We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASE DON'T STAY HERE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #73 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Please anyone reading this DO NOT book this hotel. me and my partner went here for a romantic get away for our anniversary. We has 2 days before we both became sick from this 'virus we brought from the UK'...aka Food Poisoning. On the first day we were there I was so glad to see staff checking the temperature of the food as it was put out, however this is then left out for hours on end, some without heated lamps and some uncovered. Another guest warned us on the first night that people were getting sick and to use the antibacterial hand gel which was provided at locations throughout the hotel which we did religiously from that point on wards.

I spoke to the lady at reception whilst we were ill, I have been a hotel receptionist in the past and I did not want to cause a scene by ranting so I spoke to her away from the other guests and asked if anyone else was getting sick at the hotel. She made the worst mistake by pretending she didn't understand me! I then asked again if they had made people sick by giving them food poisoning which she replied ah yes the doctor has been out, it is a virus you have brought over from England!! When she tried to dismiss me I asked if I should go to the doctor or if he recommended medicine, she then pulled an empty ice cream tub from under the counter filled with all sorts of tablets and proceeded by cutting a few tablets out of each pack and passed them to me, I has to ask when I should take them...how many....she was handing these out as if she was a chemist with no understanding of our potential allergies.

The staff at this hotel seem to be very uneducated as there is such thing as viral food poisoning which this is, no effort was made to contain the outbreak, staff should have forced guests on entry to the restaurant to use the antibacterial hand gel.

On the last 2 nights still shaky and terrified to eat at the hotel even though we had paid to be all inclusive, we ventured out into the town where speaking to locals this hotel is well known for poisoning guests year after year and they do nothing about it!

Don't believe the management response I have read on another review that it was only 1% of the hotel that got sick, everyone we spoke to we asked if they had gotten sick and they all had.

This place should be shut down, it is ruining holidays and seems like nothing will be done until they end up killing someone. Such a shame as it is a lovely hotel in the perfect location.

Please take my advice, don't put your loved ones at risk!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sasha89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,926)
There are newer reviews for Auramar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,595 - 1,601 of 2,926 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We booked this late deal and got a really good price, it wasnt 5*, but thats not what we paid for!
There wasnt a big selection of choice for the food but everything that was cooked tasted good.
It was lovely to be able to just walk down the steps and be on the beach, which you can then take a lovely 25 min ish walk along the beach to the old town.
The hotel itself could do with a little TLC but we had a lovely time, drank lots and ate lots and definately got our monies worth.
It was my birthday while I was there and I had a cake in my room when I returned laster in the day, which was a lovely touch!!!
All in all it was a lovely cheap break!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xxx21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We found this hotel to have good and bad points. The staff are friendly, the whole hotel is clean, the rooms are adequate. The food in our opinion is very average. The two things that let this hotel down are the fact that lunch is not served in the restaurant but in the snack bar beside the pool which isn't to everyones taste, and there was only one bar open at a time. The poolside bar until 5pm and then the dancing bar after that. There are a few other bars which could have been easily opened, so a great many people like ourselves didn't have any area to sit and have a quieter drink and had to either sit in the noisy dancing bar or negotiate the stairs up from there with drink in hand to sit in a rather dark reception bar area. These two points were said by many other guests. Sadly we would not return to this hotel, but would return to this area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jasGlenrothes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

I have just arrived back from a weeks stay with my mum and 11 year old son . Ok so the famous sickness bug that everyone writes about none of us got it and only heard of one person being ill whilst we were there. I felt sick whilst there twice but if I'm honest I think this was just due to not drinking enough water as after some water I was a lot better. The smell in reception is noticeable when it's been raining I think this is just due to the towels they lay on the floor to soak up any water leaks. The food was good I would say they always have something for everyone. Breakfast was varied some days there was bacon and fried eggs other days this would be scrambled eggs with other things there was always plenty of bread,cereal , cold meats and cheese. Lunch is at the pool bar with a variety of choice the only downside of lunch was sitting outside and listening to the seagulls squawk for food doesn't help when people are feeding them!!!! Dinner is also a good variety of food you won't go hungry. The entertainment is picking up now the 2 girls that do the entertainment are fantastic they do a variety for adults and kids through the day and at night do free face painting for an hour and then a kid's disco. After that the entertainment was something different every night we all enjoyed the lady Gaga tribute. I would recommend getting the free bus into the old town and you can walk from there back to the hotel along the beach . The hygiene seems to have picked up a bit there is hand sanitiser outside restaurants however I did notice a lot of people walking past them!!!! Just laziness really the hotel can only do so much we have to do so much ourselves too. There are steps you can't really avoid them but through exploring you will find easier routes with a few less steps. The pathway from the hotels gate down to the beach is a hill and is uneven ground but the hotel is on a cliff if you won't manage the uneven hill just don't use it . We done one trip to zoomarine I would highly recommend this especially if you have kids the animal shows are fab we ate in the park I wouldn't say it was that expensive they done a kids burger meal and we just too our own water . Overall this hotel is good yes it has a few faults but it's not that bad just give it a chance its your holiday enjoy it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pinktartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just arrived back from a weeks stay at the auramar beach resort, After arriving at the hotel 10:30pm reception were more than helpful checking us in and explaining that we could get a snack in the restaurant, room was clean.

Food was good never went hungry there was something for everyone, soft drinks weren't upto much not your usual all inclusive drinks was local cheap versions but was ok I suppose, only thing was the mile treck down too the bar I think there should have been more than one bar opened!

Location - the location of the hotel was great close to the strip and the beach was lovely for a wee stroll!

Regarding the Noro virus we were a party of 7 and not one of us was ill.

The staff were pleasant and helpful epescially mishell the waitor! All in all was a great holiday and defiantly value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Minniemouse1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Just got back from a 4night break. The hotel was much better than expected especially as so many reviews have proved to be so 'untrue'. Our room was clean, the hotel staff were friendly and made us feel welcome. The food was basic but tasty and as this hotel is only a 3* we didn't expect much more. The gardens and pool area were well maintained.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 904JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Do not stay in this hotel. We stayed in March and were all ill with the virus I was in bed for 4 days. We were told the Eng,lush tourists were to blame. Disgusting our rom was dirty it should have been deep cleaned its no wonder everyone in the hotel was I'll.The DR was in the hotel all the time.THe reception staff are rude and the only bar you could get a drink from was down a million steps. No entertainment team nothin
Stay away

Stayed: March 2013
3  Thank picklfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#122 of 154 in Albufeira
2,896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
786 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £24 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Onthebeach, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing