We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms bit dated but happy with everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos
Ranked #104 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“rooms bit dated but happy with everything”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Rooms could do with a lick of paint but you only sleep in them ... pools lovely one day looked a bit green and hill was a killer but had a great holiday and would definately come back brill holiday do not take any notice of bad reviews excellent location

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexilexi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    214
    261
    136
    264
See reviews for
194
464
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Absolutely nothing wrong with this place. We paid for basic, budget accommodation and this is what we got. It was clean and tidy and a very nice setting.

Pros-
- Decent location for the beach and Old Town
- Poolside restaurant is very tasty and reasonably priced
- Well kept rooms and scenery
- Great views from some of the rooms, overlooking pool area, Old Town and the beach
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Close enough to the lively bars and clubs for a cheap taxi ride (about 6€) but far enough to not be kept up all night

Cons-
- Not great if you need wheelchair or pushchair access. There are a lot of steps around the Complex and the hill back from the beach and Old Town is a toughie!
- My bed was a little hard, but the rest of the party didn't have any issues
- I am struggling to think of anything else!

Albufeira is a lovely place full of decent restaurants and nice bars. Decent beach too. If you are looking for somewhere cheaper to stay but you want to avoid nasty run-down hotels and complexes then head here.

Just a note on a few mentions of the old-fashioned décor in the rooms- that is actually the Moroccan theme that they are aiming to achieve. It certainly isn't anything to complain about- if you are in your room that much then get out and enjoy Portugal!

Room Tip: The 'garden view' was well worth it for the view over Old Town and the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daggerchristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We have just returned from the Jardim and had a very enjoyable holiday. It was a budget holiday so didn't expect a top notch room. Although the decor is a little dated the room was absolutely fine. It catered for our needs. We did have an issue on the last day where the hot water and electrics went and the shower broke. We reported this to reception and they said they would send someone up that night while we were out. We returned and the hot water was back on but the electrics and shower were still not working properly. We were leaving the next morning so reported it again so the next visitors wouldn't have any issues!! To be fair I'm not sure how much time people plan on spending in their rooms while on holiday apart from sleeping so the decor shouldn't be a massive issue!

The pool area was good. The pools were clean and if you're up at a reasonable hour you should have no issues getting the sunbeds you want. The bar restaurant provided a range of snacks which were always tasty.

The apartments are up a hill. One of our party was pregnant and had no issues walking into town every night. We did choose to get a taxi home each night from the old town which cost a maximum of 5 euros. The old town is lively and has plenty of things going on. A great choice of restaurants and bars. At the weekend it seemed a lot of stag and hen parties arrived which might put a few people off.

Overall we had a great holiday with another couple and wouldn't put anyone off choosing these apartments.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitehotlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We have just got back from here and in general had a reasonable holiday. This was more to do with the resort than anything else. We are a family of 5 and stayed with a couple who had their own room. They stayed in block E1 or E2 just as you go in in a studio. You can access the veranda from the street. As I say first night they locked up before bed but in the night my mates wife got up and opened the patio door. In the morning discovered everything gone.

Now the issue here is that this can happen anywhere. However, not just anywhere but first night when we all know everyone has a little sherbet. My guess is that this apartment is either watched on new arrival day or people get tipped off from within. So soon in the holiday people often weigh up whether to have a safe or not. They struck immediately and with some guile and courage.

The worse thing was that no one is bothered. Not an apology, a free drink or even the offer of a move as you may feel scared. The people here and across the resort generally are rude, obnoxious and very unfriendly.

If you already have a holiday booked here, dont worry you can enjoy it. Just play safe get a safe or take everything out with you. If when you get there you have a studio or room on the ground level ask for a move please and use our experience as evidence.

The rooms are dated but clean. The maids were great and work hard. I will not slate them they are good. The pool also is generally clean but has little shade for the kids. It is expensive I think and was very understaffed but newbies started as we left. If you combine this with what I call miserable service then it aint good. I always seem to go home with a holiday pic with me and the waiter or barman/bargirl. No fear of that here.

Tip. Happy hour between 5pm and 7pm does not apply in the restaurent even though its from the same bar. Bizarre. So if eating in go to the bar yourself. The Old Town is lovely hills are steep and tiring. Eddies bar is ok, Zansi for good food.

I just cant help but feel if you stay in a hotel and you get broken in to and lose 800euro someone could say Im ever so sorry, have a fre drink. Not a f****n dicky bird. They are NOT bothered. Be safe. Albufiera is lovely, its just a shame its not in Spain.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room. Sea view in room 55 C1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2011

we came here on the 18th june till 2nd july apartments needed new decor but they were clean and got clean towels when we needed them. pools side was lovely our 2year old son loved it. 1 pool looked green for a few days but was getting cleand every morning would stay here again.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank robbieemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

As a couple we have just returned from a holiday at this hotel to wish i would describe as a disaster. The hotel itself is extremely dated, basic, grubby aside from the gardens which are well maintained. The rubbish bins around the hotel were over flowing and there are many ill looking cats roaming about the complex. The rooms are dark, no air conditioning, the beds are solid sofas of which you need to push together, hot water is limited and the floors werent swept once while we were there.
Now to one of the worst expiriences of our lives.. on our last night, whilst sleeping in our so called beds, due to the lack of air con, we had to leave the balcony door open a little. But didnt think it would be dangerous due to being in the middle appartment on the first floor, however.. whist asleep our room was entered by a burgler and all of our posesions stolen. The frighteneing part is our mobile phones were alongside us on the bed because we had our alarms were set for the morning and even they were taken! Phone, charger and adapter was taken from right alongside my head as i slept! The appartment was one room so the burglur was in the room all around us!! Can you imagine the shock in the morning and imagine we had chidren with us!
Although we lost everything the hotel reception didnt seem bothered at all! We asked if we could use the phone to contact home to cancel our phones and cards etc, of which we were told that we would have to pay for the call?? We then had to catch a local bus to the police station to make a statment, no offer of a lift from the hotel even though they have a hotel minin bus parked outside.
To sum it up.. regaurdless of how cheap and pleasant it may appear i would never ever advise anybody to even contenplate staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank chillybeanWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Booked a hotel with icelolly .com and flew with easy jet to Portugal was a good flight. An then booked a taxi transfer from the Airport , this was all a big deal to us as we have always booked a package holiday before.
I was more worried about the transfer side of it as i didn.t pay before hand , i was so relieved when i came out of the arrival hall and saw a young lady from yellowfishtransfers holding up my name on a bright yellow piece of paper. She was so welcoming to us and introduced us to the driver who took my case and us straight to the car it was very easy. the drive took 30 minutes and we got a bottle of wine as a gift he assued us that we would be picked up at reception in 2 weeks time ,we were . They let us pay the driver at drop off .
Albufeira Jardim gardens and outside area are very nice and well kept and the apartments are clean but very basic and old we are used to a little bit more up market , however saying that it was fine and we were on a budget so you cant expect too much . We were at the top of the complex it had a sea view but was a treck back up there after a day in the sun or a night out.
The Old town is lovely and has lots going on . the beach is also very nice.
We had favourite restaurants, Ricardo,s the Italian and tasco viegas next door which was good for fish and has nice front to sit out.
We would like to return in the near future......................

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maseyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.1 mi away
Varandas de Albufeira
Varandas de Albufeira
#138 of 154 in Albufeira
880 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#112 of 154 in Albufeira
181 reviews
2.0 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#79 of 154 in Albufeira
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#63 of 154 in Albufeira
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mar a Vista
Mar a Vista
#126 of 154 in Albufeira
183 reviews
4.8 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos

Property: Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos
Address: Cerro da Piedade, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Onthebeach, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Albufeira Jardim Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing