We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Grounds, Great Resort Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Grounds, Great Resort Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The grounds were huge and fantastic. The cave and portion they owned on the beach were definitely the best of the whole beach. The beach restaurant was superb - that was the fist thing we did when we arrived and we felt like we were in paradise.

What was surprising to me was at fist they put us in a room where the air conditioner didn't work. The rooms are big so there is a lot of space to cool down. Also be prepared to be given things and then have it just added to your bill. We went to the Japanese restaurant on the grounds and the waitress said here are these to taste (without ordering it), and then it showed up on the bill.

They eventually fixed the air conditioner the first night and were very apologetic so turned out it wasn't that bad.

The concierge was SUPER HELFUL she was able to map everything out and gave us the ins and outs on what to do on our stay and she was right!

All in all very positive experience great place, would recommend, thanks.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you so much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is very rewarding to read your recommendation and we would like to thank you for that too.

We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed the grounds, the beach, our beach restaurant and the service provided by our Concierge. However we regret to learn about the air conditioner and the misunderstanding at Yakuza restaurant and please accept our sincere apologies and be sure that your remarks were promptly shared with the Management Team for their consideration.

Once again thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Algarve.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    277
    103
    45
    26
See reviews for
427
403
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Pros: resort is huge meaning it doesn't feel crowded despite there being a lot of people there. Quality of food in restaurants very high and a good variety of restaurants too (Italian, Japanese, grill, seafood, etc). Nice overall ambience to the place. Spotlessly clean. Swimming pools excellent, especially the one in the Pine Trees part of the resort


Cons: we had a sea view room but experience spoilt by fumes wafting in from the BBQ in the seafood restaurant below. Apparently we were 'the first to complain' but I seriously doubt it - we were offered a room change but frankly we couldn't be bothered with the hassle of repacking/ unpacking a family of 4's possessions. We just didn't go out on to the balcony. Room refrigerators are ancient and it took 2 days to get a beer cold. Also prices are very high: 6-7 euros for a beer, 4.50 euros a coke. We seemed to get fleeced everywhere we went, e.g. in restaurants a bread basket would arrive unprompted but you'd see the charge on the bill. Also when it came to settling the bill there were drinks added on to some receipts which we hadn't consumed, so I'd recommend checking your final bill carefully - the duty manager cancelled these but not after wading through old receipts and invoices to check I was right - wouldn't it have been much easier to simply trust your customer for the sake of 30 odd euros??

Room Tip: Avoid sea view rooms, unless you like the smell of a seafood restaurant BBQ wafting in during aftern...
See more room tips
Green Features: Their towel laundry bill must be enormous as they provide pool/ beachside towels
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LPSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

Your comments are very appreciated and we would like to thank you once again for the compliments on our property, quality and variety of restaurants, ambiance, cleanliness and swimming pools. However we do regret to learn about the remarks you have bring to our consideration and we promptly shared with the Management Team for their consideration. We are sorry and please accept our sincere apologies.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Portugal and please contact the Guest Relations Team for further assistance or any other subjet.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

It was a business visit but I felt like I was on holiday and all due to first class service and hotel.
Starting from reception to housekeeping and people who handed out towels, I felt taken care of and welcome every time.
I hope to visit again and this time longer and purely for relaxing!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your review and we would like to thank you for the compliments on our customer service. It is very rewarding to read the kind words you have posted regarding the housekeeping and reception service which show us that kept our core values and we were able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you once again for your kindliness and we look forward to welcome you back again and next time for a longer stay .

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The pine cliffs Sheraton is a fantastic family hotel. The hotel has
real class and if you are looking for an upmarket hotel where money is no object then I can't think of many better in Europe that cater for kids. The townhouse we stayed in was comfortable and very private. Set in beautiful grounds it offers up picture postcard settings at every turn. Then there is the beach which stretches as far as the eye can see beneath the pine tree strewn cliffs. Truly magnificent views but only for the fit an able bodied. The stairs to the beach are just manageable with a toddler on your shoulders but the lift to the top of the cliff is a welcome site. The restaurants are of a quality you would expect with prices to boot. The imported steak in the piri piri restaurant was delicious but at 49 Euros probably had its own seat on the plane.

This really is the only thing I can fault this hotel on after a thoroughly enjoyable stay. To be frank I am probably not quite wealthy enough to stomach an average of 250 euros per day to eat and play. Even the tennis (which was fabulous) was 30 euros. This in my opinion to hit a few balls with a 6year old at 7oclock at night leaves a bad taste.

Despite the cost the hotel is fantastic. It reminds me of some Italian hotels with climbing flowered wisteria in abundance and lots of perfectly tiled courtyards with painted tiled murals. If you have the cash to splash and want a short flight for kids (btw kids club 80 euros pd) then this is the place for you. I am going to have to work hard to make this a regular family jolly but have been filled with fond memories even if they were expensive ones.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read compliments about the hotel, we are delighted with your kind words.

Your remarks regarding the prices were shared with Management Team for their consideration.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Algarve.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Excellent location for a holiday trip. All what you need, restaurants, beaches, services. Breakfast is excellent, rooms are nice and well equiped. Personnel is very friendly and professional. A special remark for beach which is wonderfull.

Room Tip: Choose your holiday in August if you want to make a bath into the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Florin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is very rewarding to receive your kind words regarding the location of our property as well as the facilities, beaches and services. We are happy to learn that you found everything you need at our property.
Your compliments on our associates are also highly appreciated and show us that our core values were maintained, as it should be.

Once again thank you very much for taken time to give us your feedback and for considered a dream holiday location, thank you for highlighting this point.

We look forward to taking care of you again here on our property.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Nearly the perfect place. Yes, you can find a few details that are not perfect, like an içe machine that was not working on our floor or, like somebody else said, you could hear a faint music from the distant hotel only on saturday night (nothing that could bother your sleep)... And the Piri-Piri restaurant where service is pretty messy. On the other hand the views, the beach, the pines and everything is just there to help you relax. One thing to mention: the golf course. Easy, very large fairways, no water obstacles and the people that assist are just the best. We will be back

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tredueuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the stay with us and we are glad to know that our associates from the Golf Club were able to assist you.
We are happy to learn that the location of our property it was able to exceed your best expectations and thank you for your for posting on TripAdvisor, it is very important for us.
Your remarks regarding the Piri Piri restaurant were promptly shared with our Management Team for their consideration.
We do regret to learn that the ice machine on your floor was not working during your stay, now they are fixed but please accept our sincere apologies.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit where an indigenous experience is waiting for you.

Kindly,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here for one week with ten family members. It's our second visit & we will be definately returning next year! Stunning resort with extremely friendly, helpful, & very professional staff ...nothing is to much trouble for them. We stayed in two of the Residences and on arrival my family were promptly upgraded to a penthouse suite which was a very nice touch. My daughter in law was disappointed with the block she had been allocated but within hours reception had sorted out a new residence in the block we had requested when originally booked. You cannot fault the accomodation it's first class all the way. We found all the restaurants excellent and the standard of food and choice very high. We especially enjoyed the mirador bar in the evening got the most fantastic views from where you can watch the sunset The men played golf & were very impressed with the beautiful course while the ladies sampled the spa which was probably one of the best massages I have had Christopher was first class. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone with young families through to teenagers. If there is one fault & it's only a minor one there maybe should be some kind of evening entertainment going on for those children and parents that want it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinecliffsAlbufeira, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to learn that you had a memorable and indigenous stay with us. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for your kind compliments on our associates, facilities, golf and spa. It is pleasing to hear that our efforts to deliver a memorable service are well recognized and our core values were able to exceed your expectations.

We also would like to thank you for recommending our resort to other reviewers.

We do hope you come back to our Resort in the near future and we look forward to welcome you.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
11.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
0.3 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Sheraton Algarve Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#17 Family Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort, formerly known as Sheraton Algarve, offers recently renovated rooms, enhanced and extended dining options, and a brand new, 1000m2 Serenity Spa, The Art of Well Being. Pine Cliffs Hotel has a stunning cliff-top location above Portugal's longest beach, Praia da Falésia. All of the beautifully decorated rooms and suites at Pine Cliffs Hotel include in-room entertainment systems with LCD TVs. All rooms also include furnished balconies with garden or sea views. The resort features 5 tennis courts, a 9-hole golf course, a beach club and a mini golf. For children and teenagers, the Junior Club provides a variety of activities such as mini-golf and football. The property is a 1-hour drive from Faro International Airport. Free on-site car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albufeira
Sheraton Algarve
Albufeira Sheraton
Pine Cliffs Hotel, a Luxury Collection Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing