, and again, such a nice man and very professional. Everyone we encountered in the front desk area (concierge, front desk staff, etc.) were absolutely amazing.

Yes the restaurants/drinks are much more expensive than if you go off the property, but I think you expect that with any hotel/resort, especially a higher end one. We booked our room with breakfast included and it was well worth it and very good. We did eat dinner at Corda Cafe (casual), Piri Piri Steakhouse and O'Grill. They were all very good. We also ate at the Italian across the street (it was ok, but nothing special) and an amazing restaurant in Albuferia called Ricardo's (also Italian). We sat on the roof top terrace and had lovely views and an excellent dinner. Both were very reasonably priced.

Lobby bar was beautiful and the entertainment we saw on two occasions was excellent. Actually the hostess at the breakfast buffet was the singer and she was very good.

Oh and we were informed that the hotel is undergoing a total renovation starting in October, as the rooms and some common areas are a bit older compared to the timeshare/villas. Although it's still beauiful now, I would love to see it once it is completed.

I really can't say enough about the service we received everywhere. It was first class all the way (without being snobby). All in all we had a wonderful time at this property and would definitely return if we were ever in the Algarve again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenAy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a fabulous review of our property on Trip Advisor, your comments were highly appreciated.
It was certainly a thrill to read your feedback and very rewarding for all of us at the Sheraton Algarve Hotel to learn that service provided was so much appreciated. Thank you very much for your kind words. We also would like to thank you for your compliments regarding our associates Hugo and Pedro. We are happy to know you have enjoyed so much our Resort and its breathtaking views and we hope that you have the opportunity to return and stay with us once again.

Sincerely Yours,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.8 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.5 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
12.2 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
7.3 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
12.2 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Sheraton Algarve Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, formerly known as Sheraton Algarve, offers recently renovated rooms, enhanced and extended dining options, and a brand new, 1000m2 Serenity Spa, The Art of Well Being. Pine Cliffs Hotel has a stunning cliff-top location above Portugal's longest beach, Praia da Falésia. All of the beautifully decorated rooms and suites at Pine Cliffs Hotel include in-room entertainment systems with LCD TVs. All rooms also include furnished balconies with garden or sea views. The resort features 5 tennis courts, a 9-hole golf course, a beach club and a mini golf. For children and teenagers, the Junior Club provides a variety of activities such as mini-golf and football. The property is a 1-hour drive from Faro International Airport. Free on-site car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albufeira
Sheraton Algarve
Albufeira Sheraton
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing