We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos
Ranked #118 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Reviewed 1 September 2008

My grandaughter(aged 11) and myself have just returned for these lovely apartments. They were spacious and our sun terrace was larger than my garden at home. The apartments were spotlessly clean, and bedding and towels were changed twice in the week that we were there. I would def go back there again next year. The sun terrace we had was bigger than my garden at home. Reception staff were more than helpful on many occasions. And to those people who have written a review and complained about there 'being no kettle' - well of course there wont be you never get issued with a kettle abroad, its always 'you put the pot on to boil' all part of the fun of being on holiday. These apartments were only about a 10 minute walk into the Old Town and Square, so near enough to be near to everything but far enough away for a nice nights sleep.
Have a trip on the 'Noddy Train' up to the New Town or the 'Strip' a great night out and only 2 euros to ride the train. Try the chinese restuarant up there, it was the best meal we had all week - not saying the others werent nice - it was just the one we enjoyed the most.
We booked the Aqualand day out through Reception and it couldnt be easier, you get picked up at the entrance to the complex and dropped off at the end of the day - a brilliant day out!!!
Beware of the prices of the sun loungers down at the beach!!! buy your own parasol - much cheaper - loungers were 10 euros - mega expensive we thought. Beach gorgeous - but very cold!!!.

All in all a wonderful holiday, we'd never been to Portugal before, but would most defianately return again and most defianately to the Jardim apartments - great.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treaclePortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2008

This was my first visit to Portugal. I travelled with my husband and son, and 2 other families with their children. As this was a pretty cheap 2 week holiday, I wasnt expecting any frills. The apartments are set in the hillside so be prepared for a steep walk down into town and a much harder walk back up. We did it with pushchairs which does wonders for your thighs and calf muscles! Not good for the less moblie.

Apartments are basic but clean with regular towel change. Studios consist of sofa beds which are very hard but we got used to them quite quickly. Take a kettle as none of our apartments had one.
My only real complaint with the apartments was the occasional noise at night. Families and groups of young people were not seperated and therefore when we were trying to sleep, we could hear the younger residents returning from clubs in the early hours and the obvious comsumption of alcohol means they were not always concious of the amount of noise they were making! Add to that the dustmen turning up at 4am, and some nights got pretty noisy!

Pool area ok, although pool needs cleaning much more regularly and thoroughly. Water very cloudy even first thing in the morning with a visible film of grease on the top. 3 of the 4 children in our party complained of earache during our stay and several guests were suffering from sickness. May not have anything to do with the pool but looking at it some mornings made us wonder.
150 euros for a sunlounger by the pool! Some days we were charged and some we werent, seemed to depend on how busy the pool barman was.

Pool bar and restaurant handy and good value for money. Restaurant served good food all day and we found the staff accomodating and friendly, to the point they cut my son's toast into fingers as they grew to know this is how he likes it.
Watch the guy organising karaoke at the pool bar in the evenings, especially Saturday nights, absolutely hilarious!

Lovely town square offering a wide variety of restaurants. However, you get seriously stung on bread offered at the start of the meal. They charge per person per item, i.e. bread, butter, sardine paste etc all charged seperately and this can add up, especially for us as we were a party of 9 in total so bread alone at the start of a meal can add around 9 - 15 euros to your bill. Also check the prices of beer in restaurants. We were paying 4.50 per beer in some places where in a bar you may only pay 2 euros.

If you are getting a taxi from the airport to your hotel, agree a price before you set off. We had to get 3 taxis and were charged between 40 - 55 euros.

Beaches are beautiful but again, hiring of sun loungers expensive - 15 euros per day!!

All in all a good value for money holiday. We got what we paid for. Would we stay there again, probably not due to hilly location and late night noise.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WatfordGumbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

i went with a friend just for 3 nights. when we got there the staff were ok but did not go out of their way to be helpful. we wanted to book to go on trips which said it was possble to do at the reception but the staff were too busy talking on the phone to take any nhotice of the guests. when they did get round to it they just said everything was fully booked or no longer availiable so we were like why advertise it then. later that day we went ito the town into a booking office where we had no problem getting on the trips we asked about at the hotel, they just could not be bothered. i will warn anyone staying about that its at the top of a hge hill, very hard work. the pool was really nice and the room itself was ok and kept clean but no air con so did get quite hot in there. it was good value for money so i guess you get what you pay for. we had a excellent holiday the hotel did not put us off.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

*we stayed in JARDIM 1 not JARDIM 2*

Me and my boyfriend, aged 19 & 21 booked this holiday in March earlier this year. Ver y excited about our holiday we regularly checked trip advisor to see what other people thought and were abit anxious when we read how apparently awful it was. When we got there, the hotel staff were great and really helpfull. They spoke very good englis and the check in was quick. We were a 10 minute walk away from the beach and old town which is where you will find very nice food and traditional portugese surroundings. We were also a 5euro taxi ride away from the 'strip' which is where the club scene was. The only thing people could complan about was the amount of steps but anyone fit enough can handle it! Thepool bar staff were very friendly and service was efficient. We stayed in a studio which was very spacious. Not 1 coackroach to be seen, no pubic hair i the sink etc as some people have said. Maids came everyday with clean towels etc everyday but sunday. There is clearly a difference between jardim 1 & 2 so make sure you know first before reading the back comments on here. We had a great holiday and would definately recommend the hotel to anyone!!

I give it a BIG FAT 9/10 =)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bubbles5159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

Have to agree with the most recent posts of the Jardim. Its a cheap and cheerful place to stay. This is our second time at the Jardim so we knew what to expect, we were there in 2003 and nothings changed. Its a shame because they seem to have let it go a bit and its in need of a lot of repair, (doors, shutters, general mainternance) but our studio was fine, no cockroaches, lovely sea view, very big, very clean, we had maid service every day, they were really friendly and they cleaned the whole room and mopped all the floors. Its says clean towells twice weekly but we had them every other day. Clean sheets once a week. We didnt bother hiring the remote for the television because you only get the news channels and we wanted to get away from all the doom and gloom back home. The studios have a microwave and a full oven and 3 rings but only 2 of them work because they,ve disconected the big ring to save on electric. When you turn the oven on the radio goes off, which we found a giggle. There was karioki on most nights at the bar and the young bar man is lovely as were all the staff, except for one woman at reception, (as mentioned below, very abrupt and unfriendly.) The walk down to the beach is long and downhill and also lots of steps to actually get down onto the beach but its nice if you take it slowly. Just remember you have to go all the way back uphill, they actually call it *cardiac hill* but if your young and able its a great work out, you,ll sweat all the beer out from the night before and you,ll come home with muscles like Arnie. We stayed at the pool most days and it was a great atmosphere, lots of Sunderland and Celtic guys who were there for the football and they were a real laugh and we ate out each night in the lovely restaraunts around there. All in all we couldnt fault our time there and we just LOVE Albufeira and the lovely friendly people. (i,d stay in a tent as long as i can be there). The Jardim is fine if your able bodied and you dont mind basic. I emailed them after i,d booked and requested a high floor with a sea view ,so we had 140 steps up to our studio but it was worth it to wake up to the lovely sea view.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank disc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

I was really worried about staying here after reading some of the reviews but the minute I stepped in the room I was totally relieved.

The apartment needed updating but was clean and spacious and much better than I'd anticipated. There was no kettle or toaster and the sofa turned into 2 single beds but I was expecting this and forewarned is forearmed!

Never had a problem with hot water or pressure and never saw a single cockroach. The pool area was lovely and 3 euros for 2 beds and shade is nothing compared to the 15 euros they wanted down the beach. And we didn't always get asked for payment, depending on the time of day we were there.

The staff were very nice although a couple of the ladies on reception could be quite abrupt but really not enough to ruin my stay!

The walk back to the hotel from the old town was uphill but again, not as bad as it seems to be made out although I wouldn't reccommend it for elderly travellers.

I had a lovely holiday and would recommend these apartments for anyone wanting basic but clean accommodation near to the Old Town.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank workingirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Room was ok, but we had a cold week and needed heat in the evening, so had to turn cooker on. Cheap room so got what we expected, no more or less. Big pool area with cold water. yOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR, SO WE WERENT DISAPPOINTED.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Danny100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
1.9 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#142 of 154 in Albufeira
177 reviews
2.4 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
452 reviews
10.0 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#28 of 48 in Quarteira
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#135 of 154 in Albufeira
175 reviews
1.9 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
260 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos

Address: Cerro da Piedade, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: £16 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Albufeira Jardim Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Jardim - Apartamentos Turisticos Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing