We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyed our holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auramar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auramar Beach Resort
Ranked #70 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“enjoyed our holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My friend and I have just spent 2 weeks at this hotel 3/11 to17/11/13 and we found all the staff very friendly indeed in every department. We had 2 rooms in D block 321 & 322 with balconies over looking the beach, we had no complaints about the rooms the beds were comfortable, cleaned and towels changed every day and bedding changed every third day or more often if needed. We had a fridge , a kettle, and my friend also had a microwave in her room, not that we needed it but it was nice to be able to make tea in the morning, and have cold bottled drinking water in the fridge.If you take your tea bags you can buy bottled water in the hotel shop or less than half price at the local shops. The indoor pool was like getting into a sauna it was lovely not very big but just fine, the outdoor pool was very cold but that was to be expected at this time of the year, There is one thing we would like to change if it was possible and that is the food in the pool restaurant needs to be covered more as there are flies around and this is causing problems with sickness with the guests. I myself had a bad bout of it for 24hrs. I must admit the staff are very concerned if told and they ring the room to enquire and sent up a tray of chicken soup and 2 bananas and camomile tea which helped. We were all inclusive which I don't think we would again we would just have 1/2 board as the food in the mornings were good and plenty of choice and the evening meal was fine considering they have to cater for different nationalities.
We loved the area a few minutes walk to the strip and a lovely walk along the sandy beach to Albufeira old town taking about 20 mins. There is also a free bus twice a day from the hotel to the town and return later. I would stress that if you are disabled or have trouble with your legs there are lots of steps and I mean lots and quite a hard walk down to the beach which also included many steps so this hotel isn't really suitable, we were never told about the steps and there was nothing in the brochure about them. Overall we enjoyed our holiday and would go back again especially to that area of Portugal

Room Tip: D Block if possible 3rd or 4th floor end rooms seem to be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    1,033
    713
    335
    260
See reviews for
560
1,349
71
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

rooms are clean and tidy, as is the rest of the hotel
pool is good although cold during the winter months, indoor pool best!
some of the facilities are a bit shaby, however not off putting

food is cafeteria style and basic, DO NOT EAT THE PAELLA, had the runs the last few days, even eating it I knew it was wrong, and no I didn't have ten pints of beer after it
its common sense that I ignored to my peril

overall the experience was a good one for a cheap away weekend in the sun

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algarve
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had a lovely short vacation in this hotel. Our balcony looked right on the beach, the beds were comfortable. The hotel is quite old and run down, but for the price it was well worth it. This was the second time we stayed here, and will gladly return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here for a week 3/11/13, I was worried after reading reviews but I was extremely pleased with the holiday.
I found the reception staff very helpful, the location is fantastic, bedrooms are dated but cleaned everyday.
The food I thought for what we paid was as expected, plenty of choice, if you want fine dining pay more money.
I wanted to share some tips that I learnt when abroad in the past.
Take anti-bacterial hand gel
Do not eat salad as it will be washed in their water, if you want to be healthy eat cooked veg
Do not have ice in your drinks
Buy bottled water, you can do so at the hotel
Only eat fruit you can peel.
Everyone I spoke to that had the bug ate salad, we were fine. Its the same at a lot of places, its just common sense.
I really think people should stop complaining about the steps, its obvious and I was reminded 3 times before I completed booking, its not the hotels fault if you don't read the details.
I've been to 5 star resorts for 4 times the price I paid for this cheap break and got a lot more than I expected for a quarter of the price.
Overall I thought it was a very good cheap holiday and I will definitely go back, I don't understand a lot of the reviews, you get what you pay for and it exceeded my expectations.

Also just wanted to say my partner left an ipod in the room, we rang the hotel from faro airport and they asked for our home address and I received it in the post this morning, paid for by them evenb though we said we would cover costs. excellent customer service!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liddon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed 7 nights from 26th October 2013, myself, my partner our teenage daughter and 2 friends. We got a really good deal off Travel Republic and have stayed in over 20 all inclusive hotels over the past 15 years, so we have a good idea of quality.

All I can say is that none of our party had any concerns with the quality and variety of food and drink, the hotel was clean, the beds were comfy, the views were incredible and the staff were always polite and cheerful.

There are plenty of restaurants and bars on The Strip within 10 minutes walking distance and for 5 euro you can get a taxi to The Old Town,I would recommend the restaurants on the sea front for quality and value.

There seems to be two types of people, those who look for the good and those who go out of their way to search for the negatives. In my opinion the latter will always miss out on incredible opportunities in life and will never be satisfied.

I am glad that these type of people will not be coming back to Auramar Beach as this will only make our next stay even more pleasurable.

Thank you to all the staff for making our 7 days as relaxing and trouble free as it could be.

Room Tip: Floors 4 and above will usually have best views but more steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Expro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

On a short stay at this hotel we were struck down with v&d all the hotel staff would say was go to the chemists and buy Imodium. Later on talking to other guests we discovered the hotel is riddled with this problem and should be closed down on health grounds, this will not happen so just don't go!!!

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maturecouple22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My partner and i stayed at the Auramar hotel on 21-28th of October 2013. After reading the reviews before we went i too was a little sceptical, but the negative reviews can't be that bad surely (or so i thought?) On arrival we were greeted with an awful smell, can't describe what it was? after speaking to other guests the conclusion was: sweaty feet and suntan lotion.

After checking in we were shown to our room, after decending down 63 stairs we finally reached our room (bearing mind we had to climb the 63 stairs to return to reception each time).

Yes, the hotel is outdated to say the least, a lot of maintenance needs to be done at this hotel, maybe gutting & starting again! the bar staff, cleaners and hotel staff in general appeared miserable and very rarely smiled. This hotel is definitely NOT for the disabled or people with mobility problems.

Food was nothing to shout about, couple of the guests were ill with D&V, in fact one lady at the next table to us collapsed during evening dinner with stomach pains. The alcohol tasted weak, in fact my partner and i used to test the drinks to find out what it was.

So be warned if your considering this hotel, not for the fainthearted!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 625lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.3 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#130 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#44 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 49 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auramar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auramar Beach Resort

Property: Auramar Beach Resort
Address: Praia dos Aveiros - Areias de S Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auramar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Auramar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auramar Beach Hotel Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Albufeira
Aparthotel Auramar Hotel Albufeira
Auramar Beach Resort Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing