We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tale Of Two Halves” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel da Aldeia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel da Aldeia
Ranked #137 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
lancashire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Tale Of Two Halves”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Well, half of the Hotel Da Aldeia faces the noisy nightclubs of "The Strip" and the other half of this hotel faces its tranquil pools and gardens. If your room is in the half facing The Strip you will NOT sleep until gone 5 a.m. each night, whereas if your room is in the other half your nights will be calm and peaceful. Your peace will come at a price though as the quiet half rooms cost 5 euros per night more, but this is worthwhile if you want rest assured. The hotel has made no attempt to screen out the street noise and maybe prefers to charge for room upgrades instead. Food is enjoyable, staff are helpful, and rooms are basic but clean(ish). We would stay here again but only if our room was on the quiet half as we value our sleep.

Room Tip: For Pete's sake DO NOT book a room facing The Strip!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank singlegirllancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    72
    97
    59
    94
See reviews for
54
137
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We have a five night break at this hotel last week in March and it was just fine. We didn't pay much at that time of year and certainly got value for money. No complaints at all about the room itself, it was spacious and comfortable, and our pool facing balcony was really roomy as well. Bathroom was fine - shower good, lots of hot water, and comfy beds. I really don't know what some people expect! The food too was fine - there were some things I didn't fancy but always a good selection of salads and two or three hot mains plus veg. The people who asked for a chip butty make me laugh, each to their own, but when there's a range of good food on offer its not surprising the staff are susprised to be asked to make chips for a sandwich! I actually found the dining room staff in particular to be very helpful and attentive. The hotel was obviously quiet at the time of year so we didn't experience the entertainment. The pool area was also very nice, but because of the stiff breeze we weren't there that often. The rooms facing the Strip would probably be noisy at night - but our room was fine. Perhaps later in the year the location might be more for a younger clientele but we certainly enjoyed our stay al Aldeia in March.

Room Tip: Definitely worth booking a pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BertienBryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

First impressions on arriving were great. The reception area was very grand and clean. The staff on reception were friendly enough but we didnt like having to hand our passports over for the duration of the stay!!!! The rooms were fairly basic but served a purpose. Our room and balcony was located overlooking the strip where there around 4 lively bars directly opposite. This was great for a few drinks in the evening but awful when we tried to get to sleep. We mustave only slept for 28 hours max the whole week we were there. The food wasnt the best but we didnt book for that reason. Instead we took a stroll down the strip most evenings and only used the hotel for breakfest.

This hotel is ideal for young couples who want a healthy mixture of sun, sea and nightlife. The club/bar reps arnt sleazy like they are in places like magaluf and families are welcome it seems at all hours.

We used the hotel as a "base" and spent most of our time on the beech or sight seeing. For this the hotel was excelent and served its purpose. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull, great britain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

everyone very friendly. rooms clean and roomy. food good sometimes things i didnt like but thats my fault for not liking fish. right on the main strip and only a little trip on a tourist train to get to old town. weather was really hot during day but cold on night. we are planning to return back end of september.

Room Tip: if going high season get a poolside room as this hotel is on the main strip and apparently very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2012karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

I am writing this review to stick up for the Hotel Da Aldeia as i can't understand what all the complaints are about me and my wife have visited five times. Lovely bright reception area, lifts to all floors, shown to your allocated room within 5 mins of arrival. Nice clean pleasant room, balcony, plenty of hot water, room ammentities, clean towels, friendly helpful staff, nice bar area, good breakfast and food, lovely pool area and gardens AND QUIET! Plenty of surrounding bars and resteraunts especially Green Bar and Elfornel steak house (think its spelt right.) Always nice sunny weather, March, Dec, Oct always lovely and sunny.
The advice i would give is you MUST NOT book a room at the street side, a pool view room is a must if not then dont expect to sleep. Although this is through NO fault of the Hotel Da Aldeia this is the fault of the local authority who allow discos and bars to be open after midnight and allow the noise and commotion to continue well into the early hours! - LaBamba is the main culprit for all the noise!
See you soon! Mr Grayston

Room Tip: Pool view room is a must, i cant stress this enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank akdjajaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

we arrived at this hotel which we thought looked ok, we knew it was going to be noisy on the strip as the comments said on here, when we seen the rooms we thought was ok nice and big staff was friendly. as we looked around hotel it was very old fashioned and could tell it was built quite a few years ago but still we thought it was ok. we went down for tea on the 1st night and walked away with out eating anything it was all fish, rice salard nothing that me or my family would eat, we asked the staff if they did chips to have a chip butty they looked like we had 4 heads. tea for the whole 7 days wasnt good and always cold but we went down just to see and would have soup thats all we eaten not a big choice of food neither. breakfast was ok bacon every other day but with cold beans. if you want toast go down 30mins before planned because thats how long it takes to make toast. if you are staying at this hotel i advise you to take extra money incase you dont like the food like us and there is always lots of places on the strip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hayley ward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I felt I should write a review about the Hotel Da Aldeia after reading so many negative reviews on this site. I travelled with my boyfriend in September 2011 and we were unsure as to what we had let ourselves in for after we saw all the bad reviews, so I really feel like I should put people right. The Hotel da Aldeia was fantastic. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a lovely big reception area and very friendly staff. Checking in was quick and easy and our room was waiting for us. The room was much bigger than I had expected, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and quite modern with a powerful shower. The balcony was also a good size. After reading about the noisy street side of the hotel, we decided to request a pool side room when we booked. There was absolutely no noise from the strip at night on the pool side of the hotel. I can imagine it is very noisy on the street side, so I would highly recommend booking the pool side. The pool area itself was great. Very big area, very clean, plenty of sun loungers and a big pool. Also a big baby pool. The pool area got sun for the whole day. We were also impressed with the pool bar which had a good selection of snacks and meals for lunch. The restaurant was good with a lovely outdoor terrace section where we could eat (we did this most nights). Most people decided to eat inside which I didn't understand as outside was lovely, warm, clean and a nice atmosphere. The dinner buffet provided a big selection of food. There was always soup, bread, salad, rice, vegetables and pasta. The meat dishes varied each day, however there seemed to be a lot of fish on offer. Not being the biggest fan of fish, this wasn't great, however there was plenty of other food to fill up on. There was always a selection of three or four desserts which was good. The hotel bar (Cafe a Jardim, I think it is called) was great with a very friendly bar man who made a fantastic sex on the beach. The bar has an outdoor seating terrace lit by candles in the evening which has a great atmosphere. Lots of comfortable seating out there. There was also some entertainment here including a very good jazz musician and Tropicana which was a parrot show. The hotel bar is a good place for predrinking as the drinks are cheaper than the bars on the strip. Behind the pool area there is mini golf and a tennis court which we did, and had lots of fun. The staff at Hotel da Aldeia were absolutely lovely, always smiling and asking how we were, especially the bar man! The location of the hotel was also good. The local beach (oura beach) is a five/ten minute walk. The beach itself was quite busy but lovely golden sand and beautiful sea. The strip was very much as expected, full of loud, rowdy, mostly British people. Good for a night out but you really feel like you want to get away from it in the day. I would recommend visiting the Old Town of Albuferia as it has a little more life in it than the strip. Lots of lovely cafes and restaurants and a gorgeous huge beach. Highly recommend the piri-piri chicken at Cafe Velho just above the beach. There are loads of little gift shops around the Old Town too. We took a boat trip out for a tour of the caves which was lovely. We sailed with Mara and chose the sunset cruise (5-8pm). The boat moves along the coastline which is actually quite spectacular - amazing rock formations and huge caves. Unfortunately we couldn't go into the caves on this day as the sea was too choppy but it was still a lovely trip with the sun setting over the sea on the way back. All in all, I have to say I enjoyed the holiday but I would not go back to Albufeira. The place lacked culture and was full of embarrassing drunk Brits. It was good to get away from this and visit the Old Town. I also felt there wasn't much to do for days out, besides the boat trip we took. The hotel however deserves a very good review as it was certainly better than expected. It was big, clean, friendly and in a good location. It is such a shame the strip brings it down. It is also a shame that the lovely staff have to deal with the disgusting Brits who cause trouble. The staff were always happy to help and provided a great service. The other guests at the hotel were mainly British and Spanish and, we felt, extremely rude. When it came to dinner, they behaved like animals, scrambling for their food and pushing people out the way and when it came to manners, they had none. This selfish attitude from the other guests was also seen every morning at half past seven when we would wake up and look out from the balcony to see practically every sunlounger 'bagsied' by a towel. This left the less selfish of the guests with no where to sunbathe. I would recommend moving peoples' towels if they do this as some people would use the loungers for twenty minutes in total then walk out of the hotel leaving the towels down. Finally, to sum up this too long review, I have to say that as a hotel, the Aldeia, was great. We booked through lowcostholidays which was also great, as our transfers were on time and waiting for us. Definitely a very good hotel! Don't listen to the bad reviews, I seriously was baffled as to what they were talking about when I was there!

Room Tip: Definitely request a pool side room when booking to get a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank esd91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#89 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.7 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#39 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#97 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Choromar Apartments
Choromar Apartments
#66 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#149 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Aldeia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Aldeia

Property: Hotel da Aldeia
Address: Avenida Dr Francisco Sa Carneiro, Albufeira 8200-340, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Aldeia 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel da Aldeia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Aldeia Albufeira
Hotel Da Aldeia Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing