We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best detox I have had”
Review of Vila Mimosa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albufeira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vila Mimosa
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The best detox I have had”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was the 4th detox I have done in approx 7yrs and have to say this was my favorite in many ways , Portugal is a 2.5hr flight from Manchester (my last dteox was in Thialand) everything from first contact with the team at Villa Mimosa was very professional. Collection from the airport on arrival and a very warm welcome as I arrived for my time with them as I eased gently in my detox programme at the villa . Nothing was to much trouble and I had an amazing time simply feeling my body detox completely over the length of my stay. The management team run a very professional operation but mainly a very friendly programme to suit the individual on the detox . Accommodation is very comfortable and clean with everything I needed . Top class highly recommended would 100% join the team here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
107
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I had a great stay in Vila mimosa. The staff was very friendly and always trying to make you happy. The rooms were clean and the 'food' was tasty! I loved the morning walks and the swimmingpool was a relief on the hot afternoons. I would definately recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigridesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glabbeek, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was my first experience with a detox programme, and a very good one! I have been guided for my detox and my trip some weeks before my stay in Vila Mimosa, also getting guidelines for the week after. I only have superlatives to describe the organisation, the programme, the welcome, the professionalism and dedication of all staff membres, and last but not least the friendliness of everyone around. They are really focused on their guest's welbeing, doing every necessary effort. I was travelling on my own, and enjoyed every minute. I liked the focus on detox, healthy food, walks, treatments and other activities, it's a very balanced programme with sufficiënt possibility to adapt to your own need. I was in a group of around 17 ladies, several of them coming to Vila Mimosa for the second, third or even fifth time! Great experience, again on my wishlist for the future. Thank you Karen, Kees, and all the team! Big hug! Caroline

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to Vila Mimosa. This time I followed the mild fasting program all week. Once again I left feeling energised and trim but the difference this time was a feeling of familiarity; the routine was easier and with the mild fasting I had more energy for the exercise on offer. I lost the 2 kgs I had gained over the winter, gained a sun tan and caught up with friends I'd met on my prior visit.
I would recommend thia retreat to anyone looking to get away from it all and rejuvenate. It won't disappoint.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I had been on a detox break in Thailand before, which was a really nice, experience, however for me the travelling left me feeling jetlagged for several days and although I lost weight it seemed drastic, with colonic irrigation and clay drinks, which didn't taste great. Vila Mimosa for me was exactly what I wanted from a Spa break and felt more like a health farm, with healthy juices and soups making me feel full of energy and vitality. I did 8 days juice fast and 4 days mild fast. The juices tasted delicious and I have continued to incorporate them into my daily regime. The soups really filled you up and you could have more than one bowl, with as many herbal and fruit teas as you wish. A massage and four lymph drainages were included on the twelve day fast and I booked another two massages. The staff are all lovely, nothing is too much trouble and they will cater for individual needs. There is a morning stretch, a morning walk which helps you to get to know the other members of the team, there is an exercise class late morning, aqua aerobics in the afternoon and an evening stretch or yoga, you can opt out of any of the classes and if you wish you could wear the bath robe supplied, all day if it suits. There is also a sauna and relaxation area and the open fires in the morning and evening gave the place a very homely feel. 2 trips each week are included to Albufeira and Loule and other trips are also on offer including an e-bike ride which is fab. I absolutely loved it and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

What a fantastic experience Karen and the staff maintain... Every day I noticed more of their simple touches, from the dressing of the dining room table, tea lights on the stairs, home made face and body scrubs, hot water bottles to the gorgeous smell of the newly lit fires in the morning. Nothing is too much for them. I was looking to blow away the cobwebs from the winter months and I certainly got that in abundance. The week left me feeling warm and as if I had been wrapped in cotton wool all week... perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own merit. My room on the first floor had a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I have been in villa Mimosa over the last 18 years, so I can call myself a specialist on the different quality levels over the years: This management is the best ever!
She makes sure that the guests feel welcome, at home, at ease. Karen sees everything, pushes her staff to their optimal service and pleases everybody, also during though times. The results are astonishing, everybody wants to come back, so I have learned.
A great place to be, I felt totally reborn and happy.
Peter Langendam

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.9 mi away
Vila Joya
Vila Joya
#13 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#16 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.6 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#20 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
3.7 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Mimosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Mimosa

Property: Vila Mimosa
Address: Vale Rabelho | Gale, Albufeira 8200-428, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Vila Mimosa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing