We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bang on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #71 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
214 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Bang on”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Recently had a 9 night AI stay in a group of 3 couples. Considering the price (£450) it was an absolute bargain. Yes, the rooms were dated, but they were spotlessly clean. Rosa, our maid, did a fab job, we had clean towels virtually everyday and the beds changed at least 3 times. The room was quite large, in block C and had pool and sea views.
The double room was 2 beds pushed together which seems to be standard these days. Beds were not too bad and I certainly slept well.
There are 3 pools of which one is indoors. The pools were not busy- even with the sun out they were absolutely freezing! The large pool is very large...and very deep at 3.2 metres.
The food was ok during the day, a little 'samey' but not bad. The evening choice however, was great. There were always several meat dishes which my husband raved about, the salad was good. As a vegetarian there was always 3 choices, it was mainly pasta, but tasty.
As we were a larger group, they arranged a set table for us which was just for our use for the duration of our holiday. A massive rave for Alina who was a fab waitress. She shone out with her ready smile, attentive nature and polite/pleasant manner. The rest of the staff should take note - the bar staff in the Dancing Bar were rude, uninterested and talked to holidaymakers in grunts. They need some lessons in customer service.
The evening entertainment was nothing to shout about. Karaoke night seemed to be the most popular. We found a great live band at the Wild & Co bar - best bar on there. It was about a 15 minute walk to the strip.
Overall, it was bang on for the price.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Simnetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    1,060
    726
    340
    262
See reviews for
576
1,373
74
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

You really cannot fault this hotel, I stayed 22nd october to 29th october all inclusive. On arrival a lovely receptionist called Natalie welcomed us very nicely. Our room was 409 it was a lovely sea view, the room was spotless towels changed every day, bed linen was only once, but it really wasnt that hot so it didnt really matter.

The food was lovely, each day we ate three meals, and never had a bad one. A little mention for the waitress Alina, who smiled constantly despite working continuously flitting from one bar to the restaurant and so on. She was really the only friendly waitress. Our drinks in the evening (brandy and coke) started off being quite strong, but a few days later a bus load of german people turned up, and our drinks went downhill, not sure why.
Entertainment, well the parrott show was absolutely amazing, and having birds myself really enjoyed it. and on our last night the karaoke was really good.
The ONLY thing that let us down was the weather. 4 days of horrendous rain followed by 3 lovely sunny ones. My tan however didnt stand a chance .

Overall Loved it !! gorgeous break for me and my fiance, stunning views, nice food, good room, what else do you need, apart from the sunshine of course!
People who put silly gripes on here really must have nothing better to do.
There is one very rude receptionist with long dark curly hair, who tried to charge 1 euro to ring my transfer, and when i said i will do it myself her response was "do what you want" -

Room Tip: D block is where we were room 409 side sea view - big room very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

just back from Auramar Beach Hotel the hotel is in need of updating but was not bad value for what we paid. Stayed on all inclusive the lunch was ok if you like chips and burgers so we gave this a miss!! Dinner at the restaurant was average and as expected. Spent a lovely day on a trip to Lisbon just a pity the weather was poor. Not to keen on the strip area and glad we were not there in high season however the old town was great.
This was our first trip back to Portugal in 18 years and will not leave it as long next time. Dont think I would go back to this hotel but for a young family with kids I think it would be a good value holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Just returned from a weeks half board at the Auramar. Great Location (Yes I do forsee problems if you have walking difficulties) as stated by previous reviewers it is set on top of a cliff and this lends itself to fantastic views from the grounds. The Hotel is set in large open grounds which are tidy and well kept. Staff efficient and friendly (T.V. in room brokedown which we reported to the reception staff and was replaced within half an hour). Food excellent for a 3 star hotel always found plenty to eat and of a good quality. Overall great value for what we paid. Great wee supermarket called AliSuper couple of minutes walk from hotel and price for a bottle of wine starts at 1.29 Euros! Cigarette machine in hotel lobby sells JPS (pack of 20) for 3.50 Euros same price as tobaconists. Also good range of items available from Hotel Shop but slightly dearer than shops in the town.
Found staff to be efficient and friendly - if approached in the right manner!
Good location for the Strip about a 30 minute stroll into the old town - be aware all pavements are cobbled from local stone and can be difficult to walk on.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room to avoid noise from people walking along corridor above and noise from whee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Realist1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We arrived in the middle of the night and were impressed straight off by the impeccable cleanliness of the hotel.

The trip to our room was slightly marred by mini-floods and leaks all over the place, but then there had been torrential rain in the last few hours so I wouldn't necessarily hold it against them, we just had to be careful on the tiled floors.

We opened our door, and my breath was taken away: the room was larger than any of the other hotel rooms I have been in budget hotels, and the view was spectacular (block B, 3rd floor) over the ocean, even in the darkness, and the room was spotless. It took us a bit of time to work out the lighting system (I would really like the management to add a quick guide to that in their welcome pack!), but this is really quite a minor gripe.

So, what's great, not so great or downright bad about the Auramar, in my opinion?

Well, the location is superb. It is a 5-10 mns walk to either a magnificent long sandy beach, or if you go left and walk a bit further on the rocks, to a tiny secluded sandy cove, both facing South.

The hotel is spotlessly clean at all times, towels replaced daily and so on, and as I said before, the rooms are much larger than you'd expect in one of these tourist-geared hotels.

Not so good is the size of the place itself. It seems to have grown outwards and as a result going from one place to the other (say from bedroom to dining-room, or to reception) takes far too long.

The fantastic location of the hotel beach-wise has a downside, and that's it's far from all facilities, so if you need something, you're kind of held hostage to their over-priced shop or utilities. They do however run a free minibus service to the old town 3 times in the morning and once at 4 pm.

One thing we both hated was the smell in the lobby. They have this scented automated spray thing and the smell is nauseating, a sort of old Redbull and dead flowers mix, cloying and really overpowering.

What really let down the hotel for us was how poorly equipped for people with mobility problems the hotel is. Access to the dining-room from our block was impossible without having to tackle a lot of steps, no matter which way we went, and as I said before it was the hell of a long way away. I saw quite a few pensioners struggling day in day out, and I found it really difficult to have to do so much walking around. A ramp has been installed that zig-zags down to the pool but I find it a bit pointless if the only access to said ramp means having steps on the way there, and if there is a way with no steps at all, I didn't find it.

The beds were atrociously uncomfortable, we didn't get one proper night sleep in there, and I get really fed up with this habit of putting 2 single beds together and pretending that makes it a double bed. Hoteliers, please note: it doesn't. If we ask for a double bed, then that is what we should get!

Breakfast is terrible. It seems that all over Europe, they have come up with a standard formula to try and feed as many people as they can at minimal cost and without having to worry about diversity. It's bland, it's badly cooked, it never quite gets it right but fulfills their contractual obligation. If I ever go back, I will go the cafe/restaurant a few minutes away and pay for a proper full breakfast every day (about €3.50), better value and actually tasting properly.

One more thing: there is Wi-fi in the lobby, but it is extortionately marked-up at €3 for 1/2 hour, so better take your own device and buy directly online for the same supplier at 1/2 the cost.

So, in short, if you're young and fit and not fussy about the food, it's perfect. If you've got more discerning tastes and/or mobility issues, stay away.

Oh and by the way, if you plan to go for some late summer, be aware that mid-October onwards can be unsettled and not quite as warm as you'd like, so plan accordingly!

Room Tip: In block B, room 316 would have major sun exposure all day long and seemed to have a larger balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKBookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrochar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Just back from a weeks stay in the Auramar, a we could not fault it in any way. only one thing perhaps, maybe a little more vodka in the vodka sun cocktails!!!! Oh aye, and ear plugs for Humberto Douglas's singing!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barneycfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

This hotel was just as I expected for a three star, the decor was a little old fashioned, but our room was very clean, as was the entire hotel. I saw the pool being cleaned each day. Our hotel room was in D block, on the third floor, and we had an amazing view of the sea, we could lie in bed watching the sunrise and saw shooting stars from our balcony one night! There are a lot of steps around the resort and some steps down to the beach so the only people I wouldn't recommend this hotel to are people who have difficulty walking. There is a free car park for people who rented a car, as we did. The evening entertainment was just as you would expect, a reptile show, bingo, parrot show, karaoke. There was an entertainment team for children. We were All Inclusive and the food was lovely with lots of choice. If you leave the hotel via the private beach entrance and turn left you can walk along the cliff side to a gorgeous little beach that's usually quiet, or if you turn right you'll be on Fishermans Beach. It's about a twenty minute walk along the beach into the Old Town. The Old Town and The Strip (which is only a five minute walk from the hotel) are full of tourist shops, and are also full of tacky English bars which I imagine draws in a lot of stag/hen dos. I didn't read any reviews of this hotel until we got home, and I'm glad I didn't. We loved the hotel but so many people on here seem to be expecting 5 star quality at a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view. We did and ended up with a fantastic view of the pool side and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#130 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#68 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing