We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stomach bug”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #71 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“stomach bug”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

stayed here for the second time from 29th October to 5th November the hotel was fully booked so was very busy. Like a lot of other Guests I came down with vomiting and diarrhoea on the third day. My husband reported to reception but they said there was not a problem. Nearly all the people at some point were coming down with it.The restaurant manager was very helpful and did show some concern.2 days staying in our room and I felt better although I was careful what I ate and drank. Maybe the hotel should try and confine the bug or try and find the cause.The hotel is dated but the rooms are clean the staff all work very hard .you can always find something to eat and the drinks are good quality .the setting is second to none if you are lucky enough to have a sea view you can easily get to the beach and visiting the strip is close by.I would of returned to this hotel because it does offer good value for money but sadly the dreaded bug has put me off.

Room Tip: we requested high floor sea view but were given the opposite moved rooms on 3rd day to block D on 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maturecouple186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    1,106
    753
    351
    278
See reviews for
611
1,438
79
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here from 28th oct to 4th nov location is very good did not find walk to beach that bad saw dolphins jumping in the sea . Did not notice bad smell in reception however our room stunk cleaners left a can of insect killer in the room room very dated and in need of updating . Have stayed in 3star all invlusive in other countries but this has to be the worst food prety bad left overs from day /night before was there for breakfast lunch dinner snaks were the leftovers to thats if there was any . I cant say i caught the d and v bug from hotel but 2 of our party of 4 became unwell i would return to the resort but never to the hotel i no you get what you pay for but its out of season and cost not much less than other places in season .
we could not coment on the pool as when we tried chilling out there was a lot of wasps good luck if you have booked a holiday in this hotel but saying that you might enjoy if you dont become ill. The old town is very nice 15 min walk down the lovley beach enjoy:)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnkitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Went on holiday from 27/10/2013 - 03/11/2013. Had seen reports about the bug before we went so took antibacterial wipes and we were always using the hand sanitizers around the hotel and washing our hands. We ate in the hotel the first two days and then on the third day my husband had terrible gripping pains and started with the diarrhea. Next morning I started vomiting , a doctor was called gave me an injection for the sickness and 4 lots of tables for my husband and myself, later I nearly fainted then the diarrhea started. The doctors and prescription bill came to 173 euros. The hotel paid the bill have NEVER heard of this before so they must be admitting there is serious problem at the Auramar. We later heard of loads of people who had also been ill with it. This hotel needs closing and a good deep clean and refurbishment. The food well!!! not a lot we can say about it just cold and horrible. Our bedroom was also dirty our rep had a right good old time taking samples of dust and dirt from it. The thing is this hotel stands in the most amazing spot and has beautiful gardens around it. It could be made fabulous. We are not snobs and have stayed in 2* A/I, 3* and 4* h/b accommodation over the last 30 years. The thing we do expect is clean rooms and food that we can eat and not to be ill. We loved the Algarve and shall certainly be back. NOT TO THE AURAMAR BEACH HOTEL.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I went and booked this hotel 3 weeks ago with my boyfriend. I read the reviews AFTER booking the holiday and I dreaded going as people were claiming they had the dreadful S+D bug.

I thought well too late it's already been paid for. So me and the boyfriend arrived 02-11-13 and I thought it looked okay. waited an hour for the room to be ready as we got to the hotel at 13:00pm and you cannot check in till 14:00pm.

Anyway, the hour past and we got to our room and it was one of the most breath taking rooms ever. (B102) Although room was dated but who goes on holiday to stay in the hotel room most of the time? If you're one of these snobby types then I wouldn't recommend this hotel.(I've stayed in 4 + 5 star hotels with the parents when I were younger so I do know a difference) But I just guess I'm easily pleased.

Now for the food. Yes It's repetitive but I'm an fussy eater which is my fault and not theirs. My boyfriend isn't a fussy eater and he thoroughly enjoyed his meals each time.

As for the S+D bug, how the hell can you pin point it's actually the hotel's fault? I saw another guest coughing all over the food one morning, so obviously people spreading germs around! There's plenty of sanitary cleaner for your hands. So use your common sense and use it before and after your meals.

Swimming Pool was lovely and quite spacious, although pretty damn cold! Not the hotel's fault because I decided to go at a colder month than normal.(May-Aug) There is a heated indoor pool if anyone wishes to use it.

Yes there's flies and wasps about, but the wasps were actually harmless! If they land near you, just ignore them and they'll leave you alone. Much friendlier than the British wasps lulz.

The "dreadful" smell in the reception area? Ah yeah that's called DISINFECTING SPRAY, you know...to make the place clean and hygienic?


All in all, not too bad of a hotel, you get what you pay for. People complain just for the hell of it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArsenalAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We originally book to stay at this hotel from the 31st Nov – 7th Dec, but having read some appalling reviews we decided to change hotels last minute and booked the Vila Gale, which is located in the same area, about 7 min drive away.
We spoke with our Jet2 rep at our hotel regarding our concerns at the Auramar, she did confirm that there had been a problem back in May 2013 when the hotel was struck with the Norovirus, and was shut down for 2 week for a deep clean, however since then Jet2 have confirmed they have pulled out of there on three separate ocassions, which leads me to believe there is still an ongoing problem, Jet2 will have you believe they haven’t had a single complaint this year about the Auramar, well they would say that, wouldn’t they ???

We decided to book a taxi and go to the Auramar to see what all the fuss was about. First impression upon arrival was the obvious sewer smell in the main reception area. We had a walk round the grounds and down to the main pool, and were pleasantly surprised at the lovely views from the pool area. From there we went into the buffet area which was lovely and clean and being prepared for lunch. We then approached reception and asked to be shown a room, which was a little outdated, not spotlessly clean, and was well overdue a modern makeover. A sandwich gift bag had been left in the room for a guest, who should have checked in late the previous night, obviously didn’t think it would have been better in the fridge!

In summary, a quite dated hotel in need of a makeover to bring it up to scratch, a decent pool with outstanding views, but not very much in the way of local amenities. I’m glad we took the time to visit this hotel, because this is somewhere I will not be booking to stay in the future.

Room Tip: If I were going to stay here, I’d request a front pool view overlooking the sea, trust me it would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a week all inc at this hotel. I really don't know how people can moan But some will always just sit in their room and find fault! The staff work very long hours but still are polite and efficient. The food was ok, breakfast was great loads of choice, lunch was average but then we were out most days but what we did have was nice enough. Dinner was fine too. The location is great an easy walk to the old town and new town. The room was just what I expected from a 3* abroad, cleaned everyday, yes could do with a lick of paint but again nothing to complain about. The drinks are served in plastic cups but all you have to do is ask for a glass (in the evening bar) and they will happily give you one. The evening entertainment was good albeit the typical parrot shows, karaoke, and quiz (which we won!!) then the lovely Douglas! Yes it's a bit cheesy but how many complainers can play the keyboard and sing well in 2 languages!! This place really is what u make of it, sit there moaning and picking at every detail and you won't enjoy it.. Relax, have fun and enjoy having to do nothing for yourself and this can b a fab holiday. We certainly thought so. If u want British food, British drinks, people constantly speaking fluent English then stay at home!! I really don't understand the moaners on here. There were 4 of us and noone was ill, perhaps that's because we wash our hands after the loo! Unlike alot of folks I saw who then go and touch everything in the dining room. We had a great holiday and for what we paid I think we had more than our share of food, service and booze and coffee (really nice). Happy holidays guys

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lnixon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A group of 4 of us stayed at this hotel for 4 nights from the 2nd til the 6th of November!I am so glad it wasn't any longer!I had read the reviews before going and tried to change the hotel but the company we booked with said it was too late!We were all dreading catching the illness that was going round,on arrival we spoke to many guests who had been ill,we used hand sanitisers that we brought with us all the time!
We paid 10 euros for the key on arrival which is refundable when you give the key back!The reception smelt awful like a wet dog!We were given our room which was block d 219,it was so dated it was unbeleivable,im no snob but i expect better than this,the tiles in the bathroom were cracked,the floor was filthy,the balcony was so dirty if you could call it a balcony!
The food was awful ,,we basically lived off chips,cheese,ham and bread for the 4 days.We tried the burgers at lunch time which were ok,but when we seen them there every lunch time we thought they has been re heated,there were flies landing on the food ,disgusting!!
The pool area and the hotel grounds were lovely kept clean in my opinion!We were disappointed with the limited drinks available on the allinclusive,every 1 ive been to over the years done local malibu and peach schnapps,but not here!I WOULD NOT RETURN TO THIS HOTEL!!!!!On return to the uk 1 of us has been violently sick all day and had diarrohea !I would advise everybody to stay away from this hotel,don't waste you're money pay a little extra to stay somewhere better!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#125 of 154 in Albufeira
2,815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
3,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing